We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
Ranked #194 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Outstanding Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

From check-in to check-out, my one night stay at the Plaza Athenee was superb. I arrived very early and my room was not yet cleaned. No worries -- I was directed to the lounge and treated to a cappuccino and newspaper whilst I waited. An hour later, the manager collected me and took me to my room, a lovely large guest room. The room was luxurious, with top shelf bath products. I dined at the restaurant which served up one of the best steaks I have had in New York. The bed was very comfortable and I slept very well. My only regret was that I stayed only 1 night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fortheus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    142
    56
    23
    18
See reviews for
111
221
44
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bricklinng
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

My family was invited to a dinner at Plaza Athenee and elected to stay there for convenience. On day of booking, standard room price on web site was $695, Orbitz was $595 and Hotels Tonight (that night only, 2 months before our date) had it for $375. I got "special" rate of $495. Opportunism in this business is rampant and annoying, but fleecing and lying are not.

First, the positive: Plaza A put on an excellent dinner in a private room. Food and service were excellent. Location on upper East side is fine.

Next, the medium: Rooms, furniture were OK. Rooms are small, fixtures are slightly worn and dated, lighting is dim, but OK.

Next, the real Plaza Athenee experience which was really unprofessional and awful:

We booked connecting rooms with standard 3PM checkin. At 3:15, one was ready and desk person (passing knowledge of English) said of second, "cleaners are in the room and it will be ready in 15 minutes". Wife went to first room, noted no cleaners in second room; I parked car and returned at 3:45. Still not ready. I asked if there was something else and was told only a 2 bedroom suite at $3500 per night. At 5:00 PM we saw bellman enter connecting room and remove luggage from prior occupant--no cleaning had been done. Finally ready at 5:30. The hotel lies.

Upon checkout the next day I looked at my bill to see charges as follows:
1. $26.00 for luggage help on the way in. I have never seen a charge for helping with luggage and if a hotel wants to charge, you might think they would tell you in advance. Not the Plaza A. Remember, it is unprofessionally run and just wants as much of your money as it can get.
2. $28.00 for luggage help on the way out.
3. $58.00 for parking a car when I had parked the car myself at a garage a block away
4. Two $8.00 charges for minibar. Not only did we have nothing, we had actually had housekeeping empty the minibar so we could use the frig for storing food for children. So there was not even one item in the room--still they charged.

Think this is just a fluke? One member of our group removed a glass from her minibar to use for water and was charged $14.10. Another had a "bellman charge" of $5.00 with no idea why. This latter person never booked the special rate of $495 and instead got a room on Orbitz for $434.

If you are thinking about staying at this hotel, prepare to find an "OK" physical plant operated by an unprofessional staff who will first try every trick to get as much money from you as they can for the room and then further pad this by fleecing as much as possible by any means, ethical or not, all the while grinning.

Room Tip: Try the London on 54th street. Really nice hotel with great rooms and suites. Nothing in NY is cheap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bricklinng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athenee, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Athenee New York, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hotel Plaza Athenee. We greatly value the feedback you have provided which we have reviewed with the departments mentioned.
As you may know, hotels have standardized charges for various services to include porterage.
I have reached out to you directly through email and look forward to having the opportunity to review your challenges in person.
Your patronage is much appreciated and we hope to have you back at the Hotel Plaza Athenee in the future.

With kind regards,


Anne-Juliette Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuessnacht am Rigi, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

A perfect location in the middle of Town. Very central, you can walk everywhere. It's quite, our room had a balcony where we enjoyed the sun and the skyline. Room is big enough separate kitchenette and large closet. Breakfast is perfect, we enjoyed the granola with fresh berries and yoghurt. The staff is very helpful and friendly. We will come back. Stayed in room 1510.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1510.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViaVolta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

From check in to getting into the cab back to the airport our stay at the Plaza Athenee was perfection.

We celebrated our anniversary in NYC and he hotel made our stay memorable, from the personal greetings to chocolate dipped strawberries - all fantastic.
Room was grand and bathroom was beautiful. Plenty of storage and good amenities too.
Probably the best sleeps I've had in NYC in over 30 visits.

Situated on the quiet E64th street between Madison & Park the location is perfect for a walk into Central Park or getting the bus down 5th Ave. 59th Street on the 4,5,6 line has an express platform stop so you can get all the way downtown (or way uptown) in super quick time. You will also find the F train right around the block another line taking through the heart of midtown to Macy's doorsteps then onto LES and Brooklyn.

Its hard to say you feel at home in a hotel but here we did. No hassles, just understated perfection all round.

For the right deal I would instantly stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit more for a larger room, worth every penny folks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were greeted personally by Sebastian the GM who was professional, warm & down to earth.
The Hotel was charming & elegant with super service & a Boutique style.
It was my Wife's 50th Birthday & we were upgraded to a magnificent suite over looking a stunning tree lined street. A chocolate cake was delivered to add an extra special touch.
Room service was excellent, food delicious, hot & quickly delivered.

Rick the concierge was outstanding, booking us the " Taste of Harlem Tour" which was a highlight of our trip; he also assisted us with other reservations etc - nothing was too much.
Over all we would highly recommend this Hotel for service & location.

Room Tip: Request a room at the front of the Hotel for a quiet street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We were very impressed with the calibre of this hotel. We stayed for nearly a week and were extremely comfortable. The fit out of the room was tasteful and fresh and quite spacious with a little entrance hallway. Service was consistently professional and friendly with a European flavour. And as for the location? Just wonderful. Being between 2 avenues is so quiet and this is a very convenient upper East location with excellent restaurants nearby. Ask the fabulous concierge Rick for recommendations. They were faultless.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ullaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

This was a very nice hotel, but not quite the 5-star luxury I was expecting. It is a small, quiet boutique hotel, which is great if you want a more private, homey vibe, but I missed the grander scale of hotels like The Plaza and the buzzy nightlife of The Carlyle. Rooms are hit or miss. I received a triple-upgrade to a Deluxe room, which was wonderful with a huge marble foyer and double closets! However, my dad supposedly received the same upgrade, yet his room was smaller and much more average, nothing fancy. Bar Seine is very cozy and offers yummy food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. However, I didn't think the high prices were justified for a relatively casual bar/lounge setting. The one exception is their Afternoon Tea- you get a LOT of food, especially desserts! The location of this hotel is one of it's greatest assets, in the heart of the Upper East Side while at the same time walking distance to midtown- and with Chanel a few doors down! Overall, I recommend it if you're looking for a more genteel, quiet place to stay as opposed to a grand deluxe landmark like the Plaza or Carlyle (sorry to keep namedropping those two, they're just my faves!)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexSings2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#257 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#27 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#255 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#54 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#25 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Athenee New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Athenee New York

Property: Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
Address: 37 E 64th St, New York City, NY 10065-7003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in New York City
#77 Business Hotel in New York City
#135 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#168 Family Hotel in New York City
#191 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Plaza Athenee New York 5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a charming, residential street on 64th Street between Park and Madison Avenue, Hotel Plaza Athénée is an Upper East Side luxury boutique hotel that has been a home away from home to royalty, world leaders, celebrities, executives and discerning travelers since 1984. Ideally situated in the heart of Manhattan, guests are just minutes from Central Park, Madison Avenue boutiques, galleries and museums. Elegant and refined in every detail, rich in style, Hotel Plaza Athénée offers a grand yet inviting setting where classic French inspired style meets Manhattan's uptown chic. Hand-painted murals, Italian marble, French antiques and luxe furnishings create a gracious haven. Guestrooms and suites have a distinct residential style in character with the genteel neighborhood where it resides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers and DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ so you can book your Hotel Plaza Athenee New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Plaza Athenee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing