We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect In Every Way!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Ranked #14 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
HILTON HEAD SC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect In Every Way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We just gave a weekend getaway to our children to The Pierre in NYC. There are so many Beautiful hotels to choose from making it a difficult choice. I am very pleased to report that we are more than happy with the first class accommodations , service and attention to detail at every turn!It is quite apparent why this hotel boast a 5 star rating.It will now be on my list of top recommendations in NYC. Thank You Pierre Taj for making the weekend so magical..and PERFECT in every way!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MYVACATIONPLACE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,179
    223
    77
    40
    31
See reviews for
339
569
77
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
155 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

The rooms are beautiful, the live elevator operators bring back an old-style elegance that most hotels have abandoned, and the location is very convenient. The fitness center was good, and it was interesting to discover that there are permanent residents living in the hotel. The hotel bed and pillows were very comfortable, too.

Room Tip: Do not get room 1911 as it is next to a permanent resident with at least 1 loud crying child that yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Bonnie L,

We are thrilled that you had a great stay with us. Our elevator attendants are always a guest favorite. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our location. We pride ourselves on being located on 5th Avenue, just steps away from the great shopping district, and across from Central Park.

We apologize that you were disturbed during your stay. We hope that you stay with us again so that we can leave you with a more positive impression.

Warm Regards,
The Pierre General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Lovely hotel, reception was quick and easy as our group lined up to check-in. The human elevator operators, a reminder of days gone by, are a nice touch, and all of them were VERY friendly and gracious. They are wonderful ambassadors for the property! Ditto the doormen and the elevator starter - all friendly, welcoming and gracious.

We were met in our room with a superb chocolate decoration celebrating the Super Bowl - a neat presentation featuring a chocolate football helmet, with chocolate dipped chips, and a row of chocolates. Nice! Almost too pretty to eat. Almost...

Unfortunately we got a room in back, so had no view.

Downside: Someone, perhaps the prior guests had used the room after it was made ready for the next guests - us. So the room was not checked immediately before our arrival. It was clear that the bathroom had been used, and a pair of slippers were out on the floor. Also the batteries had been taken out of the TV remote. There were no instructions on how to set the alarm on the Bose radio, but we figured it out.

One concierge with whom I had contact seemed a bit standoffish - I asked about a nearby drugstore - her answer was vague. Maybe she was unsure of where it was exactly?

Very handy location close to subway, shopping and Central Park. I would have given it 5 stars except for the "downsides" mentioned above.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kagey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
1,057 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

One of the best hotel beds, definitely fantastic hypoallergenic pillows...service right on...staffed elevators--kudos for having these friendly and efficient employees but added to the general dated feel to the place...yes, it was a good era, but it's 2014...room a bit small...but it is NYC...watch out for the coffee shop @$9/cup of Joe, pretty steep and kind of not nice...food good though..good location...a very nice stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PlatinumHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

In a rut? Marriage in need of a little rejuvination? Tired of the same old same old? Two or three nights at the Pierre could be what the doctor ordered. A lovely room in a grand hotel, walking distance (even in a New York winter) from great restaurants and shopping. Waiters that remember if you take cream or not with your coffee or if your wife takes tea. Friendly staff at every turn. Who could ask for more. I had to hang out the do not disturb sign to stop the flow of inquiries about when I wanted my room made up, and then a follow up visit to insure it was done to my satisfaction, as well as another to discuss when I wanted turn down service, etc. I shall return, hopefully before ennui sets in.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryMFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear HarryMFH,

Thank you for this glowing review! We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at The Pierre. We appreciate you taking the time to write such kind comments for it is through these comments that our staff continues to provide impeccable five-diamond service each day.

We hope that you indeed come again soon. We would love to host you again.

Warm Regards,
The Pierre General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

I have stayed in many "grand" hotels all over and fully expected The Pierre to be of the same ilk - stuffy, pretentious and self important. How wrong I was! Top notch in every respect - impeccable rooms, furnishings, bathrooms, towels, overall decor. But where the Pierre truly shines is it's staff. Every person that we encountered was genuinely friendly, engaging, helpful.... and SMILED! From the elevator drivers (Kofi!) to the doormen, front desk, bellmen, and housekeepers. Absolutely the friendliest bunch of folks I've ever experienced in a hotel.

My faith in hotel humanity has been restored!

Room Tip: Western exposure (5th Ave) rooms that are higher up can give a beautiful view of Central Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Marble hallways, softy carpets and beautiful ceilings. Here is the true definition of classical cosiness.
Enjoying one of the mythical hospitality place of new York was a privilege.
Also to mentioned the new years eve dinner was lovely, even if the singer was not perfectly in tune.
A must see, or at least take a glass at the bar.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustJeff81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#20 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#32 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Property: The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#16 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#37 Family Hotel in New York City
#44 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing