We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Ranked #14 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

A Top quality hotel as it always has been with very attentive service.
Our room was not ready on arrival as there had been a large wedding the night before so I guess they were having trouble turning the rooms around which was very nicely explained to us by reception. We went off for a walk and the hotel called us to say our room was ready. They had upgraded us to a suite for the inconvenience which was classy.
The suite and facilities were of the highest order, only a single vanity which is unusual of a hotel of this quality.
Room service was quick and responsive and the standards and facilities of the highest order.

Two minor criticisms, tea and coffee in rooms please and paying for wifi, just add it on the rate.
most top class hotels include it these days. And finally tipping is a big problem in New York, you constantly have to make sure you have enough loose dollars in your pocket or you get 'The Look"

having been in the 5 star hotel business for many years until recently this hotel is right up there
with the best.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,179
    223
    77
    40
    31
See reviews for
339
569
77
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I came to NY as part of my 50th celebration and chose the Taj as we stay with the Taj when my husband works in Chennai, the Coromandel another Leading Hotel of the World, and could definitely see the same thoughtful touches, excellent service and quality of room. Of course the position of The Pierre over looking Central Park is also a big plus.

We ate the first night at Sirio the hotel restaurant and must say it was one of our best meals while in NY, service and value for that level of restaurant. We also personally preferred the bar in the Sirio rather than the more formal bar in the hotel, also I think more reasonable. On returning to our room they had left me a gorgeous chocolate cake and a bottle of champagne with a note to wish me a happy birthday, really lovely touch.

Something that we all loved were the lifts with the personal attendants all of whom were so friendly.

I would recommend The Pierre highly, they handled our complicated booking without any problems, staff were all friendly, housekeeping to the very high standard you'd expect from the Taj, great position and restaurant, and the doormen extremely helpful on our departure when we needed a large taxi. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tetchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Santa Fe, California
Level Contributor
476 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

The NY TAJ is probably the best located hotel in NY if you want to be right on the park close to 5th Avenue shopping but far enough to be away from the crowds. The very large rooms make this a great experience, although its an old building the remodel came out great. Will go back if i can get a good room rate, sometimes they think they are a Peninsula.

Room Tip: A view of the Park is always nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertoMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear AlbertoMay,

Thank you for spending the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoy our location, as well as our rooms. Being seemingly away from the crowds, but still steps from 5th Avenue shops and Central Park is one of the things that makes our hotel so special.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future. It will be a pleasure to host you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Heiko K
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Pierre 5/15-5/18/14. I have nothing but great things to say about this property. Everything from the warm greeting and escort to our room, to the elevator attendants in white gloves....it was all done with excellence. Our room was extremely clean, and the bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in. The concierge staff went out of their way to accommodate us and made activities and dinner reservations a breeze. As for location, it is just a quick walk across the street to Central Park, and about a 15 minute walk to Times Square. I highly recommend this property and will be returning on our next visit to New York.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bean2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

My husband and I spent two nights in New York last week at the Pierre. The hotel and employees were beyond our expectations. Beautiful room, incredible service, warm and elegant. We have stayed at the St. Regis several times in the last year, the Peninsula as well as a Tower suite at the New York Palace.last fall. The Pierre was the best of all from start to finish. From our professional and warm reception upon arrival;( thank you Ryan!) to the finest and most detailed concierge (thank you William!) we have ever had in the city. Our room and service were stunning... We will be back and thrilled to be back in the future!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Booked with an online travel service and got a great rate. Perhaps because of that we were placed on the fourth floor. The room was beautiful but the noise from the AC system for the building was unbearable.

When we relayed this to the front desk we were immediately offered another room, this time on the fifth floor, larger than the first and quiet. Ai and Rosemary, the front desk representatives, were gracious, apologetic, helpful and pleasant, in taking care of our needs. We could not have asked for more.

On arrival at the hotel, at the front door, the reception desk, the elevator attendants, the security personnel - anyone on duty at the Pierre, all were concerned with the safety and happiness of the guests. We arrived as strangers and when we checked out we felt as though we had made new friends.

The location is perfect: Central Park to run in; the subway around the corner; a beautiful view from select rooms and many wonderful shops and restaurants in the neighborhood.

We did have breakfast at Sirio's each morning. Expensive - yes. Delicious - yes. Service par excellence - yes. There are some coffee shops nearby but we opted for the elegance and variety of in house. Worth the choice.

One comment: the bar at night had two musicians. Placed in the corner and without a third counterbalancing musician, it was poor. Suggestion would be to hire a third sideman and place the group in a more prominent position. It would surely encourage people to come and stay while enjoying the opportunity to hear good music in a wonderful landmark hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PalmDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Pierre for a week as part of our honeymoon - we had an exceptional stay.

I had a city view room, which had excellent views of Central Park. Highlights for me;

- the rooms are superb; some of the best of all the top hotels I have stayed in. Spacious and very we'll equipped with large bathrooms
- the location is as good as it gets in my opinion; on 5th avenue opposite Central Park, right next to a subway station which is 3 stops to Times Square, also very close to many other tourist hotspots....... although when the weather is nice it's hard to drag yourself away from the delights of Central Park!
- Service level - all staff we encountered were friendly and attentive, nothing was too much trouble for them. From small details, such as my hairbrush was misplaced and the lady in charge of housekeeping immediately sent out for a replacement ensuring she got the exact specification I needed, to bigger requests such as my sister organising a number of surprises to be in our room for arrival - framed pictures of us, champagne, strawberries and flowers - everything was top quality.

Negatives;
- I could see why some guests may find the elevator attendants to be difficult to get used to, so may be a little off putting for some. We personally didn't find this to be the case; the staff were a delight it get to know and they strike a good balance between discretion and interaction.

We can't wait to return soon!! I can't recommend the hotel highly enough

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Vicky U,

Congratulations on your recent marriage and for becoming newlyweds! Thank you for spending the time to write a great review for The Pierre. From our service, to our location, and our rooms, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and that you can not wait to come back again.

Indeed, our level of service is not meant for everyone, but our mission is to bring old-style luxury in a modern way. Our elevator attendants, as well as the rest of our team, are some of the kindest people - feel free to start a conversation with them!

Looking forward to hosting you again on your next trip to New York. Wishing you many years of happiness.

Warm Regards,
Heiko K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#20 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#32 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Property: The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#16 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#37 Family Hotel in New York City
#44 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Odigeo, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing