We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is our new "go-to" hotel in the city.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #43 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed here one night on a friend's recommendation. My choice of hotel was a bit challenging in terms of space and convenience as we were bringing my mother-in-law to the opera for her "bucket list". It proved to be an outstanding choice. An excellent location within very easy walking distance of Times Square, Central Park and area restaurants. From the moment we dropped off our car we encountered the most polite and friendly staff. We were very pleasantly surprised by the size of the room and by the reasonable cost. Downstairs bar was a great place to relax after a night at the opera.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gprmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience and for making us your go to! Please come back soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,581)
There are newer reviews for The Michelangelo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,908 - 1,914 of 3,581 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

After a busy day touring NYC this is the hotel you want to come back to. Pleasant, well appointed with an old world feel. Guests are treated like royalty, The staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful. Large, Euro style rooms for NYC. Easy walking to wherever you need to be. Lots of lovely eateries near by. Downstairs bar was a fun place to relax. Would not stay anywhere else. It was not hectic like most NYC hotels. But a haven!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loistheartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and for posting such a nice review! We look forward to seeing you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Pleasantly surprised! I've stayed in NYC before but never thought about this hotel until my wife's stylist recommended it. After reading some of the other reviews, I was a little concerned but can honestly say that (1) location was perfect, (2) the room was a very good size (large for NYC), (3) extremely reasonably priced, (4) the staff were courteous and professional, and (5) the continental breakfast was just right. I only wish I had known of the Michelangelo years ago!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darxhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thankfully you know about us now!! And we look forward to a long relationship together! We cant wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We visited NYC for our Ruby Wedding anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Michelangelo. It's in a great position, an easy walk to Times Square and Central Park and there are lots of restaurants close by. We received a room upgrade at check-in and we were allowed to keep our room until 15.00 when we checked out allowing us to go directly to the airport for our flight back to the UK. The hotel is comfortable and quiet by NY standards. Although it bills itself as a 5* star hotel, due to it's small size, it doesn't have all the amenities that usually come with 5 stars. For instance, there isn't a restaurant, the a la carte breakfast is served in the bar, so I would advise you to check that it has the amenities your looking for before booking. Having said that, the lobby and rooms are 5 star standard and there are so many amenities close by. There is a free light breakfast served on level C, just beverages and pastries but adequate for us. There is free Wifi in the public areas but you have to pay $14.99 a day if you want it in your room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vinnog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for the review! We hope you choose to stay with us the next time you come to New York for a visit. You can reach out directly at reservations@michelangelohotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We wound up in this hotel on a Hotwire deal. Of course, every place looks great on its own website. This one lived up to its billing. It's a small hotel, only 8 floors. Our room was quite large, with a large bathroom and separate vanity area. The location, corner of 51st and 7th, was great, with a number of different subway stations/lines within 2 blocks. Hop a train and you can be down in the East Village or up at the MetArt in minutes. (We highly recommend visiting the Met - and use their audio tour.) A couple of avenues over and you are at Rockefeller Center (Go to the Top of the Rock - it's 70 floors. Not as tall at the Empire State, but you aren't waiting in line for 2 hours either.) Service at the hotel was excellent. The only "con" was what they called "breakfast". Coffee and a few pastries is no big deal. There is, however, a great deli at 50th and 7th which serves an inexpensive breakfast. BOTTOM LINE: This hotel is definitely on the short list for future visits.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BostonDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you so much for the great review! The coffee, Tea and Pastry we include is complimentary in the Tuscan room. We call it our Buondi Breakfast which is our way of saying have a great day in Italian. Next time for something a little heartier we recommend our A LA Cart breakfast offered in our Lobby Lounge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We have stayed a few times over the years, and the Michelangelo never fails to please. Large and comfortable room, friendly accomidating staff, especially the manager Marco, great service, and you can't beat the location! Close walk to shopping, Central Park, Times Square, as well as many other locations you'll want to visit. The fitness center downstairs was closed during our stay, but the staff at the reception desk offered to supply us with a pass to use the Athletic Club across the street. If you are ever too tired to explore at night, and just want to stay in and relax, the room service is the way to go. Very good food and the room service staff is top notch! We will always stay at the Michelangelo anytime we are in town, simply the best!

Room Tip: Corner King Studio is perfect size and very quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicdawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for the great review and for being such a loyal guest. We look forward to seeing you again soon! I am happy to report that we also just installed all brand new state of the art gym equipment. We are sure you will love it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My husband and I stayed there in December/January 2013 on our first visit to New York. The location is absolutely fantastic, and whilst we just had a standard room, it was huge!

I don't recommend trying to eat dinner at the hotel (the spanish waitress was just plain nasty) as it took an hour for our food, but there are so many great deli's, diner's and restaurants within a 5 minute walking distance you don't need to.

Good bed, clean and well decorated. We stayed over for New Year's, and the price was actually good value for New York too.

Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for the feedback and the review. Please come back again and try our restaurant again as the experience you had is not the standard that we deliver to our guests. Please free to reach out directly at reservations@michelangelohotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#27 of 468 in New York City
2,391 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 468 in New York City
2,811 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 468 in New York City
3,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 468 in New York City
2,900 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Address: 152 West 51st Street, between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019-6813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#35 Business Hotel in New York City
#38 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £228 - £529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing