We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Birthday for Mom at the Pierre Hotel New York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Ranked #16 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2013

My mom and I loved our stay at the Pierre. The Pierre delighted us with an equisite birthday dessert upon our arrival and a lovely room with terrific amenities. The service team really cared about delivering a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Dear Brad C,

Wishing you mom a very happy and healthy birthday! We are so honored to hear you chose to celebrate this special occasion with us at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York. We are so glad to hear you had such a wonderful stay and enjoyed the birthday cake and other room amenities. We will be sure to pass along your kind words to our service team, as it is kind words like your own that continue to inspire them to provide such excellent service everyday. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel in the near future!

Warm regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,793)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,285 - 1,291 of 1,793 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2013

Good rooms although a touch small for my taste, well furnished but no trouser press.
Excellent and helpful service ...the hotel has a great history and is well located.
Breakfast restaurant however disappointing .

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiko K, Owner at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Dear Willcott,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your rooms but were disappointed with the room size. Please know that we have several room categories to choose from, so perhaps for your next visit you can look into booking a larger room. We will be sure to note this in your personal profile to make sure this is addressed during your next stay. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our service and location and hope you had an excellent time exploring NYC. We invite you back to Sirio Ristortante to enjoy a different meal which will hopefully leave you with a more satisfying experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you for choosing The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York.

Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

My dearest friend and I recently stayed again at the Pierre Hotel; they welcomed us back as old friends and were extremely personable and gracious. No request was too big and they made us feel safe and taken care of. I will never stay anywhere else while in NYC.

We once owned an apartment on Central Park East and there is no comparison....why would I own when I can stay at my home away from home - The Pierre.

Room Tip: The 16th floor is much quieter and cozy. We also felt extremely safe while there. Martha Dille...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Dear Martha D,

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so glad to hear you and your friend were able to have an enjoyable stay with us, and can consider The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York your home away from home, as that is always our goal! We aim to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible and are delighted to hear your every need was taken care of. We look forward to welcoming you back to your "home away from home" at The Pierre in the near future.

Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This is a very pleasant hotel in an ideal location for both shopping and business. The rooms are larger than most and mine was in good, modern condition. On the other hand, the bathroom was quite small with only a shower but no bath. Service is friendly and generally excellent with old-fashioned touches such as lift operators. A la carte breakfast was very good if somewhat expensive. As a fastidious English man, I am often disappointed by tea outside my own country but in the bar here I was served a proper pot with tea leaves. Be aware that taxis can be hard to come by at busy times.

Room Tip: The higher levels are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear PJW22,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review. We are so glad to hear you were pleased with your stay at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, and enjoyed our centralized location to both shopping and business. We pride ourselves on our service so always appreciate when receive positive feedback from our guests. High Tea at The Pierre is a classic service we have been offering since the hotel first opened! We are so glad you were able to enjoy and experience this at Two E Bar/Lounge. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

The Pierre is an outstanding provider of gracious and generous hospitality. The hotel is immaculate, quite lovely and extremely well managed. Every experience at the hotel, from the first greeting by the Doorman to a final goodbye is a positive one.

I believe it is no small task for a quality service provider like The Pierre to achieve a consistent and appropriate level of service throughout its organization. Over the years, as a visitor to top tier hotels here and in Europe, I have experienced service which is either too cool (eyes averted) or too friendly (a hug from a stranger, who we have met twice). The first is almost always uncomfortable and the second rings false.The team at The Pierre have it right and its carefully calibrated customer/client response is the product of great training and caring employees.

Our first visit in late January at The Pierre had been slightly problematic which I described when I answered the Taj Guest Feedback. I was very pleasantly surprised when the Guest Relations Manager answered my complaint and said he would make sure that the situation was resolved. In fact he made a huge difference with an upgrade that was responsive to our needs. The day after we checked in our granddaughter Emma took the train from Boston joined us and we really appreciated the additional space of the upgrade.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor with a city view or one of the truly luxurious suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harvey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear Harvey B,

Thank you so much for your kind words! It is very special for our staff to receive such wonderful compliments from guests; we truly appreciate you taking the time to do so. It is through such thoughtful support and feedback like yours that our staff continues to be inspired to provide impeccable service each day. What a wonderful treat that your granddaughter was able to meet you from Boston! We hope you had a very special weekend together. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York again in the near future!

Warm Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

My recent stay at the Pierre (1 night, April 14, 2013) was excellent. The staff were helpful and friendly. We stayed in a city view suite which was spacious, beautiful and extremely comfortable. We very much enjoyed taking the private car service to dinner and we had drinks in the bar before and after dinner. The drink menu was inventive and delicious. I also used the gym in the morning before checking out. The treadmills were very new and damp towels and water were available in the refrigerator. All in all it was a wonderful stay - the only problem was not staying longer!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear EmilyC,

It sounds as though you truly enjoyed your recent stay with us at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York! We are so delighted to hear you were able to experience our house car, the 2012 Jaguar XJ, which is a very recent addition to the hotel. Two E Bar/Lounge is always changing up their drink menu, with inventive new cocktails created by our master mixologist. During your next visit to The Pierre you will have to be sure to extend your stay a few more days and experience our newly opened restaurant Sirio Ristorante New York and indulge in an in-room Jiva Spa treatment! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Me & my daugther had a WONDERFUL stay at The Pierre. We started visiting New York a few times a year and now that we stayed here we will never stay anywhere else. Everyone is so nice & helpful....
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this HOTEL.
Can't wait to go back!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarianB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear MarianB101,

What a wonderful tradition to start with your daughter! We are so delighted to hear that The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York has now become your hotel of choice for this special weekend occasion for you and your daughter. Our staff is always looking to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible and accommodate them during their stay anyway they can. We look forward to The Pierre becoming your "home away from home" while traveling in New York City!

Warm Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#7 of 469 in New York City
711 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#23 of 469 in New York City
1,498 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#99 of 469 in New York City
2,338 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#37 of 469 in New York City
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#16 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#37 Family Hotel in New York City
#44 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £360 - £799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Kognitiv US Corp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing