We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Ranked #17 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We attended our grand neice's wedding on the 5th of April. We checked into the hotel on the 4th and stayed until the 6th. They have the most wonderful help from the door person to really anyone working there. Fast check in. beautiful room great service. And the most spectacular event with more then 300 people in attendance. The food was just out of this world and the breakfast the next morning was just great. Checkin is fast and so was check out. Valet parking and the car came back next day in 10 minutes.

Room Tip: If you want to see the park then stay above the 8th floor on the west side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 198beachman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,812)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,150 - 1,156 of 1,812 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

From the front desk worker who walked us to our room, to the beautiful view and location, and all the little touches that make you feel spoiled......I loved my stay here.
I did stay in a gorgeous suite that, without the purchase at a charity auction, I probably wouldn't ever buy......I am so glad to have had the chance to discover this hotel!
But such a great staff and property.....I'll be back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mikeschlueter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at the Pierre from 14th to 21st March this year. This was our first trip to NYC, so we were (of course) blown away by the city, but we have to say that this amazing trip was undoubtedly topped by our choice of hotel. The Pierre is perfectly situated overlooking the Park and 5th Avenue, and compliments this with a team of professional, friendly staff. Ai greeted us on arrival and made us feel welcome and at home in an instant. Knowing this was a special trip for us we were allocated a fantastic room with a lovely view that we never tired of gazing at! Throughout our stay staff greetings were always warm and friendly, service was faultless and the hotel never ceased to impress. Upon departure we left a letter of thanks to the hotel manager who responded personally to us, which was a lovely touch and solidified our feeling of being a valued guest rather than a 'room fill' statistic, as can be the case at other hotels. We are dreaming of our next trip to NYC already, where without question, we will return to the Pierre.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RachelOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear RachelOG,

Thank you for spending the time to write this great review. We are thrilled that you had an exceptional stay with and we are honored that you chose our hotel for your first trip to New York. It is important to feel at home when you travel, especially in a new place, so we are glad that Ai was able to provide that comfort.

We enjoyed your personalized note! Thank you for that. It was incredibly thoughtful of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit!

Warm Regard,
The Pierre General Manageger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

A somewhat underwhelming entrance (both from 5th Avenue and 61st Street) but excellent, excellent service, big rooms, comfortable bed, wonderfully discrete housekeeping and a great location. Noisy air conditioning and terrible wi-fi were the two big downsides as as the quality of American TV (not the hotel's fault strictly I suppose!). In relation to wi-fi my wife and I brought two tablets and two smart phones with us from the UK but were only able to use one of them, at $12.99 a day, albeit, for some reason (which, understandably, we didn't quibble upon checking out!!) we weren't charged for! Not the level of service I would have expected from a five star hotel, not least given that the budget hotel we'd stayed at in London near our airport before we flew out offered free wi-fi for the first hour and then only £3 per day.

Not cheap, and I'm still in two minds about whether it was worth it but a great venue nonetheless, which contributed to a wonderful trip and therefore well worth 4 stars.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRB380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Small room, small bathroom, zero view. Stayed 2 nights and each night at about 1 a.m. the ventilation system blew in cigarette smoke smells. The first night, the front desk said it would send a house detective around and 30 minutes later the odors stopped. The 2nd night, they were not sympathetic and said it was impossible. Asked whether they could send someone to see if someone was smoking on the nonsmoking floor and was declined. Without the smoke the room was acceptable but far from excellent.. With the poor ventilation system, there are plenty of better hotel choices around Central Park with better views, better amenities, better ventilation and better service.

Room Tip: Stay at the Ritz Carlton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear L R,

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your stay with us. We can assure you that during our recent renovation in 2010, we installed a state of the art ventilation system. However, we apologize that it did not meet your standards. We will follow up with our engineering department to ensure that all of our systems are running properly.

We would never want one of our guest's requests to be denied, but please understand that in a hotel with 140 guest rooms, it would be difficult to have a staff member locate the source of the cigarette smoke.

We hope that you return to our hotel so that we can leave you with a more positive impression. Our sincerest apologies.

Warm Regards,
The Pierre General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Booked a stay for my mother, i will be very honest it was exactly what we expected, a nice 5 star hotel , small rooms but nice and clean. Hotel is perfectly located.
I had prepaid the stay for her on hotels.com and the pierre took a pre authorization deposit on arrival of 400$ but for no reason and without mentioning anything they have taken 1430,52$ after check-out without telling anyone of course. We have only realised this 20 days later when we received the bank statement but i am sorry this is very unprofessional and there are no excuses.
After a phone call to the hotel we got refunded but with no explanation.
Never again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Jad G,

We are sorry to hear of your recent experience. Please rest assured that we are doing everything that we can to further investigate this issue.

We look forward to continuing this conversation offline and we thank you for your patience.

Warm Regards,
The Pierre General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The best way to get a favourable review is to upgrade the guest to a suite. The feel good factor alone will ensure the property gets a great review. That is in fact what happened to me. So, I got a fantastic suite, complete with a small sit-out, kitchenette, et al. Of course all this wasted on me since I was travelling single and on business. If this had happened while the wife was with me, I would have impressed her for a change (of course it never happens then). The flipside was that the room did not face Central Park although the property is across the road from the park. Great service with a turndown facility in the evening (I have previously written that you get great service in New York only in hotels exceeding $600 a night) which was a surprise. Breakfast is a weak link (like most top class US hotels) but fortunately there are several diners close by. In fact I think that the lousy breakfast facility in US hotels ensures great business for the diners and Starbucks in the vicinity of such hotels. I would recommend this great New York property for its location, size of rooms, service and contemporary interiors.

Room Tip: No harm in asking for a room facing the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoggleEyedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#93 of 469 in New York City
2,373 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#26 of 469 in New York City
1,540 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
#19 of 469 in New York City
2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#16 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#37 Family Hotel in New York City
#44 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £354 - £835 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, DerbySoftTaj, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing