We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Had My Best Birthday Ever At The Loews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Ranked #35 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I came with my parents to celebrate my 11th birthday (and was greeted at the front desk and wished a happy birthday). Our room was AMAZING! We found it hard to leave the comforts of it in the morning. We had an incredible spa day. I had an awesome massage, mani/pedi, and hair wash and blow-dry and my mom loved hers too! I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review Don W. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your birthday so much and were well looked after by our team. We hope you will come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,325 - 1,331 of 1,591 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed at the renovated Recency while on business in NYC recently. Had a great room on the 14th floor with an outdoor balcony overlooking Park Avenue. The room was great, as was the restaurant and bar, as well as the service and the staff. They really go out of their way to make you feel special and well taken care of. If you haven't tried the Regency yet, you should. I'm going back again. It's my new favorite hotel in NYC!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you so much for the glowing review Craig S. We are thrilled to hear that we are your new favorite hotel in NYC and will be coming back to see us again soon. We look forward to it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My wife and I spent the July 4th weekend at the Regency.
We had a spectacular time. The hotel remodel has delivered very comfortable rooms. The amenities are outstanding (my wife has fallen in love with the hairdryer). The location allows you to enjoy the city without being in a crush of people.

We enjoyed brunch in the lounge while watching a world cup match.

The staff was outstanding. Everyone greeted us warmly and made an effort to insure that we had everything we needed.

Stay at the Regency if you are looking for a sophisticated, upscale environment with attentive service located within easy walking distance of great shopping, dining and Central Park South.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you so much for the glowing review Michael W. We are thrilled to hear you had a great time with us over 4th July weekend and were able to take in a World Cup match screening in The Regency Bar & Grill. You also mentioned that your wife loves our hair dryers....they can actually be purchased from Julien Farel if she is interested. Or if you or her are staying at any of our sister Loews properties, they will shortly be featured in each of our hotels.

Please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My wife and I were celebrating our 10th anniversary and decided to book a last minute trip to New York City because neither of us had been. We booked a stay at the Loews Regency, based mainly on its good rating on Tripadvisor. We stayed for 5 nights. The staff was very friendly and helpful, although I was hoping they'd try to do something special for us when they found out it was our 10th anniversary. All we got was a nice "Congratulations!" Oh well. I guess I can't expect too much.

The location is great if you want to stay close to Central Park and in a good part of town. It's very close to all of the flagship luxury stores on Madison and 5th Avenue and it's about two blocks away from a subway entrance. It wasn't as easy to find good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, though.

The room we stayed on was facing 61st and it was very quiet. The view isn't that great, but I kind of expected to be staring at other buildings if I'm staying in Manhattan.

It seems like the hotel has been recently refurbished and the rooms had a classy, new feel to them. The bed was very comfortable.

We really had no complaints about the hotel and I would definitely stay there again, although we might try to stay somewhere closer to Rockefeller Center next time just because we spent most of our time in that area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BBMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review BBMcDonald. I'm sorry to hear that we did not recognize your 10 year Anniversary with anything more than a "Congratulations"....that is certainly not our standard protocol. With that said, I'm very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay regardless and that you loved the location of the hotel and will definitely be back. Be sure to let us know when you are coming back and we will take good care of you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The rooms were impeccably clean and beautifully designed. The staff was exceptional and the location is the best in NYC. Our favorite amenity was the Ride with Fiat partnership. We used the drop-off service three times and we were very pleased with the car, the driver, and the Fiat desk representative (Gianna). Our family of four was very pleased.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Brenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian N, Director of Sales at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thanks for your kind comments. We do like our wonderful partnership with the FIAT team. Free transfers anywhere in Manhattan is a great benefit and we are pleased you were able to take advantage of the two cars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

2nd time staying at the Loews Regency, the first being a couple of years ago. Renovation is fabulous. Service overall was very good. Location is most ideal for anyone wanting to stay in the Upper East Side - 2 blocks from everywhere you need to be. Highly recommend staying here !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EPScarlata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian N, Director of Sales at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thanks belugalove for taking the time to write a review. We love out location too. Barney's, Bloomies, Madison and Fifth Avenues around the corner - oh and Central Park! We hope you don't leave it so long to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

As a frequent business traveler to NYC, I have made the Regency my "go to" place. Everyone from the front desk to the restaurant staff has been consistently gracious and accommodating. The rooms are spotless and the room service is exceptional. I have been so impressed with this operation that I have taken my family to the Regency for personal travel as well. The Regency deserves high marks for providing a courteous staff and raises the bar for other hotels with their personalized service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Woodki070707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian N, Director of Sales at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for your review Woodki070707. We love it when our business guests come back for the weekend - there is so much to do with the family in this neighborhood. Thanks also for your kind words about our team. We'll look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#7 of 469 in New York City
711 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 469 in New York City
2,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#30 of 469 in New York City
739 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#93 of 469 in New York City
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Regency New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Regency New York Hotel

Address: 540 Park Avenue, 61st Street, New York City, NY 10065-7366
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New York City
#8 Business Hotel in New York City
#10 Green Hotel in New York City
#33 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#39 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#51 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £223 - £703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Loews Regency New York Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the benefits of Midtown Manhattan at your fingertips, with a Park Avenue address. The re-imagination of the new Loews Regency New York hotel sets a new standard in luxury and thoughtful design with the traveler's needs in mind. With thoughtful service genuinely delivered, our goal is to make sure you can focus on your plans while visiting New York City, whether it is for work or play. Let us take care of the little but all-important details, like complimentary pressing of two garments upon arrival. (Welcome to wrinkle-free travel.) Leave your hairdryer at home-here at Loews Regency New York, there is a Julien Farel professional hair dryer in every room. And if you're fed up of being charged for Internet access, take heart. Here, you'll find free Wi-Fi, for up to three devices, throughout the hotel, including in your room. Even better, you only have to log in once. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Prestigia, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Regency New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency New York City
Regency Hotel New York
New York City Regency
Loews New York City
New York City Loews
Regency Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing