We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #44 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2010

First time visitor to NYC, we could not have picked a better place to stay.

We travelled with my Brother and Sister-in-law, who were mightily impressed. It's in the Theatre District, a great location, just a couple of minutes walk from 50th St Subway station and 10 minutes walk from Times Sq, Central Park, Radio City, Carnegie Hall and the Rockefeller Centre.

We were both upgraded from a Deluxe Room to a Studio without even asking. We found all the staff to be polite, helpfull and courteous. The rooms on the 6th floor were huge, and directly faced onto 7th Avenue. We thought this might be quite a noisy spot, but the windows were double glazed and it was not a problem. The rooms are furnished to a high standard, perhaps not to everybodys taste, but we really liked them. The King sized bed was really comfortable, with the bed being turned down for you when you returned in the evening. The only thing the room really lacked was a safe, and the facility to make a drink for yourself.

The complimentary pastries, croissant and tea/coffee served in the Lounge Bar in the morning was great, and really set you up for the day. Also the ability to store bags after we had checked out was ideal, and the ability to change clothes when we returned to pick up our bags was a nice.

As for value for money, for a 4 star hotel in Manhattan, close to all the action, we thought it was a bargain, just shop around for the best rates.

Overall we where very impressed, and should we return to NYC, we would definitly stop here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank forrestd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,883 - 2,889 of 3,692 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2010

Just returned from a weekend trip to NYC and stayed at the Michelangelo on Friday and Saturday. The hotel is centrally located, near Times Sq, Central Park, Radio City, lots of theatres, dining etc.
The front desk and concierge were very helpful. Our room was upgrated to a suite which was very quiet and elegant.
The hotel offers a complimentary Italian coffee on weekends from 8-10. I would suggest that they increase the hours from 7-10, min...11 would be better. They will not open a minute before!!!
Many guests are visiting various tourist locations and may have to get up early to connect with tours, etc. It would be a nice gesture for their guests.
The rooms are pricey and yet they still charge $9.95 per day for internet!!! This is a principle of mine with so many places today giving free wifi if you bring your own laptop! They would get so much more goodwill if they advertised free wifi with your own laptop!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

I have stayed at this hotel on numerious occasions. I have never felt more at home then staying at The Michelangelo Hotel. The rooms are very large and clean. The staff couldn't do enough for you to make your stay worth remembering. Location is right in the middle of New York. Walk out the door of the hotel and everything is at your finger tips. I love the look and feel of this hotel and always try to stay there when I am in New Yrok.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fletcherdavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

Celebrating my mum's 75th birthday with girl-trip to nyc for plays, museums, shows. Excellent location, really nice and helpful doormen & clean, clean, clean. My sister, my mum and me all loved our rooms, the largest any of us had experienced in years of trips to NYC. The housekeeping was top-drawer, the common areas of the hotel were sparkly and pretty and the lobby-bar had a nice vibe [although I was too exhausted to have a night cap-but my mum and sis assure we it was lovely].

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KDuke7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

The hotel is in a great location, and has great rooms, the only downside was that we were close to the elevator and the "ding" of the elevator was quite loud in our room. We also did not like the smell of cigarette smoke that filled our room first thing in the morning (not too sure if it was from another room or outside). The beds were very comfortable, and the bathroom roomy and clean. All staff were great with the exception of the odd bell person, not always the most pleasent person greeting you at the hotel. We would definately stay here again, although we did find it on the higher end for price.

The hotel restaurant - Insime (italian) was FANTASTIC!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ldyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

Lobby is small but very charming. To my surprise I was upgraded to a larger room. Room, OMG, felt like I was transported to somewhere else. Beautiful. Bathroom beautiful with soaking tub. Big room for NYC. Room was quiet. Staff is friendly and professional. Awesome hotel, location, staff. Worth every penny spent!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifeisperfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

My husband and I stayed here from April 30-May 2, 2010. Prior to our arrival, the hotel did telephone us at our home (we only live in New Jersey) to verify that we were keeping our reservations. Apparently they had run out of rooms?! We drove into the city with no problems and we did use the hotel's valet service for $40 per 24-hour period. We arrived at about 3:00pm. We were offered an upgrade to a junior suite for an additional $50 per night. We decided to keep our regular deluxe room. When the front desk person returned with our key, we had been upgraded to a junior suite--free of charge! We did not expect this, but we imagine that they had run out of deluxe rooms and we just got lucky! So we stayed in Room 712--it was beautiful. It was fairly quiet since the windows were in an alcove of the building that looked out onto the rear of another theater. The room was clean and spacious. We had very nice fluffy terry cloth bath robes and a huge tub/shower. The bed was a bit soft for our taste, but it was fine.
The location was GREAT. We walked everywhere. It was close enough to Times Square that we walked there multiple times---at least until the car bomb was discovered. Even with that event, we always felt safe and at ease. The doormen were very helpful and friendly.
Since we live only 2 hours from NYC, we have never actually stayed over there! We can simply drive in and back in a day. As it was our anniversary, we decided to stay over and we do not regret our little escape at all (even with the attempted car bomb). We saw Jersey Boys--also spectacular.
We would certainly return to the Michelangelo if we decide to stay in the city again.
I will attach several photos. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madame44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#69 of 470 in New York City
6,659 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 470 in New York City
3,786 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#110 of 470 in New York City
4,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#77 of 470 in New York City
3,607 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 470 in New York City
2,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Address: 152 West 51st Street, between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019-6813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#35 Business Hotel in New York City
#39 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £204 - £688 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing