We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin New York Grand Central
Ranked #229 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Here is an email of my observations I sent the Hotel GM following my stay. I never received a response.


Hello Ms. Senters,

My name is XXX and have stayed at your hotel a few times due to its proximity to Grand Central. My SPG Platinum number is XXX.

Unfortunately I have not had positive experiences with team members at the Westin Grand Central property. No one has ever greeted me at the front desk with a smile, much less thanked me for my loyalty to Starwood. My last room assignment was mediocre at best and the gentleman at the front desk barely looked me in the eye. He did take extra time to flirt with the guest checking in before me.

Despite all of that I tried to give your hotel another try and booked for next week. I just called today to update my upcoming reservation with my SPG number and again it was another cold hearted conversation. I asked Sally at the front desk how she was doing but it was clear I was an obstacle to her to other business. She wasn’t rude but definitely not friendly.

I don’t have this experience at other Starwood properties so I thought I would bring this to your attention.

Best,

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tennisgolfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

We would never want this to be your experience when staying at our property. I am so sorry to hear you did not experience the guest service Starwood is known for and that we aim to provide at our property.

I will make sure to forward this feedback to the associate’s superior to ensure this is addressed. As we wouldn’t want this to be your last impression of our property, please feel free to contact me directly. We only wish to provide to a memorable stay everytime.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,987 - 1,993 of 3,660 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel early June 2014. Location we found great and the rooms were very clean and modern. We had two rooms for our extended family - one had views of the Empire state building the other of the Chrysler building so very happy there. We were on the 16th floor and one night (around 2am in the morning) we had a lot of noise (sounded almost like a fight) and woke up to broken glass near the elevators we reported it twice and the glass was still there when we left! The reception staff were very accommodating however a mixed bag at the concierge and bell desk. Housekeeping did a good job as well. A good 4-4.5 star hotel right near Grand Central Station and walking distance of most tourist attractions in New york!

Room Tip: request as high up as possible to avoid traffic noise and for good views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

WOW! We are ecstatic to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

It was our pleasure to have your family stay with us! I delighted to hear you experience a refreshing room and truly enjoyed the views. It was our pleasure to assist in make your experience memorable.

We hope to welcome you back to our conveniently located hotel!

Hope to see you soon,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

After walking several blocks from Penn Station to The Westin Grand Central, I was ready to take a break and relax. Upon entering, I was met with that familiar White Tea Aloe scent that is characteristic of the Westin Hotels. Be assured that this hotel will live up to your expectations. Our room was clean, comfortable, and the staff was quite helpful. In addition, there's a CVS store close by in addition to a deli next door for last minute needs or hungry teens. Great location and easy stepping off point.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdub112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you for your honest and positive review! That is fantastic to hear you had a memorable stay with us!

We are glad you enjoyed our location and the ease it offered you to get around the city. I am happy you enjoyed the local restaurants as well as the convenience of the CVS. It is a pleasure having you with us and look forward to possible future visits.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

No complaints here. Quiet corner, spacious, modern decor. Great location, everything pricey in NYC. Too bad no bathtub, but nice shower. No fuss fabulous weekend in the best city in the world. We did forget to tip housecleaning!!-which I feel terrible for, as they were detail oriented and didn't wake us up with the vac in the morning. Late check out on Sunday, 3pm, and they held our bags until that evening which was really nice!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank smileyfaceNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

I do agree our corner rooms are some of my favorites. They provide excellent views to the city and are a little more spacious. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay! I will pass on your positive feedback regarding housekeeping's service to them! We appreciate your feedback.

We hope to see you back at our property soon where you can try another one of our fantastic rooms.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I equate The Westin as a 4 star brand at the least. While the location of this property was good for getting to much of everything in NYC, it fell short in a few areas. There was mold in the bathroom shower (room 1616). The lighting in the room was just a bit too dim, even with all lights on. The light in the entry-way was not working at all.

I did find the staff friendly enough, except the concierge. I approached him to ask for directions and he gave them to me, but with a less than "I can help you with that" attitude.

While most hotels in NYC are pricey, it's for that reason, I would not expect to find mold in the shower.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Slick12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

I would like to thank you for your feedback and apologize for your experience. It is our goal to exceed your expectations and this was not your experience. I am happy to inform you that we placed that room out of order and addressed the engineering defects. However, I apologize you had to experience it before we were able to address the difficultly.

I thank you for your feedback regarding our concierge. I have forwarded this to our Director of Front Office and he is going to address the individual. We thank you for the feedback as it helps us improve our services.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel was nice, room was clean, bed was very comfortable. Staff at hotel was friendly. Location is excellent - not far from anything at all. Will definitely stay here again. Very nice rain shower and nice tv as well. Didn't have breakfast so can't tell how that is. This hotel does fulfill the Westin promise so stay here if you can.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InfiniteTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you for the honest and positive feedback. We aim to always fulfill the Westin promise and the Starwood standard. We appreciate and care for our guests and we are delighted you experience this with us.

We hope to see you soon and become your home away from home while traveling in New York City.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed at this property last summer and had a great experience. The location is great, the rooms were clean & we experienced no issues. This year not so much! The first issue was my son woke up at 5 am with a huge water bug crawling on his face - yuck. We switched rooms and I took a shower standing in a couple of inches of water. Not only did the bug and standing in water make us feel unclean but what a hassle moving rooms when you have a packed schedule. The hotel manager listened to these problems and adjusted the bill which was a very classy thing to do. We appreciated the manager responding to the issues we experienced but I would rather not experience the problems in the first place. I will look into alternate hotels for our next visit.

Room Tip: Higher up not on 42nd street helps with the noise. I have a portable sound machine & even the 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthCarolinaRoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin New York Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with us this past visit. As you have experience great visits with us in the past we would appreciate the opportunity to win back your loyalty. It was our pleasure to address you issues and adjust off the bill, however as you are still hesitant with your choice of hotels I’d appreciate the chance to talk to you about your experience. We don’t want you to leave with this impression of our property.

Thank you,

Joe Britt
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#329 of 473 in New York City
9,331 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#187 of 473 in New York City
2,925 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 473 in New York City
12,060 reviews
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#186 of 473 in New York City
4,077 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#276 of 473 in New York City
5,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New York Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New York Grand Central

Address: 212 East 42nd Street, Between 2nd Ave and 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10017-5803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Green Hotel in New York City
#82 Family Hotel in New York City
#152 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#160 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#168 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £131 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin New York Grand Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 774
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New York Grand Central hotel is located in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Our hotel is ideal for both leisure and business travelers as it is ideally located near Grand Central Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin New York Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New York Helmsley Hotel New York City
The Hotel New York City
New York Helmsley Hotel
Hemsley New York
Helmsley Hotel New York
The New York City Helmsley
Helmsley New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing