We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic and Cossy ... Want to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #38 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Classic and Cossy ... Want to stay!”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We just stay during Thansgiving and the hotel was part of our wonderful family vacation. Since our arrival the staff had excellent attention with us. We arrive early and our room was already available. We stay at a suite and was really an asset for us. We have like 2 separate spaces where our daughter could play and see TV and my husband could take a nap between our long days. Super nice European style in the rooms with red, black and whites. Excellent location, near amenities. Would definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgiamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for the nice review! Come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,290
    861
    175
    63
    33
See reviews for
730
1,530
136
452
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My wife took me to New York for my first time as a birthday gift and we stayed here. Upon check in they upgraded us to a suite! Very friendly staff, clean room and classy! I was very impressed and had a fantastic time. The only down side was the hotel bar was crazy expensive but that's no big deal.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finfan777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are very happy you chose the Michelangelo to stay at for your Birthday!! Hopefully we can celebrate many other happy occasions together in the future. Please note we also have a very exciting new happy hour menu in our bar which we think you will love and find of great value!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
110 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed for a week on a family trip before the holidays. We had booked an executive king room and a room with two double beds.As we drew up to the hotel a friendly doorman helped us with our bags and from that moment we encountered only friendly kind service from the staff. Our rooms were well equipped with very good beds and pillows. Housekeeping standards were top notch with toiletries replenished regularly and a nighty turn down . The rooms were furnished in a European style with nice touches like a make up area or walk in closet.
We took the concierge's recommendations for restaurants which were excellent. He is very pleasant to deal with and was a big asset. His name is James. Special mention also to Cesar on the door who was a delight.
Hotel strong points also include location and the free early breakfast and shoeshine . We would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WJSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you so much for the very nice review. We will certainly share your feedback with Cesare and James! Please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamitos, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My teenage daughter and I came for a girl's weekend to celebrate Christmas and a 14th birthday! Upon our arrival at 5 am and a rough and bumpy flight we were sick and very tired...the wonderful front desk gave us our room. Clearly we were beat and the hotel was able to help us out. Right away I knew this hotel was special. Big hotels would have said... "check in is at 4pm..."
The rooms were spacious, clean and so very comfortable.
We will make this our hotel every time we visit NYC!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noreen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you Noreen for the great review and for posting that fabulous picture in front of our Christmas Tree! We would love to welcome you back again soon! Happy Holidays and Happy New Year from The Michelangelo Hotel in NYC!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel after moving out of Warwick Hotel. Wanted to have a feel of different hotels since its an opportunity to visit New York.
For this property, the interior is lovely, they have nice lobby area, with red plush of sofas, the chandelier is arty and classic.
The only down side that I experienced was the concierge service, I was really disappointed by how the concierge attitude was. I had booking at Jean Georges/Le Bernardin, I asked him to call for me to make changes to the reservation but he said phone calls are supposed to be charge. The entire experience was bad, from I checked in, he wasn't really serving with a smile. He even said this to me: everything is payble in New York, nothing is free. I have my own Singapore mobile and even if he doesn't want to help me to call, I can call it myself. Just did not like the tone of voice and maybe he doesn't like Asians.
Luckily the room was lovely, big and has a nice toilet, I loved that the area to put our suitcase/hang clothes was a standalone partition. The room was comfy for 4 adults to stay and we had 6 suitcases. It is also really near the Times Square, location is clearly important as we just went down to shop and eat, convenient and Times Square opens till very late. We ordered in-room dining and the tomato soup was fantastic.
Overall, need improvement from the concierge desk.
Thanks.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdoraemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to share with you that we have some rooms and suites that have been redesigned in a modern motif. We are sure you would love them. Please come back and stay with us again the next time you are in town so that we can change your mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

fabulous interior of the hotel greets u in the lobby, lovely smells down the hallway from scented sticks, helpful consierge called Henry! the room was very big and the bathroom large with a big bath although some of the silicone and painting needs re doing. however this pales into insignificance as soon as you lay on the bed OMG what a fabulous comfy bed to sleep in, I was so comfy and relaxed when lay on the bed I didn't want to move, and the pillows just sunk your head into them, the mini bar is well stocked and has everything you could want from drinks alcohol and crisps chocolate. the room is cleaned and hovered at least twice daily. the tv is small and could do with being a plasma but overall a brilliant place to stay and great location for getting around, I also highly recommend café duke just a couple doors down to grab breakfast and lunch as that place is awesome and cheap! and one final thing I liked was the complimentary shoe polish, u hand ur shoes on the hotel room door before midnight and just like magic they are taken away and shined and put back on your door before 7am, brilliant

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robboH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you Rob for the glowing review! We do take pride in our comfy beds! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. Hopefully you will come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
281 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Visited this European styled hotel in September 2013 for a one night stay. Arrived around lunch time and was delighted to be checked-in immediately. Have stayed here before but it was many years ago. The hotel has aged respectfully and enjoys an upmarket, yet boutique-ish feel to the property even though it is not small as most boutique hotels.

The room was spacious with a beautiful bathroom with a lot of marble and a large walk-in closet with plenty of space.

The common areas of the hotel such as the lobby and the breakfast/dinner restaurant is well kept and upmarket in feel. Ate at the restaurant on two occasions and was impressed with the superb quality of the food and attentive service.

As for the location, it's superb, on the corner of 51st Street. The restaurant that used to be on the corner is now a gift shop but this is not a cause for concern as there are great restaurants immediately next to the hotel on the east side of 51st.

Overall a great choice at the right price - I secured a deal by booking month's in advance and paid just over $200 for a great sized room in the center of the Big Apple in the beautiful month of September - would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harv and Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for the review and thank you for coming back to see us again! Please don't wait so long till the next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#23 of 468 in New York City
2,348 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 468 in New York City
2,709 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 468 in New York City
2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#90 of 468 in New York City
4,239 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#97 of 468 in New York City
1,532 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Property: The Michelangelo Hotel
Address: 152 West 51st Street, Between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019-6813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#34 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#35 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing