We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic NYC Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Ranked #26 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Fantastic NYC Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Spent 4 days at the Loews Regency hotel - the place is immaculate, very cool and luxurious. The service was exceptional and not overbearing - just the right touch to take care of your every need. The gym is great, the Julian Farel toiletries fantastic, and the bar is a great hang. I would highly recommend the hotel as it surpassed expectations.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Calstars04 W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you so much for the glowing review Calstars04 W! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your 4 night stay so much and that we surpassed expectations! We agree with you that the Julien Farel amenities are wonderful and the bar is a great place to hang out! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,053
    207
    73
    31
    17
See reviews for
454
416
53
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Friendliest staff from the front entrance throughout the whole Hotel. Will definitely stay here every visit to NYC.
Most beautiful renovation very very nice.
Restaurant food is delicious and great menu!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We also think the renovation is beautiful and brings us back to our Park Avenue glory days! The menu in The Regency Bar & Grill is courtesy of our Executive Chef, Dan Silverman, who never ceases to amaze us! Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This was our first stay and the Loews Regency and what an amazing experience this was as part of our 33 days trip across USA. Having stayed twice in Manhatten I can definitely say this hotel was the best yet. It could be the best hotel in town! The hotel lobby provides a fantastic impression of what the hotel is about. Recently renovated the hotel has been perfectly designed with attention to every detail. The lobby staff are very friendly and welcoming and so are the restaurant staff too. Our room was amazing thanks to the VIP manager who prepared for our stay, the hotel looked after us so well we felt like royalty! The hotel rooms were so comfortable and the beds and linen were so nice. We had breakfast both mornings and I would advise to either ore reserve a table or eat before 8am of after 9am. The restaurant caters breakfast for many business people just calling in and it seems a tradition for this hotel over the years. I heard that they cater for over 200 covers regularly. We had dinner one evening and whilst there was a couple of tiny errors, Megan was right on hand to put things right.
The concierge was very helpful and also patient with our questions.
This is just a stunning hotel in the midtown of manhatten that I would really recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Yorksfamilyreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
That's fantastic to hear Richard R. We are so happy to hear you had a wonderful time with us here at Loews Regency and you felt like royalty. That's what we are all about! Safe travels on your road trip and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel is very nice. Great location. Plenty lobby space and comfortable seating. Room is nice, not huge but enough to spread your wings. Bathroom is perfect (love the decoration). Hallways and elevators very comfortable. Quiet. Individual breakfast items are pricey but there are lots of N.Y. options around. Bar is nice for drinks. We didn't dine there. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Journey305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
It's wonderful to hear you had such a great experience Journey305! We love to hear feedback like this! Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

What a great time my wife and I had in this perfectly located hotel. All the other reviews give details of the excellent facilities and rooms etc. but what makes this place special is the Staff (must say we had exactly the same very positive experience in the Loews Boston Hotel the week before). Everyone we met was so courteous, friendly and helpful from Reception, Housekeeping, Restaurant/Bar to, especially, the Concierge Team. Kathleen, Ela and Robert worked so hard to ensure we had a great time in New York with restaurant reservations, show bookings and general (very good!) advice. Can't wait to return, not just to New York, but to this Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekJL2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful stay DerekJL2014. As you mention, we are renowned for our team members and the service they provide, and we're happy to hear you such a great experience. We look forward to welcoming you back when you're next in the Big Apple!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Think of climbing onto and then falling into a cloud for a long restful sleep. This is how it felt getting into bed- sublime. The best hotel bed ever, woke up fully refreshed for another NY day.
Rooms spotless, location fantastic, staff all very attentive, one minor critique was the small bathroom but it was very well appointed- tv screen encompassed in the mirror
We will definitely return

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrbyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Great to hear that you lived the high life in the Loews Lane Orby Boy! We are going to use that line moving forward! We are thrilled you had such a great stay and will be back to see us soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I feel very fortunate to have stumbled upon the Regency about a dozen years ago. Since then, I have stayed at the hotel each time I'm in NYC. The renovation is lovely but the primary reason that I enjoy my stays is the level of service. It is unquestionable that the staff is highly trained and eager to make sure that all guests have a superb visit.

While I would like to recognize everyone who is outstanding, I am certain I can't possibly remember all of the individuals who make a difference, but I'd like to try because of their efforts. For example, those who welcome guests at the front door and front desk include Angel, Oscar, Billy, Justin, Kyra, Rosina, Robert, Chet, David, Michael, Kathy, Nicole, Issac and John. Some of these individuals are bellhops, others front desk staff. All are eager to assist. And whether you check in at 3:00 PM or 3:00 AM, you will find that the staff is poised, professional and pleasant.

One suggestion I would make, especially to a new guest, is always have a bellhop go up to the room at the beginning of your stay. Not only will these individuals make you feel welcome, they will gladly show you things in the room that you might not otherwise notice. Plus, they will tell you about the hotel/neighborhood and that information is enormously helpful.

The staff at the concierge desk, especially Kathleen, Lisa, Robert and David, are warm and friendly. Don't hesitate to ask them any questions. Housekeeping is superb; a personal favorite is Dolores. If anything is amiss with the room, you will find engineering as gracious and professional as the staff at the front desk/lobby. Leonard adjusted the temperature in the room and he was knowledgeable and pleasant.

In the restaurant/bar, there is a wonderful team that includes, but is not limited to, Sam, Henry, Franklin, Sukendu, Rezar, Eugene, Hafiz, Syed, Josh, Jose and Lorenzo. If you have the time to learn the names of the staff, I would suggest doing so, as there is such camaraderie that it makes each stay more enjoyable. The food is consistently well prepared and the dining room is a relaxing change from the hustle of the city.

The hotel has two car services. One is a house car and the driver, Paul, is a special treat. Gregarious and gracious, he could not do a better job of chauffeuring guests. The second service is with FIAT and they, too, are highly professional.

The hotel is known to have many guests who have come for years. This is no surprise. My guess is that other guests appreciate the warm welcome and consistently fine service. (And it's a nice gift to the guests that so many of the staff have been with the hotel for many years.) But even if you haven't been coming for years, I believe you will be welcomed with an impressive level of professionalism. I have often asked new guests who I've bumped into in the elevator or restaurant about their experiences and they, like me, have been very positive.

Staying at the Regency is a special treat for this guest. I applaud the staff and their dedication to their work.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
WOW A H! Thank you for such an outstanding review! You clearly know the hotel and our team members extremely well. Thank you for being such a loyal guest to us over the years. We hope to continue welcoming you through our doors for many years to come. We will also pass on your recognition to all of our team members that you mention. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#9 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#27 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#30 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,513 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#54 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Regency New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Regency New York Hotel

Property: Loews Regency New York Hotel
Address: 540 Park Avenue, 61st Street, New York City, NY 10065-7366
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New York City
#8 Business Hotel in New York City
#9 Green Hotel in New York City
#39 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#51 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Loews Regency New York Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the benefits of Midtown Manhattan at your fingertips, with a Park Avenue address. The re-imagination of the new Loews Regency New York hotel sets a new standard in luxury and thoughtful design with the traveler's needs in mind. With thoughtful service genuinely delivered, our goal is to make sure you can focus on your plans while visiting New York City, whether it is for work or play. Let us take care of the little but all-important details, like complimentary pressing of two garments upon arrival. (Welcome to wrinkle-free travel.) Leave your hairdryer at home-here at Loews Regency New York, there is a Julien Farel professional hair dryer in every room. And if you're fed up of being charged for Internet access, take heart. Here, you'll find free Wi-Fi, for up to three devices, throughout the hotel, including in your room. Even better, you only have to log in once. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Regency New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency New York City
Regency Hotel New York
New York City Regency
Loews New York City
New York City Loews
Regency Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing