We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a welcome relief to find a great new hotel in New York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Ranked #36 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I come to New York about 1x a month for business, and usually stay at a 5-star Midtown hotel that costs a small fortune (but preferred by the boss). Due to the demands of this trip, I had to find a hotel on the Upper East Side, and that was the Loews Regency.

This hotel has reasonable prices for Manhattan, It has a great location on Park Avenue. Very friendly and attentive staff. Seems in great shape after a renovation in art-deco style. Very comfortable beds and well-designed rooms. Love the touch with TV in the bathroom mirror!

I will be a repeat customer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnGilardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for your review JohnGilardi! We're so glad you decided to try the new Loews Regency! Thanks for the wonderful comments about our location on Park Avenue, the reasonable prices (we think we're great value for money) and the tv's in the bathrooms (always a big hit). Come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,411 - 1,417 of 1,624 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

Loews made a great hotel even better with this amazing renovation. The lobby is exceptional and opening up the bar and restaurant resulted in better and more usable space...this is a much more comfortable space. The staff came back even better and the new GM has taken the hotel to a whole new level...where did they find him!? The rooms are very inviting and the electric window shades work very well and provided total darkness (most don't!).

I have a new favorite hotel in NYC!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian N, Director of Sales at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review BradD. Really glad you like the new lobby and restaurant. We love the energy it gives to the space and it definitely adds to the arrival experience. Thank you for also recognizing our fearless leader Jim McPartlin. He's fantastic and we're not letting him go anywhere. Come back and visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Loews Regency in NYC for 3 nights in May to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday. This was our first stay at a Loews hotel and I must say we were very impressed! Our room was a gorgeous suite overlooking Park Avenue. The location was perfect, walkable to Central Park and 5th Avenue shopping and a quick cab ride to Times Square. The room was very spacious, comfortable and extremely quiet. I had read that the hotel was recently renovated and I must say they did a fantastic job. The room had a classic decor with crown moulding and beautiful fixtures, while also having modern amenities including motorized blackout shades, numerous electrical outlets and free WiFi. We also had a stunning bathroom with marble floors and a freestanding tub which was an absolute showstopper. We were also very impressed by the staff and their attention to every detail. Overall this trip was amazing and we couldn't have been happier with our choice of hotel. Definitely looking forward to our next visit to NYC and staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian N, Director of Sales at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Firstly ScottR, happy birthday to your wife and we are thrilled you chose to celebrate with us. We're glad you enjoyed the hotel and the attention to detail of our fabulous team members. Thank so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Loews did an exceptional job renovating this landmark hotel. The extra touches, like plenty of electrical outlets and free WiFi, plus the luxe appointments you'd expect from Loews demonstrate that they really understand today's traveller. This will be my go to hotel any time I'm in NY.

Room Tip: The luxury king category feels like a suite. Super spacious. If NY hotel rooms make you feel like yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LD38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian N, Director of Sales at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you LD38. We love the touches like the extra power outlet in the rooms too. They are all aimed to just take the hassle out of traveling, so we are glad you noticed. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The room was gorgeous with sweeping views of the city, and the staff was absolutely fantastic. I had clients in town for an event and being able to show them a first rate experience made my company look really great. And not for nothing, being able to just stay there PERSONALLY was a real treat!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian N, Director of Sales at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

We are very happy you and your clients enjoyed the new Loews Regency! Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. It means a lot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Loews Regency for 5 nights in May. I was there for a trade show and we extended it by a few days to enjoy the city. What a great hotel choice for our stay! The hotel itself is beautiful, it has a very nice location, the rooms are spacious by NYC standards, the room decor is gorgeous and it was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in! Even with all of those things the BEST thing about the Loews Regency was the service! The staff was truly amazing. We were warmly greeted the moment we walked in the door. While checking in we were given an upgrade to a room with a view of Park Place. The concierge staff made several excellent restaurant recommendations as well as suggestions for activities. The doorman was ready with umbrella's and when they ran out went and got his own for me to use. The car service is a perk I wasn't expecting and came in very handy. We weren't able to use the Fiat service but love the idea of it. I will (and have been) recommending this hotel to anyone planning a visit to NYC. We will stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian N, Director of Sales at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you Libbie. The hotel was renovated recently and we certainly benefit from that investment, but we are truly proud to be a part of a team that delivers great service. We will of course pass on your comments to our Team Members - they love hearing about how they make people's experiences great.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I spent last Monday through Friday at the newly-renovated Loews Regency and must say I had an absolutely incredible experience. The staff were friendly, courteous and went out of their way to be helpful. My room was absolutely beautiful and spacious. You can't beat the location or the amenities. I highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to stay there again!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToddKrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian N, Director of Sales at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you ToddKrim for your kind words. We are happy you are excited to return and we're also grateful for your very kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Upper East Side
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Hotel Plaza Athenee
#186 of 469 in New York City
692 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#87 of 469 in New York City
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
#19 of 469 in New York City
2,287 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 469 in New York City
2,916 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Regency New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Regency New York Hotel

Address: 540 Park Avenue, 61st Street, New York City, NY 10065-7366
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New York City
#8 Business Hotel in New York City
#10 Green Hotel in New York City
#33 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#39 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#51 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £220 - £748 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Loews Regency New York Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the benefits of Midtown Manhattan at your fingertips, with a Park Avenue address. The re-imagination of the new Loews Regency New York hotel sets a new standard in luxury and thoughtful design with the traveler's needs in mind. With thoughtful service genuinely delivered, our goal is to make sure you can focus on your plans while visiting New York City, whether it is for work or play. Let us take care of the little but all-important details, like complimentary pressing of two garments upon arrival. (Welcome to wrinkle-free travel.) Leave your hairdryer at home-here at Loews Regency New York, there is a Julien Farel professional hair dryer in every room. And if you're fed up of being charged for Internet access, take heart. Here, you'll find free Wi-Fi, for up to three devices, throughout the hotel, including in your room. Even better, you only have to log in once. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Regency New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency New York City
Regency Hotel New York
New York City Regency
Loews New York City
New York City Loews
Regency Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing