We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
Ranked #183 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed 17 June 2011

I stayed here recently and had a marvelous experience. I had one of the renovated rooms, and it was beautiful! I particularly liked the bathroom. There was a little street noise, but that's par for the course in New York. The location (near the park, museums, and shopping) was convenient, though it sometimes felt a little isolated from the hum of the city. I also enjoyed my treatment in the elegant spa. My only complaint is about the decor of the restaurant--it seemed a little tired. My chair at breakfast was a bit wobbly.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bottsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    156
    56
    27
    20
See reviews for
127
236
46
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2011

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights during a recent business trip and was extremely happy with all aspects of the stay. I had a renovated room which featured a great bathroom (rain shower, 2 sinks). The staff could not have been nicer and I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthes001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boca raton, florida
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

My husband and I just came off a 10 day Caribbean cruise and we wanted to spend a few days in New York City. My travel agent recommended this hotel and what a DISAPPOINTMENT. The room was tiny (and we had been upgraded). The hot water faucet in the bathroom did not work. No water would come out. So we called housekeeping. A man came and looked at it - shrugged his shoulders and said there was nothing they could do!! and left!! So we had no hot water in the sink!! Breakfast was included with our room charge. It was continetal and when the waiter asked us if we'd like a pastry basket we told him we would rather just have some multi grain or whole wheat toast instead...The waiter tells us that will be an extra charge!!! My husband TOLD the waiter ..NO it will not be an extra charge..so fortunately for us the waiter listened.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beauoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athenee, Manager at Hotel Plaza Athenee New York, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Thank you for your valuable comments. I apologize for the unfortunate experience with the bathroom sink and will address both incidents with the staff. At the Plaza Athenee, we strive to make your stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible and I am sorry that we failed you.
We would love the opportunity to welcome you back-you may contact me directly to make arrangements.

Sebastian Wurst
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, FL
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Having stayed many times at the Plaza in Paris, my partner and I thought we would give this a shot during a recent stay in NYC. It was something of a disappointment. The room was really tired, the staff was merely pleasant and the restaurant looked like the elephant graveyard. You can see that it could be great again but needs some TLC.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucky0724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athenee, Manager at Hotel Plaza Athenee New York, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent trip with us. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and were unhappy with your accommodations. We have recently completed extensive renovations to many of our rooms and have added a beautiful spa. I would love for you to stay in one of our new rooms-you may contact me at swurst@plaza-athenee.com and I hope we will have you as our guest again.

Best regards,
Sebastian Wurst
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We spent a week-end for our wedding anniversary: everyone was very nice, hotel is very nice, room extremely clean and comfortable. Bar and room service are very expensive - be careful!
We loved it! We really want to go back!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

One of the best in NY.This hotel has all the elements that a good boutique hotel should have, I was extremely impressed and will make this my base in NY.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcopolo100_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We got a great last minute deal and were delighted with the room and location. This is a great hotel by most standards and being in New York, close to Central Park, makes it an even bigger gem.

It's expensive, so much so we didn't eat there and wouldn't have dreamed about even opening the mini bar, but if you can get a good deal, then you won't regret staying here.

The same old issues as you find in other New York hotels are still true here, the expensive wifi, no coffee making facilities in the room, a small useless bath, but they make up for it by having luxurious rooms, coffee and free wifi in the lobby etc. The staff were lovely too, which also helps!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BalhamBoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#194 of 466 in New York City
296 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#30 of 466 in New York City
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#77 of 466 in New York City
1,850 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#255 of 466 in New York City
774 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#28 of 466 in New York City
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Athenee New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Athenee New York

Property: Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
Address: 37 E 64th St, New York City, NY 10065-7003
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in New York City
#77 Business Hotel in New York City
#137 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#165 Family Hotel in New York City
#188 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Plaza Athenee New York 5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a charming, residential street on 64th Street between Park and Madison Avenue, Hotel Plaza Athénée is an Upper East Side luxury boutique hotel that has been a home away from home to royalty, world leaders, celebrities, executives and discerning travelers since 1984. Ideally situated in the heart of Manhattan, guests are just minutes from Central Park, Madison Avenue boutiques, galleries and museums. Elegant and refined in every detail, rich in style, Hotel Plaza Athénée offers a grand yet inviting setting where classic French inspired style meets Manhattan's uptown chic. Hand-painted murals, Italian marble, French antiques and luxe furnishings create a gracious haven. Guestrooms and suites have a distinct residential style in character with the genteel neighborhood where it resides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza Athenee New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Plaza Athenee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing