We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Visit to NYC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #37 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Great Visit to NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We visited NYC for our Ruby Wedding anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Michelangelo. It's in a great position, an easy walk to Times Square and Central Park and there are lots of restaurants close by. We received a room upgrade at check-in and we were allowed to keep our room until 15.00 when we checked out allowing us to go directly to the airport for our flight back to the UK. The hotel is comfortable and quiet by NY standards. Although it bills itself as a 5* star hotel, due to it's small size, it doesn't have all the amenities that usually come with 5 stars. For instance, there isn't a restaurant, the a la carte breakfast is served in the bar, so I would advise you to check that it has the amenities your looking for before booking. Having said that, the lobby and rooms are 5 star standard and there are so many amenities close by. There is a free light breakfast served on level C, just beverages and pastries but adequate for us. There is free Wifi in the public areas but you have to pay $14.99 a day if you want it in your room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinnog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for the review! We hope you choose to stay with us the next time you come to New York for a visit. You can reach out directly at reservations@michelangelohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,174
    816
    166
    58
    33
See reviews for
678
1,462
130
427
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We wound up in this hotel on a Hotwire deal. Of course, every place looks great on its own website. This one lived up to its billing. It's a small hotel, only 8 floors. Our room was quite large, with a large bathroom and separate vanity area. The location, corner of 51st and 7th, was great, with a number of different subway stations/lines within 2 blocks. Hop a train and you can be down in the East Village or up at the MetArt in minutes. (We highly recommend visiting the Met - and use their audio tour.) A couple of avenues over and you are at Rockefeller Center (Go to the Top of the Rock - it's 70 floors. Not as tall at the Empire State, but you aren't waiting in line for 2 hours either.) Service at the hotel was excellent. The only "con" was what they called "breakfast". Coffee and a few pastries is no big deal. There is, however, a great deli at 50th and 7th which serves an inexpensive breakfast. BOTTOM LINE: This hotel is definitely on the short list for future visits.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you so much for the great review! The coffee, Tea and Pastry we include is complimentary in the Tuscan room. We call it our Buondi Breakfast which is our way of saying have a great day in Italian. Next time for something a little heartier we recommend our A LA Cart breakfast offered in our Lobby Lounge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We have stayed a few times over the years, and the Michelangelo never fails to please. Large and comfortable room, friendly accomidating staff, especially the manager Marco, great service, and you can't beat the location! Close walk to shopping, Central Park, Times Square, as well as many other locations you'll want to visit. The fitness center downstairs was closed during our stay, but the staff at the reception desk offered to supply us with a pass to use the Athletic Club across the street. If you are ever too tired to explore at night, and just want to stay in and relax, the room service is the way to go. Very good food and the room service staff is top notch! We will always stay at the Michelangelo anytime we are in town, simply the best!

Room Tip: Corner King Studio is perfect size and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicdawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for the great review and for being such a loyal guest. We look forward to seeing you again soon! I am happy to report that we also just installed all brand new state of the art gym equipment. We are sure you will love it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

My husband and I stayed there in December/January 2013 on our first visit to New York. The location is absolutely fantastic, and whilst we just had a standard room, it was huge!

I don't recommend trying to eat dinner at the hotel (the spanish waitress was just plain nasty) as it took an hour for our food, but there are so many great deli's, diner's and restaurants within a 5 minute walking distance you don't need to.

Good bed, clean and well decorated. We stayed over for New Year's, and the price was actually good value for New York too.

Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for the feedback and the review. Please come back again and try our restaurant again as the experience you had is not the standard that we deliver to our guests. Please free to reach out directly at reservations@michelangelohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kansas city, MO
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We've stayed at the Michelangelo a number of times over the years and they never disappoint. Great service, nice rooms, lovely bathrooms, nice breakfast, charming bar and great location. Have stayed in many NYC hotels over the past few years and the Michelangelo is always my first choice.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KCRoyalsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for the review and for being such a loyal guest. We really appreciate your business and cant wait to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were in New York for a quick weekend trip. The Michelangelo is in a great location- easy walk to 5th ave shopping, Times Square gawking and Central Park. Attractive old school lobby, nice size room, great bed and friendly staff. Definitely, a "go to hotel" for us in NYC.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodee6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for making us a "Go To" Hopefully we will see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

My 15 year old granddaughter, daughter in law and I visited New York from Feb. 6 to the 11. I cannot rave enough about the hotel. The room was spacious, clean, especially the bathroom area. We had so much room. The beds were the most comfortable beds I have experienced. We were given a room with a street review and had two queen beds. The morning croissants were delicious as was the coffee. The weather was cold but the hotel was so inviting and warm. The location was close to everything we were interested in - the Broadway shows, time square, Rockerfeller Center and close to subways.

Room Tip: We spoke to the assistant reservation manager and he was so great. He gave us a room with a street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for the great review! I think you spoke with Patrick in reservations and am happy to pass on your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#16 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,510 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,449 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#51 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Property: The Michelangelo Hotel
Address: 152 West 51st Street, Between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019-6813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#31 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#35 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing