We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #43 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The hotel lobby has a very classy feel and every single employee we interacted with was helpful and friendly. The room was spacious and the bed was super comfy. I love the awesome midtown location, it served as a great central point for all our activities and is a block away from the subway. Great complimentary European style breakfast, grabbed an apple daily and java to go. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nikki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,986 - 1,992 of 3,770 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel was classified as a 4.5 star property on Hotwire. This was certainly not a 4.5 star hotel. The carpet was heavily stained, the paint was peeling off the walls and the room reaked of smoke. On the positive side the staff is incredibly friendly and the hotel was in a wonderful location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Trinatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Very lovely hotel in midtown and a great location. Intimate, classy, warm and friendly, and a nice relief from the impersonal high-rise hotels. Staff very helpful, rooms are a good size and nicely decorated.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We found the hotel to be in a great location. All of the employees were friendly, helpful and attentive. The rooms were beautiful. The food was great! We were upgraded to a very spacious and beautiful suite. It was a great couple of days in New York.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marilyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Gorgeous hotel, amazing location. We had the junior suite which was a great size for family of four. Especially good size for New York. The beds are incredibly comfy. Highly recommend hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful. Did not check out the fitness centre.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Canuck3095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel is old, however beautiful and in good condition. Right in the heart of Broadway it offers excellent location. Cellular service in our room was not good at all, and the hotel charges for wifi - a personal hotspot of mine. The bar is out in the middle of the lobby so I wasn't conducive of sitting for quiet conversation. On the other hand it was the darkest, quietest room we have ever had in NYC. In general I would recommend, but we plan on getting out of Broadway for our next trip to town.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was a very good property, and if you get a rate less than $500, book it. I found the rooms to be very spacious by NYC standards. There is a walk in closet and our family of four had a room with TWO kings beds...and we didn't request that, I just booked the standard room. The staff is friendly, especially when it comes to helping with getting a cab. It so also right in midtown and convenient walking distance to everything. Overall, I would stay at this hotel again, and feel it deserves to be placed in the 41/2 to 5 star category.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellalivi04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#115 of 473 in New York City
4,551 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#72 of 473 in New York City
6,766 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 473 in New York City
3,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#74 of 473 in New York City
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Address: 152 West 51st Street, between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019-6813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#39 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £182 - £405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing