We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dowdy, Drab, but not Dreadful (at least not yet).”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
Ranked #176 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
DC-USA
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Dowdy, Drab, but not Dreadful (at least not yet).”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Plaza Athenee is a well-recognized and respected worldwide brand. Its New York outpost is challenging that reputation. The lobby is unprepossessing, exuding a slight aura of being on the road to going to seed. The room we were assigned was an "upgrade" (via Andrew HarperTravel, our long time superb travel agent). It was a few square feet larger than a standard $900 room, and had a lovely view of an air shaft. Every, and I mean every, picture was hanging crookedly. The bathroom was virtually identical to an airport Holiday Inn's, with three exceptions: there was a thin veneer of granite surrounding a Corian countertop; the wall-mounted hair dryer operated with a "dead man's" switch which required clutching the handle to maintain the air flow, and the tub was about 18 inches deep, effectively precluding soaking in it.

We endured one night at The Plaza Athenee, and moved to The Four Seasons. For an extra $100, The contrast could not be starker -- like the difference between margarine and caviar.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank Harrydog44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    156
    56
    27
    20
See reviews for
126
236
46
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I came back to Plaza first time after the remodeling and I did not found it anymore. What I found instead is your average 5* hotel that you can get it all around the US.
I really try hard to get at least a small touch from the old glory of this landmark propriety. But the "Grandeur" has vanished, the history erased and the heart (which for a hotel should be the lobby) teared apart.
Nothing more than a small crooked hallway whcih is declared as a lobby with all the functions tucked in: concierge, bars, reception as in a an airport hotel.
The restaurant is still spacious but the food ... I forgot.
The so called american classic design had killed the soul of the Plaza.
Pity and happy those that had the chance to meet the old "Grand Dame".

Room Tip: No good views, they are restricted to the residential part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnlyHighRollers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athenee, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Athenee New York, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Kindly note that this was posted for the wrong hotel-this is not the Plaza on 59th Street and Central Park. Maybe on your next stay you chose to stay with us-we would be delighted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The customer service in this hotel is beyond excellent! Courteous, attentive, fast. One of the best things about it is the location on a tree-lined QUIET street, which is a big plus in New York. It's reasonably near the subway. I would have no hesitation to recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the street, which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 425CarolB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed in the hotel for one night. I selected the hotel because of the name and the neighborhood. The staff was very courteous and professional. However, the hotel is in very dated/worn condition. It is in major need of an upgrade or renovation. Everything from the interior of the elevators to the carpets in the common areas to the bathroom fixtures in the rooms are old, antiquated and not a 5 Star level. Further, there are some basic in-room amenities you expect from a 5 star hotel which are not present; such as powerful air-conditioning, tissues next to your bed, q tips and a shaving kit in the bathroom, and an iron and ironing board. Overall I regret having spent over $600 to spend the night there because I didn't feel that I got any value for my money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Customer service at its best! Luxury hotels are always a bit pricey ,but this is well worth the cost. The suite is a nice size with a beautiful living room and dining room. The restaurant downstairs is nice but very expensive! The location is the Best! All the best shopping surrounding you and one block from Central Park. Restaurants galore with wonderful choices and you can see how the Upper East Siders really lives! If you like to walk, you can easily have a stroll to the Broadway district to take in a show. Less than 20 short blocks to the north is the MET! I can't say enough great things about this location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Storey-Myrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

A lot of the experience of the Hotel Plaza Athenee depends on the type of room you get. There is no question you will be welcomed by a fantastic front door staff. They will treat you as if you are returning to your exclusive upper East Side apartment. And that is really the feeling of this intimate hotel. I enjoy a bit more of a vibe ( even as a traditionalist ) in a lobby, bar and restaurant. But for many....this is really perfection. Speaking of perfection .....the location ( for quiet and shopping all at the same time) can't be beat. Many of the rooms in the upper price range have been remodeled. Otherwise, expect old world. There is nothing wrong with that.....but some of these tired bathrooms just don't cut it in this price range. An easy thing to fix is turndown. These days...I overlook (and its not easy) expensive internet but I've not stayed in a hotel at this level without water on the nightstand at turndown for years. Its the little things that turn a 4 star experince into 5. This should be easily be 5 and it can be...MUCH of the time!

Room Tip: Duluxe or higher for a remodeled room and bath. Even 64th is quiet so front or back isn't an is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renztem13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We chose the Hotel Plaza Athenee (HPA) as our wedding venue as we were looking for an intimate setting for a relatively small wedding (approximately 32 people). Their space for the ceremony was well suited for our size wedding and the string trio playing during the prelude and procession. The private dining room served as a great space for the cocktail hour and the adjoining main dining room was excellent for the dinner and dancing. Many thanks are extended to Mary Cawley in all of her assistance in facilitating all of the menu planning and arrangements for our wedding. Our guests gushed over the food and the upscale presentation of the entire room. I heard "lavish" used more than once. So, we achieved our goal to have a memorable wedding for ourselves and our guests.

As for the hotel itself, during our two-night stay we had a suite on the 15th floor. Beautiful and spacious is all I can say. We had a small terrace which was pleasant in the cool evening. Even though the hotel is only situated 1.5 blocks from Central Park, even at this floor there was no clear view of the park. However, we did have a nice view of midtown. Service was excellent and the concierge was extremely helpful with finding a replacement location for post-weddding day brunch when our original location closed its rooftop dining for the season.

Again, many thanks to Mary and all of the HPA staff for creating an amazing wedding weekend. If you are planning a small wedding in NYC, the HPA is the place to hold it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#202 of 467 in New York City
296 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#30 of 467 in New York City
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#80 of 467 in New York City
1,846 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#255 of 467 in New York City
774 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#28 of 467 in New York City
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Athenee New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Athenee New York

Property: Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
Address: 37 E 64th St, New York City, NY 10065-7003
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in New York City
#77 Business Hotel in New York City
#132 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#165 Family Hotel in New York City
#188 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Plaza Athenee New York 5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a charming, residential street on 64th Street between Park and Madison Avenue, Hotel Plaza Athénée is an Upper East Side luxury boutique hotel that has been a home away from home to royalty, world leaders, celebrities, executives and discerning travelers since 1984. Ideally situated in the heart of Manhattan, guests are just minutes from Central Park, Madison Avenue boutiques, galleries and museums. Elegant and refined in every detail, rich in style, Hotel Plaza Athénée offers a grand yet inviting setting where classic French inspired style meets Manhattan's uptown chic. Hand-painted murals, Italian marble, French antiques and luxe furnishings create a gracious haven. Guestrooms and suites have a distinct residential style in character with the genteel neighborhood where it resides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza Athenee New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Plaza Athenee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing