We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in New York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #37 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gem in New York”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel for our first visit to New York City. Would definitely stay there again or any other Michelangelo hotel. Very clean and quiet hotel with very spacious rooms, just down the street from Times Square. Very luxurious hotel. The pictures don't quite do it justice. The staff is incredible from maintenance, to front desk to doorman. Everyone who works there! We really felt special. I've stayed in five star hotels all over the world and this property ranks high on my list!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicLucNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you so much for the great review! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,260
    841
    172
    62
    33
See reviews for
712
1,510
135
443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Compared to other hotels I have stayed in in NYC (the Omni and the Sofitel) the rooms here are huge. My room also appeared to have been refurbished recently and had nice wooden flooring.

However I (and several of my colleagues staying in other rooms) were woken several times during the night by the heating/air conditioning system, turned itself on and off and rattled.

I would stay here again solely due to the rooms and good location but the rest of the hotel was a disappointment. Nobody ever opened the (very heavy) front door, reception staff were abrupt and I had to queue to check in as there was only 1 person on the desk.

A big annoyance is having to pay for wifi in a hotel that already costs over $450 a night.

Not my favourite NY hotel (I would have rated 3.5 stars if I could) but if you want space then you could do a lot worse

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimnem40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I apologize if you have noise issues during your stay and the lack of presence you experienced at the front door. This is not the standard of our service. We would love for you to give us another try. Please feel free to reach out directly at reservations@michelangelohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The hotel is beautiful, great location. My biggest complaint was all the staff except bar staff were very unfriendly, unhelpful and even rude and hostile at times. I wasn't treated as a guest but rather an unwelcome visitor. I was constantly asked over 3 days if I was a guest of the hotel, the parking situation is not great, you have to carry your luggage down the street from your car to the hotel. Also continental breakfast was underwhelming ...I was told I couldn't be provided jam with my scones. For the price of my room, I think they could provide jam.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is important to us. I am sorry that you had the experience that you did. This is not level of service that we are known to provide. We would love to welcome you back and prove to you that we can do better. Please feel free to reach out directly at reservations@michelangelohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

The locatiln is hard to beat, not too close to Times Square, but close enough to enjoy the fun. Also close to the park, for a nice run in the morning. Don't miss the pastries in the lower floor, simple but functional. The room service kitchen is also very good.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank VCMoreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for the great review! Hopefully we will get to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic Ct
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We have been staying at this hotel for over 13 years, and the main reason is the service! Besides being in a great location close to subways and theaters and restaurants etc.
Our most recent stay was on Christmas Eve. We booked a suite and a room with two beds for our adult age girls traveling with us. Our suite #521 was perfect! Huge, clean and quiet! Perfect for room service breakfast and opening stockings with our kids.
I have to mention the people/employees that made our holiday stay enjoyable, and who always go above and beyond to make us feel comfortable every time we stay. (8-10x a year)
Walter at the front desk. Remembers our names and room we like. Henry. What can I say about Henry! The kindest, helpful, charming Bellman ever! Cesar goes out of his way everytime to help and welcome us as well! Bernie at the bar remembers our drinks and always goes out of his way to be kind.Even Christmas eve with a cold! Feel better Bernie.
Room service guy (forgot his name) great! Room service might be the fastest in the city!
Yes, we stay here a lot, and are "regulars" but I truly beleave this hotel and these employees are exceptional. Also I should mention Joseph, and Carmin, they were off this trip but are great as well. Thank you for always making us feel comfortable! See you all soon.

Room Tip: Rooms on 50th street side are somewhat quieter. Suites..503 and 603 are nice as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newenglander010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you so much for the glowing review! We really appreciate your loyalty and will share your feedback with our staff. Cant wait to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, MD, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Forty-five years ago my husband and I honeymooned at the Taft Hotel in NYC, which is now the Michelangelo Luxury Hotel. The Michelangelo offered us a VERY special rate for our anniversary so we could revisited our honeymoon hotel, which we did in Dec 2013. We had a beautiful suite and excellent service. We were within walking distance to Times Square, Restaurants, Theater District and shopping. We had a wonderful time. Thank you Michelangelo for a memory we will treasure!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CruzinSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Happy Anniversary! We are so happy that we could make this occasion special for you! And we hope that you won't wait another 25 years to see us again. We think it should be an annual trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We just stay during Thansgiving and the hotel was part of our wonderful family vacation. Since our arrival the staff had excellent attention with us. We arrive early and our room was already available. We stay at a suite and was really an asset for us. We have like 2 separate spaces where our daughter could play and see TV and my husband could take a nap between our long days. Super nice European style in the rooms with red, black and whites. Excellent location, near amenities. Would definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgiamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for the nice review! Come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#21 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#67 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,500 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Property: The Michelangelo Hotel
Address: 152 West 51st Street, Between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019-6813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#35 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing