We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice refurb, loud A/C”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Ranked #17 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The hotel refurb is great - has a new and clean yet still characterful feel to it and the room decor is very nice, including good bathrooms. Yet be aware the rooms have individual loud air conditioning motors at bed level rather than a centralised or concealed system so can be very noisy especially in the smaller rooms - I had to be moved from the first room I was given where the problem was particularly acute. Concierge was solid with some decent if uninspiring recommendations. The best thing about the hotel is clearly the location which is outstanding, perfect for shops and museums.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chesl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear chesl77,

We thank you for spending the time to review our hotel and express your concerns. We apologize that you did not have the most restful stay in our hotel, but we are glad that we were able to find you a room that you found to be more comfortable. We keep our air conditioning and heating units at a bed level, versus a centralized system, because we want to allow our guests the ability to adjust the temperature of their room to their liking.

We thank you for highlighting that you enjoyed our remodel, as well as our location. Our location is beloved by many of our guests, and we are thrilled to hear that you were able to have easy access to all of the famed shops and museums in New York.

We hope that you choose our hotel once more so that we can leave you with a better impression.

Warm Regards,
Heiko K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,128 - 1,134 of 1,819 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

The Pierre is once again our best hotel experience in New York City! We have stayed in this hotel multiple times over the years and it always impresses us with a superior level of service from the staff, dining, and accomodations. Furthermore, the location is superb and within walking distance to many of New York's major attractions. It is a 5 Star+ hotel experience from begining to end.
The amenities of the hotel are also wonderful. The hotel fitness area is great for a quick workout and the room service is always timely. The restaurant cuisine is always fresh and very well presented.
The hotel staff is among the best in the world. They always greet us with friendly smiles and try to help with any reservations, dining, or transportation needs. The housekeeping staff keeps the room tidy at all times and is very quick to respond to any needs. The guest relations team made our stay even more wonderful this time offering a lovely upgrade and complimentary fruit waiting in our room.
We highly recommend staying in The Pierre Hotel and look forward to our next visit to NYC and The Pierre.

Room Tip: Rooms with a city view are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

For over 15 years, my family used to move into the Pierre each Summer, while my father conducted business. So, this hotel has many memories for me, growing up. Today, as an adult, I try to return each June to enjoy the city and especially to enjoy this amazing hotel. Attention to detail, the incredible concierge(s), the car service, and their ability to REMEMBER their guests...these are all reasons to stay at The Pierre. I will be checking in, again, on June 12 and will update this review with more specifics!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennerjoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Jennerjoseph,

Thank you for spending the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled that you return each year to enjoy our hotel and New York City. It is always a pleasure welcoming you. We are committed to continuing to strive for perfect hospitality, so we thank you once more for recognizing our great team at The Pierre.

It is an honor to welcome you each visit to our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you this June.

Warm Regards,
Heiko K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. I was delighted by the warm welcome at check-in, and the many ways the staff recognized our anniversary: an upgrade to a room with a spectacular view, a custom-made surprise desert at Sirio, champagne and cake sent to our room by the manager, etc. Everyone from the management through housekeeping and elevator operators were thoughtful and concerned with our experience. The room and bathroom were extremely comfortable and well-appointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

A Top quality hotel as it always has been with very attentive service.
Our room was not ready on arrival as there had been a large wedding the night before so I guess they were having trouble turning the rooms around which was very nicely explained to us by reception. We went off for a walk and the hotel called us to say our room was ready. They had upgraded us to a suite for the inconvenience which was classy.
The suite and facilities were of the highest order, only a single vanity which is unusual of a hotel of this quality.
Room service was quick and responsive and the standards and facilities of the highest order.

Two minor criticisms, tea and coffee in rooms please and paying for wifi, just add it on the rate.
most top class hotels include it these days. And finally tipping is a big problem in New York, you constantly have to make sure you have enough loose dollars in your pocket or you get 'The Look"

having been in the 5 star hotel business for many years until recently this hotel is right up there
with the best.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I came to NY as part of my 50th celebration and chose the Taj as we stay with the Taj when my husband works in Chennai, the Coromandel another Leading Hotel of the World, and could definitely see the same thoughtful touches, excellent service and quality of room. Of course the position of The Pierre over looking Central Park is also a big plus.

We ate the first night at Sirio the hotel restaurant and must say it was one of our best meals while in NY, service and value for that level of restaurant. We also personally preferred the bar in the Sirio rather than the more formal bar in the hotel, also I think more reasonable. On returning to our room they had left me a gorgeous chocolate cake and a bottle of champagne with a note to wish me a happy birthday, really lovely touch.

Something that we all loved were the lifts with the personal attendants all of whom were so friendly.

I would recommend The Pierre highly, they handled our complicated booking without any problems, staff were all friendly, housekeeping to the very high standard you'd expect from the Taj, great position and restaurant, and the doormen extremely helpful on our departure when we needed a large taxi. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tetchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The NY TAJ is probably the best located hotel in NY if you want to be right on the park close to 5th Avenue shopping but far enough to be away from the crowds. The very large rooms make this a great experience, although its an old building the remodel came out great. Will go back if i can get a good room rate, sometimes they think they are a Peninsula.

Room Tip: A view of the Park is always nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbertoMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiko K, General Manager at The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear AlbertoMay,

Thank you for spending the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoy our location, as well as our rooms. Being seemingly away from the crowds, but still steps from 5th Avenue shops and Central Park is one of the things that makes our hotel so special.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future. It will be a pleasure to host you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Heiko K
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#97 of 469 in New York City
2,377 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#24 of 469 in New York City
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
#19 of 469 in New York City
2,295 reviews
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#34 of 469 in New York City
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York

Address: 2 East 61st Street at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#16 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#37 Family Hotel in New York City
#44 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £340 - £822 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark hotel on Fifth Avenue in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierre Hotel New York City
Pierre New York City
Pierre Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing