We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in May”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Westin New York Grand Central
Ranked #219 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We booked this Westin for a one night stay in May to meet up with friends for a pre-mother's day weekend treat. The hotel was surprisingly nice. The room was a little smaller than the Westin on Times square but better decorated, not as utilitarian. It was fairly clean and had a rain shower had which I really enjoyed after a sticky day in the city. The beds were also clean and comfortable. The only draw back was that it did not have a club room that gold/plat. members could enjoy. The check-in was fast and the staff friendly. I just wished they had some complimentary water. They did send up a complimentary dried fruit and nuts snack which was a nice touch.

All-in-all I think this may be my SPG favorite hotel in the city to stay. It was away from the congestion of tourists but central enough that we could get to places conveniently. There are a lot of stores and restaurants near by as well as a bakery/convenience store 2 doors down. It you are driving its right next to Mid-town tunnel and icon parking 2 blocks away ($40 with internet coupon/day). They have valet parking but its $60 a day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmomwkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

We are delighted to hear that we are your favorite hotel in the city! We hope to become your home away from home! I am glad to hear you truly enjoyed our Heavenly Beds that we designed with our guests in mind. Our Heavenly Bath with the rain shower head does provide a refreshing experience for our guests and we hope adds to your relaxation.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed you entire stay. We do not have a club level and do wish we could offer that service to our guests. We are happy to provide all of the service and amenities that Westin promises.

We hope we will still see you back at our property soon!

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,421)
There are newer reviews for The Westin New York Grand Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,887 - 1,893 of 3,421 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was our second trip to the Westin Grand Central. We enjoyed it just as much as the first time. The room is comfortable and clean. The beds are very nice and very comfortable. We had no complaints about the service - everyone was very nice and professional. We love the location as well. Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcia836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

We thank you for recommending our hotel to the TripAdvisor community. It sounds like we provided you a perfect stay from every aspect.

I am happy to hear you were able to exceed your expectations from service, to location, to our Heavenly Beds, and the spacious rooms.

We can’t wait to exceed your expectations again when you choose to stay with us again!

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I love the Westin Grand Central.
From the email I received prior to my stay from Stephanie Hepner, westin's experience specialist, welcoming me to the hotel & I loved my nice room and welcome amenities. This is a wonderful place to stay and I highly recommend it for business and/or pleasure! The location is great and the staff is so friendly!! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hennster23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

That is fantastic to hear that you received the guest service Starwood aims to provide. Stephanie is passionate about guest service and I am thrilled to hear she provided you fantastic guest service. She will be recognized for her efforts and we thank you for taking the time to recognize her efforts.

We hope to see you back at our property so we can provide you that excellent guest service again.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had a comfortable stay, but were a bit surprised to find that even thought the room rates are about $300 per night, they still charge guests $15/ day for internet access and $2 for every call to an 800 number. When we asked about it, they removed these charges, which was nice, but it is disappointing to see that some hotels will still try to charge for things that have commonly become free and are normally included in thehotel rates

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

We thank you for your feedback as we use it to improve our service. I am happy to hear you had a comfortable stay with our Heavenly Beds and Bath. I understand your expectation for these items to be free. Currently it is a Starwood brand policy that we must abide. We hope to offer a possible solution in the future.

We hope we still see you at our property in the future.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Well-situated - but the website says it's a very new hotel. Indeed, it's refurbished, fairly old place - and the age still shows. Windows moderate in keeping out noise. Rooms OK but just that. Public spaces nice.
Avoid front of hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

We have renovated our property and are delighted to offer our guests the newest services and amenities. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our location as it’s easy to get around to almost all of Manhattan through Grand Central Station.

As the city of New York can be quite noisy, we hope to provide a relaxing quiet retreat for all of our guests. We are hoping to implement a new solution to reduce noise for our guests regarding the street noise.

We thank you for your feedback and actively seek to improve our services.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I want to give a very special thanks to Marlene, the operator, who assisted me with several items when I needed help! Top quality, very pleasant and helpful support. Thank Marlene you are the best !!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorifromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time out to write an honest review about our special Marlene. She truly does care about all guest interaction and service and goes above and beyond to ensure guests receive the best service possible.

She will be recognized for her efforts! Thank you again for informing us on the amazing service she provided.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed at the new Westin (formerly the Helmsley) . The location was great.

Nice hotel, nice location The gym is good, new equipment and a good variety of cardio and weights. It's only a couple of blocks from Grand Central and there is good shopping both North and South of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high-floor corner room, one with a Chrysler building view for the best room in the house.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Elise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

It sounds like you had a wonderful stay with us. I am happy to hear you utilized the WestinWorkout. This is one of the largest gyms in the brand. At the Westin we promote health and wellness and I am happy to hear you were able to experience this service.

The location of our property is very convenient located centrally in Manhattan. As it is only 2 blocks from Grand Central you can get to so many different areas with ease.

We hope to see you back at our property so you can experience another great stay in New York City.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#173 of 468 in New York City
2,585 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#324 of 468 in New York City
8,812 reviews
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#331 of 468 in New York City
2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#318 of 468 in New York City
4,412 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#52 of 468 in New York City
2,256 reviews
Midtown
Le Parker Meridien New York
Le Parker Meridien New York
#259 of 468 in New York City
5,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New York Grand Central

Address: 212 East 42nd Street, Between 2nd Ave and 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10017-5803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in New York City
#153 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#156 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#161 Family Hotel in New York City
#169 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £169 - £508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin New York Grand Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 774
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New York Grand Central hotel is located in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Our hotel is ideal for both leisure and business travelers as it is ideally located near Grand Central Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New York Helmsley Hotel New York City
The Hotel New York City
New York Helmsley Hotel
Hemsley New York
Helmsley Hotel New York
The New York City Helmsley
Helmsley New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing