We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Professional service - except restaurant LCL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin New York Grand Central
Ranked #226 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Recently stayed here for a couple of nights for business. Very friendly, professional staff. Rooms pleasant, well equipped, comfortable beds, great city view. Practical location if you need to be around Grand central station and the Chrysler building- a 10 mn walk from the New York Library and 15 from Time Square.
My experience with the restaurant LCL for breakfast was very mediocre. I had to wait 25 mn after ordering to get a meager muffin and (too) small portion of tea - even though there were very few customers. I did not return and preferred the couple of places across the street.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Lisa D,

We are all ecstatic to hear you found our property convenient and positioned in the perfect location for your travel needs while in New York City. We are only a few blocks away from Grand Central Station which provides you easy access to the entire city. Here you can take the train, subway, and get to Port Authority bus station easily. Whether you are traveling from a distance or short trip, you can get to our hotel easily.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed our spacious and comfortable rooms with all of the Heavenly Bed and Bath products provided. We are happy our hotel was able to provide you all the amenities to make your stay more comfortable.

I do agree the experience you had in the LCL is one to be improved. I have forwarded your feedback to our LCL management team and they are actively seeking a way to improve their services as no guest should experience a delay in service. We thank you for your detailed feedback as we are able to pinpoint where to improve.

As we actively improve we hope we will see you back at our property for your future travel to the city.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,136 - 2,142 of 3,657 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

Lady named Hoda at the front desk was really good! Friendly smile, calm demeanor and excellent service! The rooms were very nice, clean and the bed was really comfortable. Rooms were quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oberian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Hello Oberian P,

Thank you for sharing the details of your wonderful experience with us here at The Westin New York Grand Central! From a fresh and comfortable guest room to the exceptional service offered to you by Hoda, it sounds like we not only met your expectations, but exceeded them! I am sure that Hoda, along with the rest of our team, hopes to welcome you back to our hotel soon!

Sincerely,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We have just returned from our Honeymoon across 3 USA states starting with New York and the Westin Grand Central.

From the moment we checked in from the last minute the service and staff was grade 1.
Nice clean room everyday, amazing view of the Chrysler building and city from the room. Very comfy bed, huge tv with multi chanels and a fully stocked mini bar if required.

The bathroom was also a great size with huge shower too,

We ordered room service one evening and the food was piping hot and delivered within 15 minutes.

The hotel is located about a 10 minute stroll from the station is located not far from other attractions and the subway.

All the staff worked hard to make our stay extra special, but I must say a huge thanks to Molly who went above and beyond making our trip one ww will never forget.

Thanks to everyone and continue the good work.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Kris T,

Wow! What an incredible review! It sounds like your time here with us was magical! Congratulations to both you and your wife on your recent marriage, and thank you for choosing to spend this special time in your life with us here in the city. From the exceptional service offered to you by Molly and our team, to your incredible view of the Chrysler Building, it sounds like your time here is a time you will never forget! We hope to welcome you and your wife back to The Westin New York Grand Central again in the future!

Thank you for sharing the details of your special trip with us. We truly appreciate it.

Sincerely,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Sigh. One word about this place…incompetent. I never feel compelled to write reviews on places but this one’s a negative doozy. On our recent visit a large amount of tournament groups, travel tours and middle aged couples checked in on Friday all at 3pm. Our party of 7 was told we could not check in early when we called so we arrived 8 minutes early to line up with everyone else and wait our turn. We were told that there were issues up front about giving us a government rate when this was reserved 2 months ago by phone and never once were we informed about bringing additional “paperwork” besides the ID. Check in time took 30 minutes, and then we discover that only ONE room was available. Seriously?! We booked these 2 months ago?! Everybody but our party was checked in! By then, we were unhappy since this was supposed to be a special weekend for our friend getting married and we traveled hours away to come to this hotel since one of us was an avid Westin member. The young front desk lady seemed indifferent when we addressed our concerns about the check in process…there was no “I’m sorry”, or “Congratulations, we will do what we can to accommodate your party!” For someone who personally knows family who work in the hospitality and tourism management field, this was just a poor caliber of how they treat their clientele.

Eventually we all decided to cram and wait in the available room and wait out the last 30 minutes for the second room. Before we could relax, low and behold there was hair in the bathtub (yes, still surfing on the side of the tub), clock was unplugged, crumbs in the glass between the fridge, the cardstock on the bed to check off room service breakfast options was already FILLED OUT, and an odd stain was on the side of the lamp shade (…how does that even get there?!). Immediately we went to the front desk to address our concerns to another front desk lady with the evidence. We were directed to a young manager and explained this getaway was for our bride-to-be. She apologized and informed us that we would get the 2 rooms we requested (our hour wait was up) and that she would “upgrade” us. Unfortunately, the rooms were the exact same, just much higher and on different floors. The room on the 41st floor had a hand print on the tippy top on the headboard (…no comment), sprite bottle cap on the floor and also what looked like tea stains on the duvet (…c’mon people. it’s called bleach! ). By then we had enough of the Westin and tried to make the best of our weekend.

NOPE! Third time’s a charm. During check out we discovered only ONE room was issued the government rate and they charged full price for the second room because it was “DELUXE”. There was NOTHING deluxe about the room, they were exactly the same size…and no different than any other NYC hotel that gives free coffee, tea, toiletries. (Also the fridge is equipped w/shackle chained beeping sensors filled with soda and bubbly….sooo I suggest don’t even bother buying food from outside because there is no room to store it!). Once again another manager came to diffuse the situation (keep in mind we have talked to 3 different front desk ladies and 2 hotel managers in the span of 3 days). Check out was 30 minutes…this was like déjà vu with the dreadful check in.

…lastly we thought we were done with their shenanigans. But wait….THERE’S THE ICING ON THE CAKE! Few days later, we find out the hotel charged our friend (who is a Westin member) 3 times on her credit card!!! WOW….I am at a loss for words. First time staying here and this will be my last. If you’re planning a couple’s getaway you will probably get treated with better respect and offered bell hop service, but for whatever reason they can’t seem to handle 3+ more people. It was a debacle. As a public health professional, inspect your rooms first thing when you get here because the cleanliness of the first room was carelessly overlooked and unsanitary. The best thing about the trip was the kind cleaning lady on the 41st floor by herself who hooked us up with extra toiletries with a smile. We tipped her well!

For what you pay here?..not impressed. meh. You’re basically paying for a hotel near Grand Central and the station. Our group tried to be understanding and give them the benefit of a doubt to redeem themselves, but three strikes and that was enough. This just couldn't fly past me especially on what was supposed to be a relaxing weekend for my friend getting married. If you’re looking for a smaller chain with much better rates, pop of color, substantial continental breakfast, clean rooms, plus a nice view up top on the roof…take a peep at Fairfield Inn & Suites at the Penn Station location next to Madison Square Garden. The staff over at that hotel knows what’s up!

Room Tip: Inspect your rooms before you kick off your shoes, there are bound to be some hairs chillin in your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PLL24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Hello PLL24,

Thank you for sharing your detailed review with our team here at The Westin New York Grand Central. It is extremely important to us to provide our guests with well cared-for guest rooms, along with fantastic customer service at all times. I would like to sincerely apologize for your overall experience, as we only want our guests to enjoy themselves and relax while staying with us here in the city. With this being said, I would love for you to contact me at your earliest convenience so we can speak directly and I can hear further details of your stay. My goal is to turn your experience around, and also ensure that the future guests of our property experience the finest housekeeping services. I hope to hear from you soon, and thank you again for sharing the details of your time with us here at The Westin New York Grand Central.

Stay Well,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

First time for my wife and I at this NYC Starwood property. We have done all the Times Square Starwood properties and it was nice to get away from the hustle and bustle! Location down on East 4nd is great, walking distance and the trains are terrific!
Rooms were fantastic, loved the bar downstairs but most of all the concierge staff were world class. We got amazing restaurant reco's, tips on things we should try, they were superb!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnnysav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Johnnysav,

I am so happy to see that you enjoyed your first stay with us here at The Westin New York Grand Central! From our fabulous location to our fresh and comfortable guest rooms, we are delighted to know that we exceeded your expectations during your recent visit with us!

Thank you for noting the outstanding service provided to you by our concierge team! I know they, along with the rest of our team, hope to welcome you back to our property soon for another relaxing and rejuvenating stay!

Sincerely,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Reasonable prices for a midtown hotel. It is a Westin, but we felt the hotel fell short in a few ways:
Very long waits for elevators, up to ten minutes on Friday and Saturday night.
Breakfast options in the hotel quite limited, the continental option is self serve and a la carte at the bar, and quite pricey. Lots of pastries, but not much by way of fruit, so we went out after the first day. The service staff were very impatient with us when we needed some extra time to choose, even though there was no one else waiting.
The staff at the hotel were not very competent. Our check in was very slow, they did not assign starwood points even though we gave them the account number and it was on the reservation, at checkout there was a minibar charge we did not use, they said they would remove it but did not.
This hotel is in a practical location one block from Grand Central, so very easy to get around NYC from here, but they could do quite a bit to make it a better experience.

Room Tip: As high a floor as posdibke to reduce street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ArmandP517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear ArmandP517,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review of The Westin New York Grand Central. Providing our guests with friendly and attentive service at all times is extremely important to our team, and I would therefore love for you to contact me directly at your earliest convenience to further discuss your visit with us here in the city. As a loyal member of Starwood Hotels and Resorts, we would never wish for this to be your last impression of our property. I hope to speak with you soon and I look forward to working on turning your experience around.

Sincerely,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Booke reservation on points plan: stay 4/5th night free. Arrived at 8:30pm on Saturday, and room wasn't ready after we walked in the rain with luggage. We were drenched so more annoyed with this delay. Desk agent worked quickly while we snacked in restaurant. We were upgraded to XXL corner king with awesome views on high floor, which was major bonus on points. Rest of stay was enjoyable. Decent workout room. Food/room service adequate. Hskpg and bellman terrific. Good shower; comfy bed. Would stay here again!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ebunnyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hello Ebunnyg,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with us and the TripAdvisor community! I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your Premium Corner King guest room and the amazing view of the city it had to offer! In addition, I have no doubt that you had a revitalizing workout in our very own WestinWORKOUT Fitness Studio. I am pleased to see that you took advantage of our state-of-the-art facility.

I would also like to thank you for noting the exceptional service you received from both our housekeeping and bell teams. We hope to welcome you back soon so we can wow you once again!

Stay Well,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#332 of 473 in New York City
9,328 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#185 of 473 in New York City
2,923 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#281 of 473 in New York City
12,056 reviews
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#183 of 473 in New York City
4,073 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#276 of 473 in New York City
5,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New York Grand Central

Address: 212 East 42nd Street, Between 2nd Ave and 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10017-5803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Green Hotel in New York City
#82 Family Hotel in New York City
#152 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#158 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#168 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £131 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin New York Grand Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 774
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New York Grand Central hotel is located in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Our hotel is ideal for both leisure and business travelers as it is ideally located near Grand Central Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New York Helmsley Hotel New York City
The Hotel New York City
New York Helmsley Hotel
Hemsley New York
Helmsley Hotel New York
The New York City Helmsley
Helmsley New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing