We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic could not of asked for anything better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Ranked #17 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Super hotel great people very clean well mannered .. just perfect and great value for money the staff was brilliant even made new friends.. i would deffo be looking to stay there again if ever im in new york.. next to central park.. busy shopping areas all in all my hol was fantastic great experience.. oh n some of the residents of the hotel have paid between 40 amd 100 million dollars to buy there room.. that on its own says it all

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dtwizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,812)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,175 - 1,181 of 1,813 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

very dissapointed. Excllen bell staff service, fast check in. Room which ws "upgraded" had a bathroom the size of a small closet. Could not stand in front of sink without closing the door... old heating system, terrible noisy.. sounded like chains rattling on and off all night. Room temp very inconsistent. Put request for room service on door at 5:20PM... back 8:30... nothing done.. no turn down.. Apparently turn down came later.. card under door when I arrived. No coffee maker in room, or available on request. I found out why... If you order a pot for room bill is about $40 by the time they add on ebverything. Ordered room service... asked for and was confirmed to me they had green chiles... Here comes the red sauce... Menu says stir fry garlic greens... comes chopped yellow and red peppers, mushrooms, a piece of bok choy, baby corn, all seemingly been around awhile. Stangest greens I ever saw. They did decide to take it off the bill. Ate in the highly rates Italian restarant with business guests... NOT impressed at all. Starter warm carrot something was terrible. Egg plant parmesian in a thick puff pastry... why?

Room Tip: try somewhere else, unless you want to be by the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Don M,

I sincerely apologize that your stay with us was disappointing and did not meet your expectations. It is by listening to our guests that we are able to maintain our five diamond service. At The Pierre we continually strive to exceed our guests’ personal service standards, and it is important to us to know when we are not doing so. I would be happy to speak with you directly regarding your experience, please feel free to contact me at anytime.

We will follow up with our Director of Food and Beverage to ensure that what you experienced does not happen again.

I truly apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us at The Pierre. We hope that you will decide to stay with us again and allow us to make up for any shortcomings you experienced.

Warm Regards,
The Pierre General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We just gave a weekend getaway to our children to The Pierre in NYC. There are so many Beautiful hotels to choose from making it a difficult choice. I am very pleased to report that we are more than happy with the first class accommodations , service and attention to detail at every turn!It is quite apparent why this hotel boast a 5 star rating.It will now be on my list of top recommendations in NYC. Thank You Pierre Taj for making the weekend so magical..and PERFECT in every way!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MYVACATIONPLACE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The rooms are beautiful, the live elevator operators bring back an old-style elegance that most hotels have abandoned, and the location is very convenient. The fitness center was good, and it was interesting to discover that there are permanent residents living in the hotel. The hotel bed and pillows were very comfortable, too.

Room Tip: Do not get room 1911 as it is next to a permanent resident with at least 1 loud crying child that yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Bonnie L,

We are thrilled that you had a great stay with us. Our elevator attendants are always a guest favorite. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our location. We pride ourselves on being located on 5th Avenue, just steps away from the great shopping district, and across from Central Park.

We apologize that you were disturbed during your stay. We hope that you stay with us again so that we can leave you with a more positive impression.

Warm Regards,
The Pierre General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Lovely hotel, reception was quick and easy as our group lined up to check-in. The human elevator operators, a reminder of days gone by, are a nice touch, and all of them were VERY friendly and gracious. They are wonderful ambassadors for the property! Ditto the doormen and the elevator starter - all friendly, welcoming and gracious.

We were met in our room with a superb chocolate decoration celebrating the Super Bowl - a neat presentation featuring a chocolate football helmet, with chocolate dipped chips, and a row of chocolates. Nice! Almost too pretty to eat. Almost...

Unfortunately we got a room in back, so had no view.

Downside: Someone, perhaps the prior guests had used the room after it was made ready for the next guests - us. So the room was not checked immediately before our arrival. It was clear that the bathroom had been used, and a pair of slippers were out on the floor. Also the batteries had been taken out of the TV remote. There were no instructions on how to set the alarm on the Bose radio, but we figured it out.

One concierge with whom I had contact seemed a bit standoffish - I asked about a nearby drugstore - her answer was vague. Maybe she was unsure of where it was exactly?

Very handy location close to subway, shopping and Central Park. I would have given it 5 stars except for the "downsides" mentioned above.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kagey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

One of the best hotel beds, definitely fantastic hypoallergenic pillows...service right on...staffed elevators--kudos for having these friendly and efficient employees but added to the general dated feel to the place...yes, it was a good era, but it's 2014...room a bit small...but it is NYC...watch out for the coffee shop @$9/cup of Joe, pretty steep and kind of not nice...food good though..good location...a very nice stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank PlatinumHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

In a rut? Marriage in need of a little rejuvination? Tired of the same old same old? Two or three nights at the Pierre could be what the doctor ordered. A lovely room in a grand hotel, walking distance (even in a New York winter) from great restaurants and shopping. Waiters that remember if you take cream or not with your coffee or if your wife takes tea. Friendly staff at every turn. Who could ask for more. I had to hang out the do not disturb sign to stop the flow of inquiries about when I wanted my room made up, and then a follow up visit to insure it was done to my satisfaction, as well as another to discuss when I wanted turn down service, etc. I shall return, hopefully before ennui sets in.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryMFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear HarryMFH,

Thank you for this glowing review! We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at The Pierre. We appreciate you taking the time to write such kind comments for it is through these comments that our staff continues to provide impeccable five-diamond service each day.

We hope that you indeed come again soon. We would love to host you again.

Warm Regards,
The Pierre General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#93 of 469 in New York City
2,373 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#26 of 469 in New York City
1,540 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
#19 of 469 in New York City
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#37 Family Hotel in New York City
#44 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £354 - £835 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing