We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay but a bit dated in some aspects”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
Ranked #210 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay but a bit dated in some aspects”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2008

We came in early for a business meeting to spend a weekend together in New York. Very quaint hotel where the service was spot on. We were spent from our red-eye and they were able to let us sleep in another room until ours was ready.
Small things are a bit dated like the toiletries, TV and older scale in the bathroom.
If you prefer more modern, then I would shop around.

  • Liked — Old World glamour and location
  • Disliked — Bathtub kept draining
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SofonisbaSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    147
    56
    25
    18
See reviews for
115
225
44
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2008

This was my first time staying at this luxury hotel in New York's Upper West side and it was worth every penny. We booked a package through expedia.com for air and hotel and were more than pleasantly surprised. Everything was very prompt, the people were remarkable friendly and made us feel as though we had known them forever. I will go back. The doormen Angel and Tommy were awesome.

  • Liked — The people and the room was amazing.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bess211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2008

I recently spent a weekend here and really enjoyed a quiet repose in luxurious comfort. I was on the top floor in a huge room with magnificent views of the upper east side and the city beyond. The room was elegantly appointed with French furniture, mirrored closet doors, a small kitchenette, and a plush bed. I loved the huge bathroom, which had pink marble walls, an enormous shower, and even a bidet.

On Saturday, I enjoyed a Broadway play (Pinter's The Homecoming) and managed to hit a sale at Barney's--all within walking distance of the hotel. Later I had dinner at the hotel with a friend.The dining room is one of the prettiest in Manhattan. The murano glass chandeliers and mirrored alcoves reflect shimmering candlelight. The menu had some very creative offerings, served ably by a mature, professional staff. On Sunday morning, I had a light breakfast in the Bar Seine and then retired to my room to read the New York Times. Though the hotel is in the heart of the Madison Avenue shopping district and just steps from museums and Central Park, I had a hard time getting out of that relaxing retreat! But when I did, the staff helped me plan my trip and arrange for transit.

In sum, I found this the perfect hotel for a relaxing weekend in New York. It was worth every penny!

  • Liked — Excellent service--Ed at the front desk was really great!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bottsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2008

We booked this hotel on the basis that we had a great time when we stayed at the Plaza Athenee in Paris. Unfortunately the two are not comparable. Whereas the PA in Paris is grand and modern but chic, the PA in New York is cramped, dated and the staff are unhelpful.

Take one evening which we asked them to make us reservations for. Firstly it took them 30 minutes to bring an iron to our room which meant that we were late leaving. We then got to the restaurant to find out that the hotel concierge had not changed the table reservation as we had asked them to which meant that we were 45 mins early. We were therefore late finishing dinner so, when we got to the jazz club which the hotel had booked for us, we were no longer able to get in as the club had a cut-off time for entrants - a fact which the hotel forgot to tell us about.

The rooms are reasonably sized and equipped but the bathrooms are dated. Whereas the hotel in Paris has large bathrooms with modern fittings, the bathoom here looks tired and needs ripping out. The communal areas in the NY hotel are almost non-existant which means that it feels that you are alomst entering an appartment block rather than a hotel. Again, compare with the Plaza Athenee - the lobby and bar are impressive.

Overall, I wouldnt recommend staying at this hotel and will certaintly not be staying there again next time I am in NY.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff, quality of rooms
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AdamB1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2008

Third time in New York - best time so far. Besides the chilling weather we had a wonderful stay. The Plaza Athenee is a beautiful boutique hotel - I can highly recommend it. Our room was spacious and niely furnished - service is perfect from start to finish.

  • Liked — close to fantastic shopping
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank charlene100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2008

This is an elegant hotel with good service in a great location. It is on a pretty street on the upper East Side. The rooms are very nicely furnished and have a desk. The hotel is quiet and there are no hordes anywhere. The hotel restaurant is beautiful with delicious food. Throughout the hotel and restaurant, the staff is attentive but not intrusive. It is within walking distance of other great restaurants, Madison Avenue shops and Central Park. It is a quick cab ride to the museums. The concierge patiently provide multiple dinner and entertainment options and came up with last minute reservations to the theater and exclusive restaurants.

Yes, the bathrooms are small and the breakfast rather expensive. Also, we booked our rooms on the internet and did not get a suite for the price of a hotel room. If that is how you judge a hotel then this is probably not the place for you.

  • Liked — quiet, elegant, location
  • Disliked — The bathrooms are marble with nice fixtures but no storage.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SNPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2008

An excellent hotel with a European intimate feel. The rooms are very comfortable, though the bathroom products are a bit plain.

Service is very good. The concierge service is excellent and special mention should be made of Rick Cook and his colleagues for their knowledge and discernment in restaurant reservations.


Rajen Dalal, U.K.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OscarBaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#243 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#232 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#58 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#26 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#27 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Athenee New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Athenee New York

Property: Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
Address: 37 E 64th St, New York City, NY 10065-7003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in New York City
#77 Business Hotel in New York City
#147 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#167 Family Hotel in New York City
#190 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Plaza Athenee New York 5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a charming, residential street on 64th Street between Park and Madison Avenue, Hotel Plaza Athénée is an Upper East Side luxury boutique hotel that has been a home away from home to royalty, world leaders, celebrities, executives and discerning travelers since 1984. Ideally situated in the heart of Manhattan, guests are just minutes from Central Park, Madison Avenue boutiques, galleries and museums. Elegant and refined in every detail, rich in style, Hotel Plaza Athénée offers a grand yet inviting setting where classic French inspired style meets Manhattan's uptown chic. Hand-painted murals, Italian marble, French antiques and luxe furnishings create a gracious haven. Guestrooms and suites have a distinct residential style in character with the genteel neighborhood where it resides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza Athenee New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Plaza Athenee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing