We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in NYC!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Ranked #197 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Excellent hotel! And Rick Cook, Chef Concierge, makes the difference.
Once you try Plaza Athenee, you'll never go somewhere else.
The perfect position, the kindness of the team, the beauty of the rooms, the quality of all the services... Simply fantastic!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D_C_P_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athenee, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Athenee, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at the Plaza Athenee, New York.
We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding Rick, our Concierge whom we agree, can work wonders.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Kind regards,

Anne-Juliette Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

307 - 313 of 702 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Quiet location but near by most of the places we want to go by walking .
Services is great
The room is nice , bed excellent ..bath room is disappointed
I don't mind expensive food but don't think their hotel breakfast is reasonable
For breakfast I don't think I like to pay over 50 bucks .
Small hotel , not much going on but still remain basic luxury .
After stayed at the Plaza ..I feel plaza athenee is old & small but I am happy stayed there .
Got free zoo tickets & Victoria garden activities ..happy !!
Service is nice very basic nice

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Other reviewers have commented glowingly on the location, decor, service, dining, atmosphere, amenities, etc.; they are all quite right. I would only add that this level of excellence does not occur by accident; it can only be the result of leadership and teamwork. We know we can count on the Plaza Athenee to always provide that extra effort, which is why we keep coming back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good; the suites are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shutterlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athenee, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Athenee, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your most kind feedback regarding our team. The Plaza Athenee family is indeed very special and committed to ensure each of our guests are well looked after.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Plaza Athenee and thank you again for your lovely comments which our team will read with delight.

Kind regards,

Anne-Juliette Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I loved The Plaza, the location is fantastic between Park and Madison but situated on a quit piece of elegance in NYC.
I am a world traveler and am very particular with service, linens and luxuries. The Plaza had it all for me and i will be back with my family very soon
Thank you so much Plaza Athenee . Love you and all of your professional staff, gabrielle

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabrielledestries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My partner and I travelled to New York in April and Hotel Plaza Athenee was simply superb. From reception to check-out, the hospitality was exemplary. Our room was immaculate and spacious, with elegant soft yellow and marble decor. The dimly-lit and cozy bar downstairs is an excellent spot for a nightcap, and the morning coffee in the lobby was a nice touch. Perfectly located on quiet and tree-lined 64th St., but just steps to a multitude of destinations. We will most certainly be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nadine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athenee, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Athenee, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your most appreciated comments. We are absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It would be my pleasure to assist you with your future reservations. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at ajmaurice@plaza-athenee.com
We look forward to your return and wish you a wonderful remainder of the summer.

With kind regards,

Anne-Juliette Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

From the lovely floral arrangements to the unfailingly courteous and helpful staff,this is a wonderful hotel for those who want a quiet and tasteful small hotel apart from the hustle bustle of tourist sites. The location is on a charming tree-lined street in a residential neighborhood within easy walking distance of Central Park. Restaurant and bar prices are well above average,but nice restaurants are within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athenee, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Athenee, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for your lovely posting. We are so delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. We also appreciate your very kind mention of our flowers, which we take great pride of.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Plaza Athenee soon.

With kind regards and many thanks,

Anne-Juliette Maurice
ajmaurice@plaza-athenee.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Upon recommendation from our travel agent we spent 5 days here in June. It was lovely, very pricey, but lovely. I feel like, although the location was great, a few blocks from Central Park, in a quiet neighborhood, it may have been too far out of the way for our first visit. It was a trek to get anywhere. Attentive service. Outrageously expensive drinks at the bar. $38 for a martini! As a traveled Los Angeles native that even shocked me.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#36 of 470 in New York City
1,660 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#89 of 470 in New York City
1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#301 of 470 in New York City
815 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#32 of 470 in New York City
757 reviews
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#132 of 470 in New York City
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Athenee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Athenee

Address: 37 E 64th St, New York City, NY 10065-7003
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in New York City
#77 Business Hotel in New York City
#84 Family Hotel in New York City
#145 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#186 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £195 - £693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Plaza Athenee 5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a charming, residential street on 64th Street between Park and Madison Avenue, Hotel Plaza Athénée is an Upper East Side luxury boutique hotel that has been a home away from home to royalty, world leaders, celebrities, executives and discerning travelers since 1984. Ideally situated in the heart of Manhattan, guests are just minutes from Central Park, Madison Avenue boutiques, galleries and museums. Elegant and refined in every detail, rich in style, Hotel Plaza Athénée offers a grand yet inviting setting where classic French inspired style meets Manhattan's uptown chic. Hand-painted murals, Italian marble, French antiques and luxe furnishings create a gracious haven. Guestrooms and suites have a distinct residential style in character with the genteel neighborhood where it resides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza Athenee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Athenee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing