We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #43 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The Michelangelo is consistently a great hotel. The rooms are luxurious, clean and comfortable. But maybe the best thing about the rooms is that they are larger than the average NY hotel room. So, if space is important to you, the Michelangelo should be on your short-list.

Location is great for me on 51st and 7th. There are plenty of decent restaurants and shopping opportunities close by. Plus, it's very close to one of our offices - so, great for me.

I'm not the biggest fan of the lounge/restaurant, but it will do in a pinch. But, again, there are numerous good restaurants only steps away outside and it's also a short walk to Hell's Kitchen.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for the great review and for returning to stay with us! We really appreciate your business and hopefully we see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,974 - 1,980 of 3,658 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

The Michelangelo far exceeded our expectations. The upgraded junior suite was huge, tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever experienced.
The staff was friendly and courteous.
The free parking was onsite and generous.

Room Tip: All rooms are really big for a NYC site. Our junior suite was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarryL800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are hoping to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Perfect location, friendly reception staff, nice big clean suite.
The only criticism is the over-familiar barman, and what seemed like about a hundred doormen that did nothing except mill about and chat to each other.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope you can come back to New York soon and will chose to stay with us again! Please feel free to reach out directly at reservations@michelangelohotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and I were going to be in town over night to see "Rocky" on Broadway. Having luck with the site in the past we decided to forgo the outrageous hotel rates of NYC and see what we could find on Hotwire and we were Blessed with The Micheangelo.
The location of this hotel was perfect for us. It is literally right across the street from the back entrance of the Winter Garden Theatre where Rocky was being performed. It is also only several blocks down from Times Square (you can see where the "ball" drops from the corner of the hotel).
We arrived early and though our room was not yet ready we were warmly greeted by the Doorman (who took and held our luggage) and the front desk clerk who gave us an E.T.A for when we could return. After a quick lunch, and trip to Times Square, we walked back to the hotel and waited in the lobby for the 1/2 hour it was going take to finish getting the room ready. At this point we were approached by the bellman, Henry. Henry was absolutely wonderful!!! He checked on our room several times for us without us having to ask. He also noticed my husband had difficulty walking and asked if we would like a room closer to the elevator so he didn't have to walk as far. We were very appreciative and said yes. He was very personable and very easy to talk to as we made our way up to the room. He had told us he had been there for 25 years and it was obvious he loved his job.
Whether intentional or not, the hotel's décor in the common areas had a very 1920's feel. It was great. Our room was very large and very comfortable. Bed linens, pillows, and bed were soft and beyond comfortable. The bathroom was also quite large. I loved the bath towels, they were huge!Everything was VERY clean.
A final plus to this hotel is that the check out was 1 pm. That is late by many standards.
There are a couple of small things that were slightly negative for us. For the most part you could not hear any traffic (inside or out), but being outside of the elevator, whenever the doors would open on our floor, there is a very loud "ding". This got annoying when it woke me up in the middle of the night. Although the bathroom's tub was a large garden tub perfect for soaking, the sides of the tub were VERY high. Have mobility issues, my husband was unable to step into the tub as he normally can. He had to sit on the side, swing his legs in and then stand up. Also, because the tub is so large there is not a lot of room, but they squeezed the toilet in the space. Your legs were literally hitting the toilet paper holder because it was so close to the toilet. In addition, there are very few electrical outlets throughout the room (At least in our room). I had to crawl on the floor to try and plug my cell phone in so it could be by the bed. Finally, everything (especially seating in common areas and carpeting throughout) felt a little worn.
Overall the place was great, we would recommend, and we would return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Treycb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for the review! We will certainly pass on your kind words to Henry! We look forward to welcoming you back and next time can offer a walk in shower in loo of a tub. Please reach out directly so we can get you into the right room type for you!! You can reach us directly at reservations@michelangelohotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Right around the corner from The MoMa. The rooms are a very nice size with great sized bathrooms. Very good location to Theaters. Nice quiet location and away from the hustle and bustle from Times Square.
One negative is the bar does not offer very much. I like coffee drinks and they did not have coffee or coffee drinks available. However, my stay was a couple years ago so may have changed since then. April 2012.
I do not know about Kids Activities but had to put something.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armban2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for the review! Please come back.. it has been way too long! I am happy do report that we do offer coffee and espresso and in our lobby lounge, through room service and do have coffee makers for the rooms upon request!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed here one night on a friend's recommendation. My choice of hotel was a bit challenging in terms of space and convenience as we were bringing my mother-in-law to the opera for her "bucket list". It proved to be an outstanding choice. An excellent location within very easy walking distance of Times Square, Central Park and area restaurants. From the moment we dropped off our car we encountered the most polite and friendly staff. We were very pleasantly surprised by the size of the room and by the reasonable cost. Downstairs bar was a great place to relax after a night at the opera.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gprmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience and for making us your go to! Please come back soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

After a busy day touring NYC this is the hotel you want to come back to. Pleasant, well appointed with an old world feel. Guests are treated like royalty, The staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful. Large, Euro style rooms for NYC. Easy walking to wherever you need to be. Lots of lovely eateries near by. Downstairs bar was a fun place to relax. Would not stay anywhere else. It was not hectic like most NYC hotels. But a haven!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loistheartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine S, Manager at The Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and for posting such a nice review! We look forward to seeing you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,745 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#64 of 469 in New York City
6,620 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#109 of 469 in New York City
4,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#82 of 469 in New York City
3,556 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#75 of 469 in New York City
2,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Address: 152 West 51st Street, between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019-6813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#35 Business Hotel in New York City
#38 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £206 - £639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing