We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“won't give you lost things back :(”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Ranked #14 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“won't give you lost things back :(”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

nice staff,but that's it, we forgot iPad and expensive top of my wife in the room and did not get it back, ugly bar/bad drinks for such a hotel,you have to pay for wifi in a suite….very disappointed, what happened there and it is really expensive, for this price better stay at Mandarin Oriental or cheaper at the Gramercy

Room Tip: we had room 1906
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Oliver146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Oliver146,

Thank you taking the time to review your recent stay at The Pierre.
We strive to make each guest's experience at The Pierre enjoyable, therefore, we are very sorry to hear of the suspected missing items since your recent stay.

We are available anytime to look into this matter together to come to a positive resolution and we will certainly do all that we can to ensure that your future stay with us does not involve similar disappointments.

We are glad to hear that you found our staff accommodating during your stay and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at The Pierre.

Best Wishes,
The Pierre General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,226
    227
    77
    42
    31
See reviews for
361
587
79
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I made a reservation by phone for New Year's Eve for a table for three in the Lounge of the Pierre Hotel in New York. The receptionist confirmed the reservation and took my credit card information. Two days prior to December 31st I was contacted by the hotel to confirm the reservation again, which I did. I phoned them on New Years Eve to reconfirm and to say there would be four, not three people arriving.

Upon arrival I was told that there was no reservation in my name. They claimed it was not reconfirmed. I had three business colleagues with me, all male, and much to my embarrassment, the gentleman in charge of the Lounge argued with me for several minutes.
They finally offered me a table but not as a reserved customer. Prior to receiving even a glass of water I was asked for my credit card and presented with a bill for $1,100 and told I had to sign before being served.

Apart from the embarrassment, the noise level was so high that my guests and I could not converse. The offered fare was hors d'ouevre, wine and some champagne at midnight.

I phoned the manager of the Lounge a few days later.He said that when a party comes in without reservations they are required to pay before being served. No apology was offered.

My only satisfaction is knowing that I shall not frequent their Pierre Hotel nor recommend it to my colleagues and friends.

Joan Patenaude-Yarnell
Manhattan School of Music
The Curtis Institute of Music

Room Tip: Do not reserve in the Lounge or Dining Room of this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Jefferson, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

My wife and I spent two nights at the Pierre. The staff was friendly and professional, the room was clean and serviced well and the views of the park spectacular. we enjoyed the food and service in the hotel bar as well as dining at Sirio's restaurant. The staff made us feel welcome from the moment the doorman opened my car door to escort us in until he closed our doors as we departed. we have stayed in several NYC hotels including the NY Palace, The Waldorf, The Plaza Athenee, The St Regis, and the Four Seasons and in our opinion the Pierre tops the list.

Room Tip: Request a Park view if available-the view is breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Frederic M,

Thank you for this glowing review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind words about our team. Hearing from our guests is so important to us, as it keeps us inspired to provide over and above service on a daily basis.

It is an honor to be compared against our colleagues, and it is even more of an honor to have you consider us as the best hotel in NYC. We hope that you come to stay with us again soon. We are looking forward to welcoming you both again.

Warm Regards,
The Pierre General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, La.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

The following is a copy of a letter I sent to the General Manager of the Pierre in New York, after completing a 5 day stay during the Christmas season.

Simply Outstanding!!

Joe Traigle
--------------------------------------
Mr. Kuenstle,

Having spent most of my business career as a CEO, I view most of my world experiences through that lens. Such was the case this past Christmas day when we checkin into the Pierre for a 5 nights stay.

One of the issues I have when visiting the Pierre is that I automatically raise the bar of exception because of my 40 year history with the hotel (Four Seasons, etc).

I am writing to share with you an exceptional experience that we had with one of your employees, Alice Mouette. I mentioned to Alice that two years ago at Christmas, we stayed with you but because of a high occupancy we would up in a VERY small room (both of us are over 6 feet tall). Alice's response was spot on, she smiled and said " Mr. Traigle, I understand and let me work on that, may I suggest that you gentlemen go and have lunch, and I will have something for you when you return." When we returned, we found that we had been granted a generous upgrade. For the remainder of our visit, when passing by the front desk or encountering Alice Mouette, were greeted with a most please smile and name recognition.

Such outstanding service, in the service industry should be noted.

Congratulations to you, Mr. Kuenstle, for your leadership which on the ground was warmly received by us, your customer.

Best wishes to you for a Happy New Year.

Best,

Joe Traigle

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firenze
Level Contributor
214 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

The Pierre is really One of those tired old ladies that need an heavy facelift.
Since the moment you step
In a senso of depression and decandence goes inside your skin.
The lighting, the old carpets, the dusty forniture, the vulgar flowers.
There is no One single thing working considering this is a luxury 5 stars under the label LHW.
I spent 1150 dollars for a room that looked more like a Hilton than a luxury hotel.
12 dollars is the wifi per day and there are always problems of connection.
The service is so bad that sometimes you feel the desire to change.
Sorry this is a real failure

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank mgiornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear ROTCHKO,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at The Pierre hotel.

It is by listening to our guests that we are able to maintain our five diamond service. At The Pierre we continually strive to exceed our guests’ personal service standards, and it is important to us to know when we are not doing so. I would be happy to speak with you directly regarding your experience, please feel free to contact me at anytime.

I truly apologize for your disappointing experience, and we welcome the opportunity to host you again and leave you with a positive impression.

Warm Regards,
Heiko K.
The Pierre General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Very nice hotel, perfect location, BUT: watch your belongings. Can't prove anything of course, and should have used the safe, partially my own fault.
So, some cash (which was not just left on the table, one really had to search through my things in order to find it), Tumi lockers for the suitcases, a bag for the camera and some other stuff has "mystically" disappeared from the room during our 5-day stay in The Pierre, so my advise: either use the safe or DO NOT ever leave anything valuable in the room. Also, every morning it took us about 15 minutes to be seated for breakfast.
Basing on that - I will choose a different hotel to stay at during my next visit to NY.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Nikita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Nikita A,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are very sorry to hear of your experience during your recent stay, as we take theft very seriously at our hotel. We welcome the opportunity to discuss things further with you regarding this unfortunate incident.
Our Executive team has been briefed with the matter at hand and a member of the team may be reached at +1 212 940 8147 to speak with you further.
Best Wishes,
The Pierre General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
289 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We spent a holiday weekend in New York City recently. The Pierre met our expectations. The check in was smooth and professional. Service generally was very good and professional. The room was cleaned properly and re stocked with all the necessary amenities. Our room was large and comfortable and had an excellent view of Fifth Avenue. My only issue with the room was with respect to the shower. The tub was very narrow and had to stand in. I kept stepping on and closing the drain causing the water to pool and not drain. The shower door was only a half door and allowing water to splash into the bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank erich802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#9 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#21 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#30 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#16 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Property: The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#16 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#37 Family Hotel in New York City
#44 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing