We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Ranked #35 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I will preface this with the fact that I am huge Regency fan. I spent many Thanksgivings here as a kid and it is just one of those NY places that is dear to my heart. That said, I spent over a month here prior to the renovation and was actually one of the last guests to leave before they shut it down. At that point, I was disgusted (see my earlier review). Usually a "renovation" in ny is just some nice marble and a whole bunch of attitude. I have to say that the REGENCY has knocked it out of the park, and I mean that in a good way. To me this was always the ultimate nyc hotel and they have made it even better. Rooms are incredible, management is top notch and accessible and the staff (some have been here over 20 years and still remember your name) is the best in new york. It may be a little more than some of the other five star hotels but the regency is one of the few hotels I have ever stayed in that is perfect on every level.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mullynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for your review mullnyc! Thank you for being such a loyal guest of Loews Regency for all these years and for coming back after the renovation. We agree with you - our renovation was much more of a re-imagination and we're thrilled to be back. We are extremely proud of our new hotel and with our team that includes both new and returning team members, we are working hard to become the best hotel in New York City. Thank you for your support over the years and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,476 - 1,482 of 1,661 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

The "new" Regency, recently reopened after renovations is a vast improvement over the old hotel. The new rooms are bright, more spacious, and a bit quirky in the sense that each of the rooms has something a bit different, without any seeming rhyme or reason. Nothing drastic - but one will have electric controls for shades, another not, but will have larger closet space. So get out your book for keeping notes on which rooms you prefer. Room service is expensive as with most NYC hotels, however it is worth it. The service is impeccable, the food from the same menu as the new Regency restaurant.
For those not familiar with NYC the Regency is within a few blocks walk to subways (5th Ave. AND Lexington). Barney's, Bergdorf Goodman are a couple of blocks away. Bloomingdales a 10 minute walk, and Hermes if you must is on the same street on Madison.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsilver315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for the great feedback bsilver315! We are extremely proud of the renovation and our new product and we're glad that you agree that it was worth the wait! And you are right that many of our rooms differ in layout and design based on room type and also location in the hotel. We have many guests that do have favorite rooms and specifically request these rooms each time they come to stay. We are happy to accommodate! Please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Was just recently in NYC to see If/Then and see some friends and stayed at this Amazing hotel. This was my first time staying at a Loews and it wont be my last. The room was amzazing,....roomy, clean and the bed was amazing. The staff were friendly and went out of there way to ensure your stay was amazing. Had a Manhattan at the bar and it was Amazing. Simply put...this was an Amazing experience and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

We're happy to hear you had an amazing stay at Loews Regency Bradley B and even happier to hear this will not be your last stay at a Loews Hotel. We hope you enjoyed If/Then with Idina Menzel....we're hear she's amazing also! Come back and see us again and we'll show you another amazing stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Great to have the Regency open again and even better that most of the staff is back. The service is outstanding and the people like Robert Alana at the front desk really make sure that everything is taken care of and that you are treated like an old friend and not just another guest.

There may be better hotels out there but there are not better people or service as represented by Robert Alana or Oscar Otoya (front door). First class all the way....

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for the wonderful words for our team members Daniel V. Here at Loews Regency we see our guests as friends, and we love when our friends return to see us! We will certainly pass on the great feedback to Robert Alana and Oscar Otoya and ensure they are properly recognized as outstanding team members. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was the first time I had stayed at Loews Regency and honestly, this will now always be my go-to hotel when I am in town. The hotel staff were extremely accommodating, warm and very personable. The hotel room was large, beautifully designed and recently renovated. Great night sleep -- all the amenities you could ask for. Plus, they have a great restaurant downstairs, which has a great menu, and a coffee shop around the corner. An exceptional stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwissCIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for the kind words SwissCIS. We would love Loews Regency to be your go-to hotel when you are in New York. As you mentioned our rooms are newly renovated, beautifully designed, and extremely spacious. We also have a great restaurant in The Regency Bar & Grill with Executive Chef Dan Silverman at the helm. We're happy we could make your stay perfect, and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I'm so happy the Regency is open again. I've always loved this hotel and I love it even more after the renovations. The service is top-notch and the rooms are beautiful. From now on, when I travel to NY, I'm staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback Chad H. We are thrilled to know that you are a long-term guest and that you're pleased with the renovations and love it even more. We think the hotel is even more beautiful after the renovation and our team members are very excited to be back. Thanks for continuing to keep us as your home-away-from-home in New York City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We've been for six nights at the Regency and love the quality, cleanliness, location, and readiness of employees. The rooms are updated and have the basics for the comfort of leisure tourists. Highly recommend it to anyone staying in a prime area of Manhattan without spending proportionately so.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valmyr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your review Valmyr M and we're thrilled we surprised you! As you mentioned our rooms are large and comfortable and have all the amenities a leisure guest would need, without the five-star price tag. Our team members are also ready to assist with any guest needs anytime, day or night. Please come back and see us soon so we can surprise you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Upper East Side
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Hotel Plaza Athenee
#197 of 470 in New York City
702 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#89 of 470 in New York City
1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 470 in New York City
2,963 reviews
Midtown
The Langham New York Fifth Avenue
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Regency New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Regency New York Hotel

Address: 540 Park Avenue, 61st Street, New York City, NY 10065-7366
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New York City
#8 Business Hotel in New York City
#10 Green Hotel in New York City
#33 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#33 Family Hotel in New York City
#39 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £217 - £650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Loews Regency New York Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the benefits of Midtown Manhattan at your fingertips, with a Park Avenue address. The re-imagination of the new Loews Regency New York hotel sets a new standard in luxury and thoughtful design with the traveler's needs in mind. With thoughtful service genuinely delivered, our goal is to make sure you can focus on your plans while visiting New York City, whether it is for work or play. Let us take care of the little but all-important details, like complimentary pressing of two garments upon arrival. (Welcome to wrinkle-free travel.) Leave your hairdryer at home-here at Loews Regency New York, there is a Julien Farel professional hair dryer in every room. And if you're fed up of being charged for Internet access, take heart. Here, you'll find free Wi-Fi, for up to three devices, throughout the hotel, including in your room. Even better, you only have to log in once. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelbag, Superbreak UK, Prestigia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Regency New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency New York City
Regency Hotel New York
New York City Regency
Loews New York City
New York City Loews
Regency Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing