We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Ranked #26 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was the first time I had stayed at Loews Regency and honestly, this will now always be my go-to hotel when I am in town. The hotel staff were extremely accommodating, warm and very personable. The hotel room was large, beautifully designed and recently renovated. Great night sleep -- all the amenities you could ask for. Plus, they have a great restaurant downstairs, which has a great menu, and a coffee shop around the corner. An exceptional stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissCIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for the kind words SwissCIS. We would love Loews Regency to be your go-to hotel when you are in New York. As you mentioned our rooms are newly renovated, beautifully designed, and extremely spacious. We also have a great restaurant in The Regency Bar & Grill with Executive Chef Dan Silverman at the helm. We're happy we could make your stay perfect, and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,053
    207
    73
    31
    17
See reviews for
454
416
53
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I'm so happy the Regency is open again. I've always loved this hotel and I love it even more after the renovations. The service is top-notch and the rooms are beautiful. From now on, when I travel to NY, I'm staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback Chad H. We are thrilled to know that you are a long-term guest and that you're pleased with the renovations and love it even more. We think the hotel is even more beautiful after the renovation and our team members are very excited to be back. Thanks for continuing to keep us as your home-away-from-home in New York City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We've been for six nights at the Regency and love the quality, cleanliness, location, and readiness of employees. The rooms are updated and have the basics for the comfort of leisure tourists. Highly recommend it to anyone staying in a prime area of Manhattan without spending proportionately so.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valmyr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your review Valmyr M and we're thrilled we surprised you! As you mentioned our rooms are large and comfortable and have all the amenities a leisure guest would need, without the five-star price tag. Our team members are also ready to assist with any guest needs anytime, day or night. Please come back and see us soon so we can surprise you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed for a few nights and I have to say everything from the front door, the check in, to the room and the restaurant were first class all the way. Even a lovely little card and treats to welcome us to the hotel (and new treats each night from Sant Ambroeus!! Delicious!). The rooms are big and spacious, and the bathrooms are great - bright, space for his and hers, and great amenities. I don't normally like to use hotel amenities but these were worth using (and keeping!). Also, I have to say, ladies, leave the hair dryer at home, they've good ones here!!
At one point we needed some documents printed at the last minute. This was done before we even thought the message was fully delivered - the service is not only fantastic, but it's a real reliable team across the board.
Overall, I can't wait to go back. Who knew city living so easy, elegant, and fun. Loved it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PoshTash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments PoshTash! Our in-room amenities are courtesy of Julien Farel, our Salon & Spa partner within the hotel. We also think they are wonderful! The in-room hair dryer is also a Julien Farel professional-grade hair dryer, so you are absolutely right when you say to leave the hair dryer at home...you can just use ours! We also indulge in the Sant Ambroeus treats...they are so delicious! We're happy we could offer you a first class stay and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llanelli
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here for four nights just before Easter. Really friendly check in, our grandchildren were given a little bear each, which was a lovely touch. The rooms are tastefully decorated, spacious and spotlessly clean, we would have liked to take the bed home with us, the tv in the bathroom mirror was fab. Everything you need is there from toiletries, free safe, iron, hair dryer. The staff are very friendly and helpful, a special mention to John McKay who was always there with a smile no matter what time of day. Can't comment about the restaurant we didn't eat at the hotel mainly as we were out very early and in very late after sightseeing. Had a really great stay and will definitely return in the future. The location is ideal for both sightseeing and shopping being a short walk from Central Park and 5th Avenue

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bowjoLlanelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thanks so much for your feedback bowjoLlanelli! We're so happy you and your family had a great time with us just before Easter. We also think our beds are fabulous and we receive many comments about how comfortable they are. We'll certainly pass on the great feedback to John McKay! Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed 5 nights at the Loews over the Easter weekend. Friendly check-in but very inconsistent service afterwards:

We were asked to have turndown service but only received it on three of the five nights for one person (one side of the bed was never touched nor did they provide any water for the second person). Rooms are spacious but bathrooms very tiny. I was also surprise to see shower curtains in a newly renovated hotel. TVs in the bathrooms are useless as you can’t see anything when standing in front of the basin.

Lot of noise on the corridors from housekeeping smashing doors in the morning and evening as well as from elevators.

We have been to the gym daily. There was bottled water on the first day but not on the days after.

Due to the lack of service we didn’t use any other services at the hotel. Grumpy staff at check-out and the bell desk when storing our luggage.

Would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay far away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jochenwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian N, Director of Sales at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and I am really sorry your stay was less than perfect. It seems that the service you received was inconsistent and that is certainly not what we strive to achieve. I would be grateful if you would contact me personally to discuss your stay so we can learn from our mistakes and hopefully make up for them in the future when you return to New York.
Adrian
anorbury@loewshotels.com
212 339 4115
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

From start to finish the Loews Regency excelled! We were upgraded to a suite as our original booking was unavailable. Everything was perfect... The rooms are beautiful, bar and restaurant provide great food and service. Lovely small touches for our children... A bowl of jelly beans, cuddly toy rabbit and carrot cake left for them on Easter weekend. Check in/check out seamless. Location is the best... So close to the park. This will be our hotel of choice from now on.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girlreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian N, Director of Sales at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us over the beautiful Easter weekend. We welcomed many families this weekend and are thrilled you liked the special touches for the kids. We're also pleased to hear you'll be back. Thank you for taking the time to review us - it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#9 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#27 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#30 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,514 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#54 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Regency New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Regency New York Hotel

Property: Loews Regency New York Hotel
Address: 540 Park Avenue, 61st Street, New York City, NY 10065-7366
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New York City
#8 Business Hotel in New York City
#9 Green Hotel in New York City
#39 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#51 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Loews Regency New York Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the benefits of Midtown Manhattan at your fingertips, with a Park Avenue address. The re-imagination of the new Loews Regency New York hotel sets a new standard in luxury and thoughtful design with the traveler's needs in mind. With thoughtful service genuinely delivered, our goal is to make sure you can focus on your plans while visiting New York City, whether it is for work or play. Let us take care of the little but all-important details, like complimentary pressing of two garments upon arrival. (Welcome to wrinkle-free travel.) Leave your hairdryer at home-here at Loews Regency New York, there is a Julien Farel professional hair dryer in every room. And if you're fed up of being charged for Internet access, take heart. Here, you'll find free Wi-Fi, for up to three devices, throughout the hotel, including in your room. Even better, you only have to log in once. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Superbreak UK, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Regency New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency New York City
Regency Hotel New York
New York City Regency
Loews New York City
New York City Loews
Regency Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing