We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Ranked #14 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Weekend in Paradise”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My wife and I just returned from a weekend trip to NYC in which we stayed at the Pierre from Friday to Monday morning. The concierge recommended two shows and was able to obtain excellent seats for us. While at the hotel we met Erin who is another concierge who was very welcoming and gave us excellent ideas for our trip. We ate a few meals at Sirios and all the food was first rate. Carmine and Anilese did a great job as our waitstaff. Both are from Italy and are very enthusiastic about their food and culture. The lounge also has excellent high tea, wine and food. Overall the Pierre is a sophisicated oasis of culture and old world sensibilities. It is really more of an old friend than a hotel/

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet, the permanent residents are mixed in with the guest and this keeps things q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,291
    233
    78
    45
    31
See reviews for
378
620
81
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Once you enter The Pierre, you will know that this was one of the most glamorous hotels in NYC back then. It's lavish everywhere you look and the service is personal at every turn.

Our room is decently sized and the bathroom is very very nice. The bed is comfortable and the linens are of high quality.

Requests were fulfilled with a smile and within a reasonable time frame.

Will definitely stay at The Pierre again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperRadiationBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
153 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The hallmark of the Pierre is its service which is superlative in all areas. The elevator attendants are friendly and charming and ensure that you are receiving The Pierre experience even whilst waiting for the lift to reach your floor! It was nice to see that the breakfast service at Sirio is now as slick as their dinner service as during my last stay I think there were a few minor teething problems as it was a new restaurant then.

The concierge team deserve a special mention as they go way above and beyond and were even able to secure me hard to get ultra last minute table reservations. They truly are as good as you can get and are all part of The Pierre experience.

It is interesting to note some reviews expressing disappointment and dissatisfaction with the hotel. It is at the opposite end of the spectrum to say the brand new flashy hotels synonymous with the new Middle East, it is refined, subtle and classy. That is not to say that the rooms and suites are not luxurious, but it is all relatively understated. As it is an historic (relatively) building some of the room layouts are a bit quirky, e.g. I had their top category of non-Grand suite which had a large entrance hall, large living room, and large bedroom (and wonderful dual aspect views across the city) yet the bathroom, whilst fully equipped was rather small in comparison.

The Pierre is a very special property and one which I shall always look forward to returning to.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntlTraveller21stc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear kingdom100,

Thank you for taking the time to express such kind feedback with us. We appreciate the time that you spent in writing this review. Our staff is topnotch and want to ensure that each one of our guests have an enjoyable stay with us. Everyone from our elevator attendants, to our concierge team, to our Sirio staff members, and the entire Pierre team thank you for your comments and are inspired. It is through reviews such as these that gives us the energy to consistently provide 5-star service.

Lastly, we thank you for commenting on those who have had a less satisfying experience with us. Having advocates for our hotel is the kindest gesture a past guest can make.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, and hope that your next stay is even more enjoyable.

Warm Regards,
The Pierre General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Of course the location is perfect: Central Park stares at you. The lobby is serene and sophisticated. The staff always make you feel warm and secure: always a smile but always with their lights on. There are a lot of fine hotels in this world, especially in New York City. The Pierre is different. The Pierre excels because of the staff. We stayed here during a blizzard. Not a dusting. Not a storm. A BLIZZARD. And yet, the staff made it to work. The hotel was "All systems GO!" And not one employee even mentioned their trek in to work. All they asked about was our trip, our stay, our plans. The concierge found places to eat that were open. Great places. Places staffed by more intrepid New Yorkers. Hey, so maybe it's not just The Pierre. You know what, maybe it's not just New Yorkers. Maybe this is the same resiliency displayed in Boston after The Marathon Bombing. Maybe it's the same quality that links all of us in The United States of America. Our stay at The Pierre and the staff's incredible fortitude is merely a metaphor of what makes me most proud of my nation. Sorry for digressing, but you can only write so much about a spacious bedroom and a pretty lobby and a nice gym and ninja-like housekeepers and welcoming real-life elevator operators and friendly, fertile check-in staff (our check-in person was quite pregnant and at work during a BLIZZARD!). All these qualities are true and accurate. The Pierre is a step above any other NYC hotel. Trust me. But what resonates from my stay is the one unifying quality displayed by the staff at The Pierre that assures and reassures me that, despite our economic travails and social misadventures, we will prevail: our determination!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank takethecannoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

From the minute you arrive, from he door man, to the bell man to the front desk staff, you feel like royalty. Everyone is very professional but also friendly. Our room overlooked Central Park and that was really a fantastic treat to have this view. The rooms are not large, but they are very well appointed. The bathroom was spacious with both a walk in shower and separate tub. The Molton Brown amenities were a special treat. Besides being on 5th Avenue and close to many shopping opportunties, there is a subway about 1 block away which we used during rush hours. The hotel also has a courtesy green Jaguar for the guests. I would stay here the next time we are in New York. It is worth the cost!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on one of the higher floors facing Central Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, has become my accommodation preference when in New York City. Every single service in the hotel was above expected which makes it a wonderful experience and great value for money. From the moment the reservation is made, the staff makes arrangements to make your stay pleasant and rewarding. Employees are kind, polite, friendly and professional. Rooms are large and comfortable, feature classic furnishings including a work desk and a marble bath with separate shower and soaking tub. Breakfast at Sirio Ristorante was marvelous - kudos to the staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessProjects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear BusinessProjects,

We are thrilled to hear that you had an outstanding stay with us at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York. On behalf of our staff, we thank you for all of your gracious comments. It is through comments such as these that continues to inspire our staff to deliver Five-Diamond service. We will be sure to express your gratitude to the entire staff at The Pierre.

Please do hurry back to visit us again. We would love to welcome you for another memorable experience with us.

Warm Regards,
The Pierre General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Super hotel great people very clean well mannered .. just perfect and great value for money the staff was brilliant even made new friends.. i would deffo be looking to stay there again if ever im in new york.. next to central park.. busy shopping areas all in all my hol was fantastic great experience.. oh n some of the residents of the hotel have paid between 40 amd 100 million dollars to buy there room.. that on its own says it all

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtwizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#8 of 468 in New York City
687 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#16 of 468 in New York City
1,364 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 468 in New York City
1,214 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#28 of 468 in New York City
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Property: The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#16 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#37 Family Hotel in New York City
#44 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing