We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful can't begin to describe it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Ranked #169 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2008

I was supposed to stay at the Lowell but since they were full on short notice, they recommended the Plaza Athenee. Rooms were dark, dingy and tiny for a premium price. The service was awful like they didn't even care. Good location in the Upper East Side and the bar was ok. Didn't try the restaurant because the hotel put us off so much. The purpose was to see the Radio City Rockette Christmas show and Macys Thanksgiving Parade and we did. They were both worth it!

  • Stayed: November 2003
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newyorklover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

517 - 523 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2008

Loved every minute of it! We were spoiled and enjoyed the intimate surroundings. Beautiful room - not very large (but that is NY I guess).
We will be back for Christmas shopping.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lindaw101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2008

Thoroughly enjoyed my recent stay at the Plaza Athenee. Spacious, comfortable room which was elegantly furnished, and with modern creature comforts (flatscreen+DVD player+ ipod docking station). Most importantly, room was quiet, with no street noise. Air con worked perfectly....Hotel reception, bar and restaurant have air of timeless discrete luxury, and were exceptionally well maintained.
Staff were at all times attentive, courteous and well-informed, and focused on the well-being of guests.
Would strongly recommend hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PNLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2008

There is much to recommend the Plaza Athenee: comfortable beds, quiet location, and attentive staff.

But, alas, even such a lovely place as the P-A loses its (expensive) luster when it can't get something as prosaic as its heating, cooling, and ventilation under control.

Wall-mounted thermostats indicate that both heating and cooling are available in the guest rooms. But after one warm, stuffy night in our suite, we had to conclude that the air-conditioning wasn't working. When we called the front desk to ask how to switch on the AC, an employee was dispatched with two laundry-hamper-sized cooling units, one for each room. He then opened the window, stuck a hose out of it, and patched the hose in place with cardboard and duct tape. And there the units sat in our suite for the rest of our visit, like two R2D2 robots -- inelegant and obtrusive obstacles in our otherwise lovely bedrooms.

The ventilation problems continued in the hotel lobby. One is greeted by strong aromas that our children dubbed "Chinese restaurant" -- an oily, pervasive cooking odor. We were met by these odors morning, noon, and night for three days, and they hardly encouraged us to stay on the first floor for drinks or dinner.

We paid a premium for the hotel's "only" connecting rooms, each of which had a view of a brick wall about three feet away from our windows. Okay, in New York it happens. But, combined with the first-floor cooking odors and the third-class "air conditioning," we have to conclude that our money could have been better spent on the Upper East Side.

God help anyone booked here during the summer!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank orbitsgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2008

We came in early for a business meeting to spend a weekend together in New York. Very quaint hotel where the service was spot on. We were spent from our red-eye and they were able to let us sleep in another room until ours was ready.
Small things are a bit dated like the toiletries, TV and older scale in the bathroom.
If you prefer more modern, then I would shop around.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SofonisbaSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2008

This was my first time staying at this luxury hotel in New York's Upper West side and it was worth every penny. We booked a package through expedia.com for air and hotel and were more than pleasantly surprised. Everything was very prompt, the people were remarkable friendly and made us feel as though we had known them forever. I will go back. The doormen Angel and Tommy were awesome.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bess211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2008

I recently spent a weekend here and really enjoyed a quiet repose in luxurious comfort. I was on the top floor in a huge room with magnificent views of the upper east side and the city beyond. The room was elegantly appointed with French furniture, mirrored closet doors, a small kitchenette, and a plush bed. I loved the huge bathroom, which had pink marble walls, an enormous shower, and even a bidet.

On Saturday, I enjoyed a Broadway play (Pinter's The Homecoming) and managed to hit a sale at Barney's--all within walking distance of the hotel. Later I had dinner at the hotel with a friend.The dining room is one of the prettiest in Manhattan. The murano glass chandeliers and mirrored alcoves reflect shimmering candlelight. The menu had some very creative offerings, served ably by a mature, professional staff. On Sunday morning, I had a light breakfast in the Bar Seine and then retired to my room to read the New York Times. Though the hotel is in the heart of the Madison Avenue shopping district and just steps from museums and Central Park, I had a hard time getting out of that relaxing retreat! But when I did, the staff helped me plan my trip and arrange for transit.

In sum, I found this the perfect hotel for a relaxing weekend in New York. It was worth every penny!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bottsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#35 of 469 in New York City
1,629 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#86 of 469 in New York City
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#285 of 469 in New York City
809 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#33 of 469 in New York City
751 reviews
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#174 of 469 in New York City
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Athenee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Athenee

Address: 37 E 64th St, New York City, NY 10065-7003
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in New York City
#77 Business Hotel in New York City
#126 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#163 Family Hotel in New York City
#186 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £210 - £701 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Plaza Athenee 5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a charming, residential street on 64th Street between Park and Madison Avenue, Hotel Plaza Athénée is an Upper East Side luxury boutique hotel that has been a home away from home to royalty, world leaders, celebrities, executives and discerning travelers since 1984. Ideally situated in the heart of Manhattan, guests are just minutes from Central Park, Madison Avenue boutiques, galleries and museums. Elegant and refined in every detail, rich in style, Hotel Plaza Athénée offers a grand yet inviting setting where classic French inspired style meets Manhattan's uptown chic. Hand-painted murals, Italian marble, French antiques and luxe furnishings create a gracious haven. Guestrooms and suites have a distinct residential style in character with the genteel neighborhood where it resides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza Athenee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Athenee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing