We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very lovely hotel, perfectly located, and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
Ranked #203 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very lovely hotel, perfectly located, and great service”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We had a lovely two night stay at the Plaza Athenee in NYC. The service provided at this hotel is top notch, from the super easy and polite check in, to the attentive bellman who delivered our luggage, the super responsive housekeeping (arrived 10 minutes after I called with foam pillows and extra towels. Even our breakfast which I ordered the night before was delivered at exactly the time I requested. The room was possibly the cleanest one I have ever stayed in, but a bit small in size even at a higher room category (Grand deluxe). I would highly recommend this hotel, although I didn't give it five stars since it is quite expensive for the size of the room, so not exactly best value. But it was overall still excellent.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the street, we had a very quiet and restful experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    158
    56
    28
    21
See reviews for
129
238
48
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aalst, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I stayed in this rather small (142 guestrooms) but excellent hotel for 4 days in early march.
As the moment you step in there is a nice atmosphere until the moment you leave.

The doorman and concierge are very nice, chatty and gave excellent restaurant and theatre recommendations!

The location is on 37E 64th at Madison Av. which is perfect, it is very close to major shopping streets / restaurants but in a very quiet street which is appreciated after a long day in New York city.

The Deluxe room, I stayed in has all the modern comfort in a classy european interior and is large for NY standards. the Leaders club welcome gift was a fruit basket, I believe and after the 3th night there were pastries in the room as well.

The gym is not very big but equipped with everything you need, so no complains!

The breakfast was served in the hotel's restaurant Arabelle and was à la carte! the products they used was from excellent quality, the waiters were friendly but the interior was a bit disappointing. there bar named 'bar seine' is nice and has a very nice selection of booze but I think there may be better options...

In the end a very nice stay (bit expensive but ok) and will certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonviveur92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This was our first stay at this small (142 guest rooms and suites), elegant hotel well-situated in the Upper East Side of Manhattan just off Madison Avenue, with ready access to the many fine shops and cultural attractions of that part of Manhattan. Long unassociated with its Paris name-sake, it retains, however, much of the ambiance and charm of the Paris hotel. We stayed five days in a reasonably-priced interior room which was well-furnished and nicely appointed, but with a view from its one window of the brick wall of an adjacent building. (If views are important to you, pay the extra and select a exterior view on an upper floor.) The staff including doormen, reception, concierge and chambermaids were all congenial and professional in performing their functions. The public areas of the hotel looked fresh and were well-maintained, reflecting in part recent renovations. Car valet service was prompt and reasonably priced. We had one dinner at Arabelle, the hotel's main dining room. While the dining room and the adjacent bar were very atractive, the food and service were little better than average - perhaps as a Monday it was an off-night, as it does get a good food rating from Zagat. We look forward to staying at this hotel again and would recommend it without reservation to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

A hotel with a big name but without much character. Dark and small lobby area, inattentive staff. Rooms and bathrooms are in need of renovation . The service is average and the breakfast was not what one could expect from a 5 star property.The location is great though, but there are better options in NY.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharit911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athenee, Manager at Hotel Plaza Athenee New York, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay. I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations and would like to find out the details of your dissatisfaction to improve our performance. Please contact me at swurst@plaza-athenee.com
Sincerely,
Sebastian Wurst
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed at this lovely little gem for the weekend in January. The location is ideal for a shopping weekend in NY. A nice, quiet residential street around the corner from lots of great shops. The service is wonderfully efficient. The lounge is intimate with a nice menu of munchies and drinks. While our room was small, it was well appointed with a very comfortable bed, flat screen TV and an ample bathroom with great amenities. The only minus was the breakfast and this is truly a minor criticism -- the food was a bit lackluster. The service was pleasant and professional in a relaxed environment -- something a bit hard to come by in the City. We would certainly return. A guaranteed good night sleep!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. There are still a few rooms that have not been updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scooby19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, MD
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We have frequent occasion to visit the upper east side of NYC and have stayed at at least six "5 star" hotels in the area. This is the one we'll return to. All the expected amenities are there, but with little, added touches that become all the more meaningful for their lack at competing hotels. From the bathroom supplies to the flexibility of the parking garage to the accommodating housekeeping staff to the quality and service of the included continental breakfast, the Plaza-Athenée leaves us no nits to pick.

Room Tip: Obviously, the higher the floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ProfRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We came to experience Christmas in New York and were amazed by the Plaza Athenee Hotel's location. It is close to Barneys, Bloomingdales and other great shopping and was a short walk to Rockefeller Center. It also really close to the Lexington Av/63 St subway station. The staff was very courteous and helpful. And the rooms are HUGE by New York standards. Definitely the biggest room we've ever staying in during any of our trips to the city. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redraidergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#177 of 467 in New York City
301 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#33 of 467 in New York City
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#79 of 467 in New York City
1,864 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#264 of 467 in New York City
784 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#29 of 467 in New York City
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Athenee New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Athenee New York

Property: Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
Address: 37 E 64th St, New York City, NY 10065-7003
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in New York City
#77 Business Hotel in New York City
#146 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#164 Family Hotel in New York City
#187 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Plaza Athenee New York 5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a charming, residential street on 64th Street between Park and Madison Avenue, Hotel Plaza Athénée is an Upper East Side luxury boutique hotel that has been a home away from home to royalty, world leaders, celebrities, executives and discerning travelers since 1984. Ideally situated in the heart of Manhattan, guests are just minutes from Central Park, Madison Avenue boutiques, galleries and museums. Elegant and refined in every detail, rich in style, Hotel Plaza Athénée offers a grand yet inviting setting where classic French inspired style meets Manhattan's uptown chic. Hand-painted murals, Italian marble, French antiques and luxe furnishings create a gracious haven. Guestrooms and suites have a distinct residential style in character with the genteel neighborhood where it resides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Plaza Athenee New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Plaza Athenee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing