We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
Ranked #184 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not 5 Star”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed in the hotel for one night. I selected the hotel because of the name and the neighborhood. The staff was very courteous and professional. However, the hotel is in very dated/worn condition. It is in major need of an upgrade or renovation. Everything from the interior of the elevators to the carpets in the common areas to the bathroom fixtures in the rooms are old, antiquated and not a 5 Star level. Further, there are some basic in-room amenities you expect from a 5 star hotel which are not present; such as powerful air-conditioning, tissues next to your bed, q tips and a shaving kit in the bathroom, and an iron and ironing board. Overall I regret having spent over $600 to spend the night there because I didn't feel that I got any value for my money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    156
    56
    27
    20
See reviews for
127
236
46
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Customer service at its best! Luxury hotels are always a bit pricey ,but this is well worth the cost. The suite is a nice size with a beautiful living room and dining room. The restaurant downstairs is nice but very expensive! The location is the Best! All the best shopping surrounding you and one block from Central Park. Restaurants galore with wonderful choices and you can see how the Upper East Siders really lives! If you like to walk, you can easily have a stroll to the Broadway district to take in a show. Less than 20 short blocks to the north is the MET! I can't say enough great things about this location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Storey-Myrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

A lot of the experience of the Hotel Plaza Athenee depends on the type of room you get. There is no question you will be welcomed by a fantastic front door staff. They will treat you as if you are returning to your exclusive upper East Side apartment. And that is really the feeling of this intimate hotel. I enjoy a bit more of a vibe ( even as a traditionalist ) in a lobby, bar and restaurant. But for many....this is really perfection. Speaking of perfection .....the location ( for quiet and shopping all at the same time) can't be beat. Many of the rooms in the upper price range have been remodeled. Otherwise, expect old world. There is nothing wrong with that.....but some of these tired bathrooms just don't cut it in this price range. An easy thing to fix is turndown. These days...I overlook (and its not easy) expensive internet but I've not stayed in a hotel at this level without water on the nightstand at turndown for years. Its the little things that turn a 4 star experince into 5. This should be easily be 5 and it can be...MUCH of the time!

Room Tip: Duluxe or higher for a remodeled room and bath. Even 64th is quiet so front or back isn't an is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renztem13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We chose the Hotel Plaza Athenee (HPA) as our wedding venue as we were looking for an intimate setting for a relatively small wedding (approximately 32 people). Their space for the ceremony was well suited for our size wedding and the string trio playing during the prelude and procession. The private dining room served as a great space for the cocktail hour and the adjoining main dining room was excellent for the dinner and dancing. Many thanks are extended to Mary Cawley in all of her assistance in facilitating all of the menu planning and arrangements for our wedding. Our guests gushed over the food and the upscale presentation of the entire room. I heard "lavish" used more than once. So, we achieved our goal to have a memorable wedding for ourselves and our guests.

As for the hotel itself, during our two-night stay we had a suite on the 15th floor. Beautiful and spacious is all I can say. We had a small terrace which was pleasant in the cool evening. Even though the hotel is only situated 1.5 blocks from Central Park, even at this floor there was no clear view of the park. However, we did have a nice view of midtown. Service was excellent and the concierge was extremely helpful with finding a replacement location for post-weddding day brunch when our original location closed its rooftop dining for the season.

Again, many thanks to Mary and all of the HPA staff for creating an amazing wedding weekend. If you are planning a small wedding in NYC, the HPA is the place to hold it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Great location, very friendly and courteous staff, fabulous room. We arrived in NYC at 7:30 am, 7hrs or so prior to check in time. The Athenee graciously checked us in and offered us a room as well as an upgrade!!! We were assigned a renovated room, which was luxurious. It was clean, bright, sunny and quiet. Right from the comfort of the bed,the bedding to the richness of the marble in the bathroom.
All staff was courteous & exceptionally good at their particular job.
Hotel stored our luggage in a secure area all day as our flight did not depart NYC until midnight. This allowed us to enjoy the city for a full day without the worry of secure storage. Safe for documents available at front desk also.
Downfalls: internet should be complimentary in-room with a 5 star luxury hotel in NYC. Would be nice if complimentary tea cart was available all morning or at least until 11 am
These two are minor services that need a tweeking. Otherwise we enjoyed our visit and would definitely stay again, it will be difficult to stay else where now!!!!
PS we did not get a chance to try the spa.

Room Tip: choose a renovated room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iriegirlontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel is in a great location and is very pretty but for a Leading Hotel, the amenities are lacking. The bathroom was very small and very dated. The shower was leaky, the hair dyer attached to the wall stopped working halfway through its use. A very uncomfortable space indeed. The Leading Hotel breakfast that is included for members was very lacking. By the time we ordered our breakfast, that was supposed to be free, it cost us close to 100.00
We have been to many Leading Hotels around the world and this Leading Hotel needs to revamp their policy on free breakfast. We won't be staying here again. The staff and service were great though......credit where credit is due!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LDoyle1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Great staff, very spacious guest rooms by Manhattan standards and excellent location on East 64th and Madison. Didn't get an opportunity to try out the spa services unfortunately.

Will definitely return over my next NYC visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mantelstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#194 of 467 in New York City
296 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#30 of 467 in New York City
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#76 of 467 in New York City
1,851 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#252 of 467 in New York City
775 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#28 of 467 in New York City
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Athenee New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Athenee New York

Property: Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
Address: 37 E 64th St, New York City, NY 10065-7003
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in New York City
#77 Business Hotel in New York City
#137 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#165 Family Hotel in New York City
#188 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Plaza Athenee New York 5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a charming, residential street on 64th Street between Park and Madison Avenue, Hotel Plaza Athénée is an Upper East Side luxury boutique hotel that has been a home away from home to royalty, world leaders, celebrities, executives and discerning travelers since 1984. Ideally situated in the heart of Manhattan, guests are just minutes from Central Park, Madison Avenue boutiques, galleries and museums. Elegant and refined in every detail, rich in style, Hotel Plaza Athénée offers a grand yet inviting setting where classic French inspired style meets Manhattan's uptown chic. Hand-painted murals, Italian marble, French antiques and luxe furnishings create a gracious haven. Guestrooms and suites have a distinct residential style in character with the genteel neighborhood where it resides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Plaza Athenee New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Plaza Athenee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing