We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin New York Grand Central
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness centre
Seton Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Pod 39 Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Wyndham Midtown 45(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Grand Hyatt New York(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,761)
Filter reviews
3,761 results
Traveller rating
1,480
1,463
521
178
119
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,480
1,463
521
178
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschrysler buildinggreat locationnew yorkheavenly bedtimes squarespg membercorner roommini bargood sizebryant parklate checkhigh floortwo blocksfitness centerhousekeeping staffby nyc standardstwo double beds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,793 - 2,798 of 3,761 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Not much to say about this hotel. You get what you expect for the price range in NY. Clean, well laid-out room. A nice addition was the recently partly upgraded shower with a rain shower.
Check in and check out was extremely efficient and courteous. Rarely see that many smiles at any front desk. I checked in at 11AM due to my flight schedule and up coming meeting. I managed to have a room this early but got double beds instead of a king bed. Time vs bed was an agreed upon trade off, but I always wonder if this is not a good way to get rid of less business friendly room. Regardless, it was my choice and convenient after all.
Only downsides:
1) I still have issues with expensive WiFi as an option, considering the price of the room.
2) Like many hotels, the windows are not noise insulated, so on the 12th floor, the sirens are pretty loud.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benoit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We live in NY and were looking to stay the night before the St. Patty's Day Parade. We found great value in the Westin and were usually really picky about where we stay.

Pros-rooms are clean and very spacious, bed is very comfortable, hotel is updated and continuing to update. They even held our bags for a few hours the next day after checkout while we were at the parade.

Cons-when we booked I was persuaded into booking the King Deluxe vs the regular King room and am still not sure what the difference is. I was told we would be ensured a high floor, but if you consider floor 9 high in a hotel that has 38 floors, you will be happy with your decision. Don't expect to get an amazing view at that level. I also requested a high, corner room and informed them it was my husbands bday (which it was), neither were acknowledged and I didn't have the patience/energy to argue with managers for a one night stay.

Overall we were pleased with the Westin and would stay again but would save our money and take a regular room.

Room Tip: Ask specifically what the difference is between a "deluxe" room and a regular room, we still aren't sure.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Rooms appear to be newly renovated. Check-in lady had tiny bit of attitude but it didn't bother me enough to complain about. Location by midtown east is ok but we much prefer the midtown west area when staying in Manhattan because of our preferred restaurant choices and night life. We stayed at the other Westin near Times Square too. We prefer that location but the rooms are more spacious and much nicer here. We got a good deal via Priceline so we got a regular room on the low floor (5th). If it is the worst room in the hotel, then we have nothing to worry about. "The worst" would be the lack of a view and not the quality of the room. Looking at 42nd St from the 5th floor is nothing special. Better than looking at the wall of the next building in some other hotels. The room itself was very nice. We would go back if such a good deal is available again. Since we booked through Priceline, we don't get SPG points except for incidentals. It was still nice to get an email from hotel manager afterward acknowledging our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliveNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Hello,

Thank you for choosing the Westin New York Grand Central and thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your recent Westin experience. We take all feedback very seriously and will address the comments you mentioned.

Please contact me directly when you plan to visit us again!

Best,

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend in the city. The location is convenient for sightseeing – only a few blocks to Grand Central and its train and subway lines. We had a large room facing south, so street noise wasn’t too bad. Like all Westins, the bed was very comfortable and we both looked forward to getting in it after long days of sightseeing.

We did not use the gym or the hotel restaurant/bar. There is a reasonably priced place a couple doors down that served decent breakfast items.

We did not experience any negatives with our stay, and would probably stay here again for future trips to NYC.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side may be quieter as they are not on 42nd street. We did discover a NYFD fire house behind the hotel so sirens can be frequently heard.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michiganchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments! It is wonderful to hear from one of our valued guests and appreciate your continued loyalty. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed here March 1-4 because they offered stay two nights and get third free.
Comfortable, nice room with sofa and work area. Did not try the restaurant and the bartender ignored us. Avoid the mini bar fridge unless you can afford the tab.
Also, and this is big, DO NOT take a pedicab no matter how cool that sounds. These three-wheel vehicles are EXPENSIVE and DANGEROUS. Also, unless you are under 4 ft tall, do now take the compact cabs as the back seat is VERY TIGHT.
Also, know the exact address of your destination unless you want a tour! Keep track of your credit card and receipts. Consierge was helpful.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor to avoid street noise.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzmannc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

Thank you for choosing the Westin New York Grand Central and thank you for your review.

I am very glad you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms but very disappointed to hear about the lack of service at our bar.

With the high demands of our new Bar and Kitchen the LCL we are implementing new protocols to address these issues you have mentioned and have increased the number of associates on duty to improve and ensure every guest is properly acknowledged and given proper service in a timely manner.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback and we hope to see you again.

Best Regards,

Joe Britt
Service Express Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews