We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Westin New York Grand Central
Ranked #226 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great service and beds”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Easy and flawless at check-in, getting extra towels, check-out and checking bags when leaving. Wife enjoyed running on treadmill in the gym (training for half-marathon). Nice touch to give kids journals. TV worked well, but surprised Wifi was not free.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank T1gerKn1ght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Hello TigerKnight,

I truly enjoyed reading your wonderful review of The Westin New York Grand Central! It sounds like we exceeded your expectations, and that means very much to us. There is nothing like experiencing a flawless check-in, and I am so happy to see that you made it up to your spacious guest room in a timely manner. In addition, I am pleased to see that we were able to accommodate you with your request for extra towels! We always want you to feel comfortable during your time with us in the city.

We love to hear that your wife utilized our WestinWORKOUT Fitness Studio during your time at our property. Please let her know that us here at The Westin New York Grand Central are wishing her luck for her half-marathon! What an accomplishment she will have under her belt after completing it!

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us. We hope to welcome you back to New York City soon for another relaxing and rejuvenating visit!

Stay Well,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,283
    1,312
    445
    147
    103
See reviews for
994
884
128
664
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The Westin at Grand Central provided us a wonderful stay in NYC during one of the craziest times of the year! When we checked into the hotel - even though we were early, the check in representative allowed us to access our room. My fiance' had communicated with them prior to our arrival because he was planning to propose so it was necessary that he got into the hotel room earlier than expected. The staff was so friendly and so accommodating. The room was very clean and offered excellent amenities. I thought it was a superb stay with a true NYC feel. On top of that, the general manager sent chocolate covered strawberries up to our room for the evening since he knew that my fiance was planning on proposing while we were walking around the city. The Westin truly made this such a romantic stay for us and a memorable stay that we will always speak highly of. Thanks so much Westin! We hope to stay with you guys again soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if possible to see the City at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ComeAwaywithZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Hello Zworldtraveler55,

From all of us here at The Westin New York Grand Central, we would like to congratulate you on your recent engagement! Thank you for allowing our team to be a part of this special time in your life. We cannot wait to welcome you and your loved one back to our property soon!

I am so happy to see that your fiancé was able to check-in to your room early in order to prepare for the upcoming proposal. It is very important to us to provide our guests with exceptional and accommodating service, and it seems like we did just that during your time with us. We love to hear that you also admired our well cared-for guest rooms and thoughtful amenities! We always strive to provide our guests with a relaxing and rejuvenating environment!

What a nice surprise it must have been to come back to chocolate covered strawberries from our General Manager, Edward Maynard. I am so happy to see that we were able to create such a romantic and memorable stay for you and your fiancé. We are looking forward to creating more magical moments for you in the future!

Stay Well,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This past weekend was my 4th stay at this property. I have stayed in many hotels in many cities, and never written a hotel review before, but the service we received this time was so good that I went ahead and set-up a trip advisor account so I could let others know. We love the hotel's location since it is convenient to everything, especially every subway line (which being former New Yorkers is our preferred mode of NYC transportation). We have always found the service and rooms to be very good. This visit, however, was even better than expected thanks to Will O., the front desk manager. Will really went above and beyond in making sure our stay was great. We were in town for my son's birthday, and Will made sure we had a great room (very spacious and clean with Chrysler Building views). He also had a special birthday treat sent up to our room, which was a huge hit with my son. Will O. truly embodies what customer service should be. We will continue to only stay at this hotel when in NYC.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPhilly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Hello David F,

Wow! What an amazing review to read! It is truly rewarding to see what a special and memorable visit you had here at our property. To see that you created a TripAdvisor account just to share your wonderful experience means very much to all of us here at The Westin New York Grand Central. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back for your 5th stay soon!

Thank you for noting our convenient location in Manhattan! As former New Yorkers, you definitely understand the importance of having a subway station nearby to travel around the city. I am pleased to see that you valued this aspect of our property, along with our spacious and well-cared for guest rooms!

On top of enjoying our location and facility, I am thrilled to see what a positive impact Will had on your stay with us. It sounds like he truly exceeded your expectations and definitely added his special touch to ensure you had a memorable visit. I love to see that your son loved the birthday surprise Wiill sent up! Will will be recognized for the outstanding service he provided to you and your family during your stay. I have no doubt that he is looking forward to welcoming you and your family back soon!

Thank you so much for taking the time to share the details of your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community! Stay well!

Best,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Located within walking distance to Grand Central Station, this Westin is somewhat convenient. We had a corner room because I had read they were nice, but our 19-year-old son had a far better room. He also had a nice tub, whereas we had a shower only. Both rooms were quite spacious, for NY standards. We did have a slice of a view of the empire State Building, which changes colors at night during the holidays.

This was a trip to visit our 23-year-old daughter over the holidays, so I brought along the Christmas stockings as a surprise and hung them in the windows.

It was snowing quite a bit and it was convenient that the hotel provided large umbrellas for guest's use. Housekeeping was good, and hotel staff was average. Breakfast in the coffee shop, however, was quite a let-down. The Italian restaurant across the street was pretty good for dinner, but not outstanding.

Overall, this was a decent stay, though I've experienced superior Westin hotels. Stay here if you're able to get a good discount.

Room Tip: Just ask for a suite upgrade, and it should be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keiki1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Hello Rhonda C,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to visit your daughter over the holidays. I think it is so sweet that you decided to bring your family’s Christmas stockings as a nice surprise. With a lovely view of the Empire State Building along with snow falling outside your window, it sounds like the perfect scene to be celebrating the holidays with your loved ones.

I am pleased to see that you admired our convenient location near Grand Central Station, along with our spaciously designed guest rooms. We feel priviledged to be able to offer our guests rooms of such size. I am also happy to see that you valued our housekeeping services, as it is very important to us to provide our guests with a well cared-for guest rooms.

As a Westin property, it is important for us to provide our guests with exceptional service and to anticipate the needs of our guests throughout their stay. Thank you for noting the convenience of our complimentary large-sized umbrellas during the times when it was snowing. While we always want to be thought of as a superior Westin, I would love for you to contact me directly to further discuss the details of your stay with us, as we hope to see you return to our property in the future!

I am looking forward to speaking with you!

Stay Well,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I am Starwood Gold. Stayed here one night in February. I'll make this short and sweet:

1.) Clerk did not provide the free WiFi code at check-in. Starwood Gold is entitled to it (or some other check-in perk, but he could not care less that I was Gold.)

2.) No robes in room.

3.) The towels look like they had been used since the 90s. They were LITERALLY coming apart at the seems. These look the towels I use at home to wash my dog or my car. I am NOT exaggerating.

4.) Housekeeping knocked on our door at 9:05 on a Sunday morning. We would have put out the "Do not disturb sign" except it was missing from our room. We figured "We'll be gone by 10:00, we should be good." But nope. There was housekeeping, bright and early (relatively) on a Sunday morning.

One expects more from a Westin. I can get better service, a bigger room, nicer towels and free WiFi at a Courtyard. What's the point of a premium brand if the whole experience feels like a Best Western?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AvoidingAirTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Hello AvoidingAirTravel,

I would first like to thank you for your loyalty to Starwood Hotels & Resorts, and for taking the time to share your experience with us here at The Westin New York Grand Central.

Our valued Gold Members should be offered a choice of either 250 Starpoints, complimentary In-Room Internet Access, or a complimentary beverage at our restaurant during check-in. I sincerely apologize for your experience, as it is very important to us for our members to receive their welcome gifts upon arriving at our property. I have forwarded your review to the Director of Front Office who is actively retraining his associates in order to ensure a friendly and smooth check-in process.

Thank you for also sharing the details of your experience with housekeeping. I have also forwarded your review to the Director of Housekeeping who is working to ensure only the highest quality amenities are offered to our guests. I would love for you to contact me directly to further discuss the details of your time with us here in New York City. I am hopeful that after speaking, our team will be better equipped to address all of the points you have noted in your review.

I look forward to speaking with you soon. Thank you again for taking the time to share your insight. We here at The Westin New York Grand Central greatly appreciate it.

Stay Well,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Well located, close to Grand Central. Not cheap, but the rooms are new, reasonably spacious, and the beds are great. Any downsides? Yes. Arrogant staff and the rooms are not clean. Housekeeping had forgotten to clean the bathroom and to change the bed sheets (hairs!). Front staff response: if I would mind coming back around 7pm, when another standard room would be available. They wouldn’t give me a better room, or free wifi. Never again will I stay at this Westin.

Room Tip: Check first if the room is clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DutchTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Hello DutchTree,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of The Westin New York Grand Central. I am pleased to see that you valued our convenient location, in addition to our newly renovated property. I would also like to thank you for noting our spacious guest rooms and comfortable Heavenly Bed!

It is extremely important to us to provide our guests with exceptional service in a well cared-for facility at all times. I have forwarded your review to the Director of Front Office, along with the Director of Housekeeping, who are actively addressing the details of your review. I would love for you to contact me directly to further discuss your experience with us. After speaking, our team will be able to better address the points of your review, and I also hope to turn your experience around.

I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Stay Well,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My suitcase was lost by the airline and was supposed to be delivered to the hotel, but never got there. the airline and transport company said it was delivered and signed for by the hotel but the hotel never received it. The concierge , Ms. Sandra Moreno, was superb. Despite the fact that it was not at all the hotel's fault she spent almost the whole day trying to track down this suitcase and at the same time keeping me informed of any or no progress. She never once lost her patience or calm with me or showed any sign of frustration at my numerous followups. Thanks to her we found out that the company had indeed delivered the suitcases but to the wrong hotel!!
thank you Sandra and thank you Westin

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheresaBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Hello TheresaBrooklyn,

I am thrilled to hear that Sandra took exceptional care of you and persevered until your suitcase was finally found. It seems as though Sandra handled your situation beautifully, and I can assure you that she will be recognized for her outstanding efforts. She provided you with a real life example of the thoughtful service The Westin loves to provide our guests with. I am so happy to know that Sandra was able to assist you with tracking down your luggage!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. From all of us here at The Westin New York Grand Central, we hope to see you back in the city soon!

Stay Well,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#177 of 468 in New York City
2,212 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#320 of 468 in New York City
8,460 reviews
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#328 of 468 in New York City
2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#318 of 468 in New York City
4,252 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#99 of 468 in New York City
871 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#53 of 468 in New York City
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New York Grand Central

Property: The Westin New York Grand Central
Address: 212 East 42nd Street, Between 2nd Ave and 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10017-5803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Green Hotel in New York City
#156 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#158 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#165 Family Hotel in New York City
#173 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin New York Grand Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 774
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New York Grand Central hotel is located in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Our hotel is ideal for both leisure and business travelers as it is ideally located near Grand Central Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, TravelUp, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New York Helmsley Hotel New York City
The Hotel New York City
New York Helmsley Hotel
Hemsley New York
Helmsley Hotel New York
The New York City Helmsley
Helmsley New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing