We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Luxurious Stay on the Upper East Side”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
Ranked #216 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Luxurious Stay on the Upper East Side”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My partner and I travelled to New York in April and Hotel Plaza Athenee was simply superb. From reception to check-out, the hospitality was exemplary. Our room was immaculate and spacious, with elegant soft yellow and marble decor. The dimly-lit and cozy bar downstairs is an excellent spot for a nightcap, and the morning coffee in the lobby was a nice touch. Perfectly located on quiet and tree-lined 64th St., but just steps to a multitude of destinations. We will most certainly be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athenee, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Athenee New York, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your most appreciated comments. We are absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It would be my pleasure to assist you with your future reservations. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at ajmaurice@plaza-athenee.com
We look forward to your return and wish you a wonderful remainder of the summer.

With kind regards,

Anne-Juliette Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    156
    56
    27
    20
See reviews for
121
229
46
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

From the lovely floral arrangements to the unfailingly courteous and helpful staff,this is a wonderful hotel for those who want a quiet and tasteful small hotel apart from the hustle bustle of tourist sites. The location is on a charming tree-lined street in a residential neighborhood within easy walking distance of Central Park. Restaurant and bar prices are well above average,but nice restaurants are within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athenee, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Athenee New York, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for your lovely posting. We are so delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. We also appreciate your very kind mention of our flowers, which we take great pride of.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Plaza Athenee soon.

With kind regards and many thanks,

Anne-Juliette Maurice
ajmaurice@plaza-athenee.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Upon recommendation from our travel agent we spent 5 days here in June. It was lovely, very pricey, but lovely. I feel like, although the location was great, a few blocks from Central Park, in a quiet neighborhood, it may have been too far out of the way for our first visit. It was a trek to get anywhere. Attentive service. Outrageously expensive drinks at the bar. $38 for a martini! As a traveled Los Angeles native that even shocked me.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Plaza Athenee is one of our favorite hotel while visiting New York City. The hotel is very well located in a quiet neighborhood and provides a very professional service similar to the one offered at the Plaza Athenee in Paris. The room service is always punctual and impeccable and the breakfast offered first class.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerome S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athenee, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Athenee New York, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for sharing your comments during your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our food and beverage and have made the Hotel Plaza Athenee your home in NYC.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Plaza Athenee and thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.

Wishing you a wonderful summer.

Sincerely,


Anne-Juliette Maurice
ajmaurice@plaza-athenee.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
146 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Plaza Athenee (do not confuse with the Plaza, owned by ever-tasteless Donald Trump - the Plaza Athenee is in a different/higher category altogether) is an Upper East Side gem, tucked away on 64th in-between Madison and Park Avenues.

The PA (Plaza Athenee) embodies what is best about traditional standards and hotels from the best tradition of hotel-keeping. The service is impeccable - always courteous, always helpful, smiling, nothing too much trouble; doormen who quickly recognize and welcome guests and who seem to know your name more or less immediately. Public rooms that are elegant and on a personal scale with attentive staff. Bedrooms that are elegant, well appointed and for large for New York. Excellent bathrooms in the renovated rooms - ask for rooms with a walk-in shower and you won't be disappointed. Getting taxis on either Madison or Park is not bad. For a short trip to somewhere nearby the hotel may offer a complimentary use of the hotel car; they did that for us to get to a restaurant and it was much appreciated.

I booked two deluxe rooms and my comments reflect the deluxe rooms I saw. I assume similar points can be made about the standard and superior rooms.

A few smaller quibbles: (a) internet access in the bedrooms is an unacceptable $17/day, which is unreasonable when many hotels provide it free and could appropriately be free in a hotel with room costs at these levels; (b) the bathrooms in rooms that have not yet been renovated are small; (c) older rooms are not well provided with sockets for powering phones, iPads etc, though the renovated rooms are fine for this.

A bigger quibble is the approach to service charge in the restaurant: they automatically add a 20% service charge to all bills and then if you pay by credit card (for example a business expense you don't want to charge to a personal hotel bill) they add two(!) lines for further gratuities (a line for the waiter and another one for the captain), but don't show that 20% has already been added in to the price. This is not a worthy practice for a hotel that is in other respects operating at a higher level. It could certainly be considered deceptive and shoddy; at the least it is greedy. I am very surprised that they do this.

Overlooking the stated negatives, this is overall a superb, smaller-scale, classy hotel with excellent service and is a well-located true delight.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room with a walk-in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GRW720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Loved this hotel, calm, sophisticated, gorgeous, elegant rooms and overall very good. And you are in the best shopping area in all of New York. But a little expensive which I guess for NY is the norm.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PickyPerson82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at Plaza Athenee Hotel, during our trip to NY city in April, 2011. The view from the windows was not breathtaking, but the room was tidy, well furnished and very clean. The hotel staff were very polite and always around, but, yet, very discreet. They had a magical way to find a taxi for us, even during rush hours! The guys from the concierge desk managed to book seats for a helicopter sightseeing, after choosing the day with the best weather, and for the greatest Broadway show! Breakfast and dinner were absolutely delicious and we could have a late breakfast in our room, with only a small extra charge. Our shoes were polished every night and a newspaper was every morning outside our door!
We had a great time and we'd sure come back, next time we"ll be in the Big Apple!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna-Mihalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athenee, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Athenee New York, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this lovely feedback regarding your recent stay. We greatly appreciate the praise provided towards our staff.
We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit in the Big Apple and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Plaza Athenee in the future.

Sincerely,

Anne-Juliette Maurice
ajmaurice@plaza-athenee.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#221 of 468 in New York City
290 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#72 of 468 in New York City
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#28 of 468 in New York City
1,448 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#239 of 468 in New York City
769 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#35 of 468 in New York City
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Athenee New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Athenee New York

Property: Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
Address: 37 E 64th St, New York City, NY 10065-7003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in New York City
#77 Business Hotel in New York City
#153 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#167 Family Hotel in New York City
#190 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Plaza Athenee New York 5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a charming, residential street on 64th Street between Park and Madison Avenue, Hotel Plaza Athénée is an Upper East Side luxury boutique hotel that has been a home away from home to royalty, world leaders, celebrities, executives and discerning travelers since 1984. Ideally situated in the heart of Manhattan, guests are just minutes from Central Park, Madison Avenue boutiques, galleries and museums. Elegant and refined in every detail, rich in style, Hotel Plaza Athénée offers a grand yet inviting setting where classic French inspired style meets Manhattan's uptown chic. Hand-painted murals, Italian marble, French antiques and luxe furnishings create a gracious haven. Guestrooms and suites have a distinct residential style in character with the genteel neighborhood where it resides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza Athenee New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Plaza Athenee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing