We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #37 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Rockwall, Texas
1 review
“Great stay”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I normally stay at the Marquis in Times Square, but since it is undergoing renovation I decided to try something new. I now have a new place to stay when In NYC!! We had booked a couple of shows and both theaters were within 2 blocks of the Michelangelo. Our first night, we walked down to 2nd Ave (5 blks) and ate some great Italian food. Prior to our 1st show the 2nd night we made dinner reservations at Ruth's Chris which is literally next door.
The third night, we went to the Capital Grill which is 1/2 block down the street. Saturday morning we walked up to Central Park (6 blks) for a nice bit of exercise to walk off all the dining. Point is that the location is absolutely perfect for a weekend with the one you love (or just wanna have fun with). The hotel itself was a pleasant surprise, and definitely on par with upper end properties in NYC.

Room Tip: Like all downtown hotels, stay off the street if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,256
    841
    171
    61
    33
See reviews for
711
1,506
135
442
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

First the good. The room was very quiet. Of course the room faced a brick wall. But you can have a view of the street which is not very good or quiet. We chose quiet. Other good aspects-comfortable bed, good location, helpful concierge, pleasant staff, large room, Now the bad. They told us before we arrived they would supply a coffee pot. We requested one every day. Never got one. Forget about free internet, there is absolutely no cell service in the room I had. I checked with other guests, they had no cell service either. Was there for four days and never got a wash cloth. I had to search the hotel for the service cart and get them myself. The breakfast used to be in the bar area on the first floor. They moved it to a gloomy windowless room in the basement. I rated them as very good, but for $400 a night, they should do better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bertoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Excellent hotel! One important recommendation is that your "free" continental breakfast in the Tuscan room should also offer orange juice. Many adults and all children prefer juice to coffee. In fact, I have always seen orange juice and other juices served with a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesup, GA
Level Contributor
231 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great spot close to Times Square & theaters without being noisy. Complimentary coffee, pastries & fruit in the morning was much appreciated. Wish there was free internet....it was $14.95/day, which seems a little steep.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paharlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshall, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was our second stay at The Michaelangelo and was just as good as the first. We love having drinks in the lounge and the breakfast served there was very good also. The central location is convenient to many attractions and we were able to walk to all three of the shows we attended. The service at this hotel is excellent and all employees were eager to help with any questions we had. The bell captains were very helpful and friendly. We look forward to staying there again on our trip next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jwhit48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the past few years. Each time exceeded the previous one. My most recent stay in June started with a super-friendly valet at the front door, followed by a delightful employee at the front desk who graciously upgraded our junior suite without us asking! The ambience of the hotel is warm and inviting, while relaxing. Rooms are spacious and appealing. It was truly a pleasant experience from the moment we walked into the hotel (our room was ready for us despite us being two hours early) to the convenient online checkout when we left. We will stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Conveniently located, like a home away from home. The doormen were awesome. I never touched a car door and they got me a cab a block and a half away in rush hour. On 51st at 7th, steps from most popular mid-town locations. The internet was not the greatest. The snack in the bar was perfect. The bed was yummy, the shower was relaxing and the closet was ostentatious. Definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BEHITES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,331 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#21 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,651 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#64 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,497 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#39 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Property: The Michelangelo Hotel
Address: 152 West 51st Street, Between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019-6813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#35 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing