We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hotel Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Ranked #28 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Hotel Perfect Location”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We visited in late April for a week with our 9 and 13 year old children. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble and this was the case throughout our stay.
Christian very kindly sorted us out a more appropriate room which the children loved, especially the televisions in the bathrooms. We used the Fiat car several times and enjoyed a pleasant late night cocktail or two in the bar, discussing baseball with barman.
To sum up for once I got it right and the Regency was everything I had hoped for and I certainly can't imagine staying anywhere else.
The children loved the Cupcake ATM on Lexington, just a block away. It's a must!

Dawn

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnb b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for the feedback regarding your trip in April dawnb b! Christian King, our Director of Front Office, is one of our superstars and we're happy you could witness him in action. He continuously goes above and beyond. The cocktails in The Regency Bar & Grill are amazing, and our partnership with FIAT enables us to give complimentary rides to our in-house guests to anywhere on the island of Manhattan. Safe travels and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,074
    216
    75
    33
    17
See reviews for
468
424
54
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
314 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I am pleased to report that the hotel which had been closed for over a year for renovations is up and running and has retained the excellent service and atmosphere which has historically existed here. Prior to renovations the building had become tired but was operated in a graceful and comfortable manner. The renovations spruced up the building and the charm and excellent service are still here. I can only attribute the excellent experience here to good staff and capable management.

Also the somewhat old fashioned and dreary former bar has been replaced by a stunner of a space serving reasonably priced cocktails . Also, attached to the hotel is a branch of what is, in my opinion, the best espresso bar in NYC, Sant Ambroeus.

For at least awhile, the hotel is working with FIAT which offers a couple of chauffeur driver cars for courtesy rides around town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joesChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for the feedback joesChicago! We are thrilled you came back to Loews Regency after the renovations and are enjoying our newly re-imagined look! We have worked hard to integrate the old Regency with the new Regency and our team members are a great mix of old and new, which greatly adds to the character of the hotel. We also love the Sant Ambroeus coffee, and our partnership with FIAT is enabling us to offer complimentary rides to hotel guests on the island of Manhattan for the foreseeable future. Come back and try us again when you're next in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Located right in the middle of Manhattan's elegant Park Avenue, the newly renovated Loews Regency has an address that can't be beat, rooms that are clean and luxuriously appointed, and a staff that is completely guest-focused. The delightful Regency Bar and Grill is a great spot for "power" breakfasts (make a reservation!), delicious lunches or dinners, and even a vibrant professionals drinks scene. Personal attention is given to all the details and even the new spa and fitness center are top notch. Worth every penny!

Room Tip: The smaller suites are probably the best value and provide a truly luxurious experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheongsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
We couldn't have said it better ourselves Cheongsam! Thank you for the wonderful feedback - we certainly agree that our luxury offering and our location on Park Avenue are very hard to beat. Our team members work hard and are extremely guest-focused and we're happy that shows and its appreciated by our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I will definitely be back, what a wonderful introduction to New York City. Travelling alone and my 1st time in the city the staff went above & beyond to make me feel welcomed, comfortable and safe. I met Mike, the bellman, the 1st day I arrived, I saw him in the elevator days later and was impressed when he greeted me by name. Thanks to Isaac, the bellman, who was kind enough to hail me a cab at 3:45am while I waited inside the warm lobby with my luggage. My room was incredible - an amazing view of New York City. It was spacious and comfortable with a modern and contemporary décor that still felt warm. The location was absolutely perfect...walking distance to central park, art museums, and all the shopping a girl could want. I spent my days exploring all the different neighbourhoods the city has to offer, the hotels close subway access made this very easy. Dinner at the Regency Grill is a must - was delicious and the bartender, David, can make a tasty custom cocktail. I decided to book myself in for a blowout at the Julien Farel Salon on the second floor, what a nice treat and inexpensive too, only $50. I always workout when I travel and was pleasantly surprised when I saw the fitness centre. It was clean, loads of light and equipped with everything you’d need (even medicine balls). The hotel exceeded my expectations, and would highly recommend it. Overall an unforgettable New York experience, I can’t wait to come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
We also can't wait to see you back Jen H! Thank you for staying at Loews Regency and allowing us to give you an introduction to NYC! By the sounds of it, you really enjoyed your stay with us and we're happy our team members Mike, Isaac and David made it special for you. When you're next traveling to NYC from Vancouver, please come and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I travel a lot and this place is my new favorite hotel. Stayed here during a two night trip to New York. First of all the service is outstanding! They go out of your way to make you feel welcomed in this big city. Room was spacious, clean and very classy. The location on Park Ave was great. I could walk easily to Central Park, Lincoln Center and great restaurants. Felt safe and right in the heart of things but off the crowded corridors.

Room Tip: Go for the premium king, nice space. Remember NYC hotel rooms can be small, this one was not, felt h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your "outstanding" review TreeMd! We are thrilled that you had such an outstanding stay and really enjoyed our location. We always say we have all the benefits of Midtown at our fingertips with a Park Avenue address...so we're the best of both worlds! Come back and see us when you're next in NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, VA
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at the Loews Regency for the weekend and the hotel was just perfect. Located in a prime Manhattan location with some of the best shopping steps away, not to mention restaurants close by and Central Park right around the corner. From the moment we arrived the staff was kind, knowledgeable and just wonderful. In particular, Isaac at the front door was just a delight and very personable. The hotel has been totally renovated and it just looks amazing, the lobby, rooms, restaurant all have been transformed. We had dinner at the restaurant, the Regency Bar & Grill and again service was top-notch and the food was delicious. If visiting NYC this hotel should be the absolute must place to stay on your list.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbrob5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for voting Loews Regency as a "must-stay" kbrob5! We are thrilled to hear that the location, the renovation and The Regency Bar & Grill all met and exceeded your expectations, and that you will be back to see us again. We'll be sure to pass on the kind words to Isaac! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My family stayed here for Mother's Day weekend and it could not have been better. Beds are super comfy as are the pillows. Be warned that if you pull down the black out shade, you might miss your morning activities. We've stayed in top hotels in NYC before (Pierre, Waldorf) and the Regency beats them hands down. Beautifully renovated. Huge rooms. We even had a kitchen in our room. The location and staff can't be beat.

Room Tip: Room 1214 has a kitchen. No cooktop but a microwave, sink and cabinets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpyronmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Great to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us over Mothers Day weekend jpyronmann! We also think our beds are extremely comfortable - they are one of our best assets! Thank you also for the kind remarks about our team members - they certainly work hard to keep all our guests happy. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#7 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#32 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#42 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,571 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#63 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Regency New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Regency New York Hotel

Property: Loews Regency New York Hotel
Address: 540 Park Avenue, 61st Street, New York City, NY 10065-7366
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New York City
#8 Business Hotel in New York City
#10 Green Hotel in New York City
#25 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#39 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#51 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Loews Regency New York Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the benefits of Midtown Manhattan at your fingertips, with a Park Avenue address. The re-imagination of the new Loews Regency New York hotel sets a new standard in luxury and thoughtful design with the traveler's needs in mind. With thoughtful service genuinely delivered, our goal is to make sure you can focus on your plans while visiting New York City, whether it is for work or play. Let us take care of the little but all-important details, like complimentary pressing of two garments upon arrival. (Welcome to wrinkle-free travel.) Leave your hairdryer at home-here at Loews Regency New York, there is a Julien Farel professional hair dryer in every room. And if you're fed up of being charged for Internet access, take heart. Here, you'll find free Wi-Fi, for up to three devices, throughout the hotel, including in your room. Even better, you only have to log in once. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Regency New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency New York City
Regency Hotel New York
New York City Regency
Loews New York City
New York City Loews
Regency Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing