We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Ranked #28 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Ideal place for business. Spacious room, classic furniture. Close to firth avenue and Madison. Breakfast at restaurant is the place to be to begin the day. Numerous business meeting take place here. Try the homemade granola and pancakes!!!!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 282fabriceg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback Fabrice G. As you mention, we have one of the best locations in town, and we are also home of the Power Breakfast, where much of the wheeling and dealing in the city is done. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,100
    219
    77
    34
    17
See reviews for
479
430
54
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I chose this hotel after much research; we were seeking a hotel to replace a huge conference hotel in a louder, more chaotic part of the city; we sought top marks in cleanliness, walking distance to Central Park and museums, relative quiet, enough space for a family of four, and a mini-fridge and some counter space to prepare gluten-free meals for our daughter with celiac. It was challenging to meet these criteria without utterly breaking our budget, but we succeeded by reserving a room at this hotel of understated elegance. We we greatly appreciated the view from a corner room on the 19th floor and were thrilled to have a kitchenette for preparing gluten-free food. The location is wonderful for walking, particularly for enjoying Central Park and museums, and yes, our high standards for thorough cleanliness were met. in addition, many staff members--the doormen, bellhops, maids,bartender pointing out complimentary coffee in the morning, and the driver Joe-- were proficient and friendly. [This was a one-third business trip and two-thirds family trip.]

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors will have better views, of course, but my guess is all the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cstle-Wstctt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us Cstle-Wstctt. We are thrilled you had such a wonderful experience, and we were able to meet your high expectations. The kitchenettes in the rooms are fabulous, aren't they? We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Just had an overnight visit and stayed at the Loews Regency. The room was spacious and luxurious. Although we did not take advantage of the dining choices at the hotel, we did enjoy the complimentary coffee offered in the morning--great that it was available with choice of newspaper off the lobby area. We had valet for our car and needed to leave the hotel earlier than usual drop off(before 7 AM). The hotel staff took care of our request and our car was delivered more quickly than expected.This is a beautiful hotel in a wonderful location. I highly recommend and will absolutely return.

Room Tip: The hotel asked our preference and honored our request for a room on a lower floor. We were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhiladelphiaCamelot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for the feedback PhiladelphiaCamelot! It sounds like you had a great stay with us. We are happy to hear our team members were very accommodating and looked after all your requests in a timely manner. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed seven nights at the Loew's Regency in July. The first night we had both of our teenage daughters with us and had a deluxe double room on the 12th floor with two double beds. Beautiful room, great shower and nice view. The next day we requested a room with a king with a sofa bed since one of our gals left for a school program. The room we were moved to was great even though the shower was much smaller. There was a large bathtub and older tile in the shower. The size of the rooms was phenomenal and every need was catered too. Marina from Housekeeping set us up with a coffee maker so my husband could make coffee before going to work in the mornings. My daughter and I used the Star room service several times and found it fast and of high quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tatiana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review Tatiana C. It sounds like you had a great stay with us in July and we are thrilled that you were able to try a few rooms out....we have quite a few different room categories to choose from. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel has a great location- the corner of Park and 61st. You are within walking distance to so much. The rooms were VERY nice and very quiet (as was the overall hotel). I was there for two nights- I am a light sleeper and never heard a noise during either night. The hotel has a salon, spa, and bar area. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel was a plus! The service was also great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VacayMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review VacayMore. We agree with you that we have the best location in NYC and offer the full range of services and amenities that you could ever want during your stay. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Never stayed here before---1st time. Beautiful, clean room--quiet room. A television built into the mirror in the bathroom - cool modern touch. Bed comfortable. But the staff---that is really the hook. Always helpful, and seemingly everywhere. You will not go wrong here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sofachange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review sofachange! We are thrilled you decided to try us for the first time and hope you'll be back in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
308 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We've just returned from a great 4 night stay at this excellent hotel.
We chose it mainly due to the reviews on Tripadvisor and we liked the idea of being close to central park. It is very well located being 2 blocks from the park and 2 blocks fro the Subway.
The hotel has recently been refurbished to a very high standard and it is superb.
Check in was smooth, all the staff we met were very good, especially the doormen/bell men.
We were in Room 905, a good sized room, towards the back of the building and the room was very quiet. The air con worked well and the king size Bed was very comfy. Big TV, Safe, plenty of hanging space. Robes, Mini bar etc.The only thing lacking which would have been good was a coffee machine. Otherwise no complaints. The marble bathroom was lovely with a tub and shower and a tv built into the mirror over the vanity. There was Julien Farel toiletries and a professional hairdryer which my partner really liked.
There was a New York Times paper delivered to our door each morning, and the housekeeping staff did a great job.
We also made use of the complimentary car service the hotel has, and enjoyed a couple of rides in the Fiat to restaurants, which is a great service for guests. All in all a great stay in an excellent hotel, highly recommended and I would hope to return to.

Room Tip: We were happy with 905 and it's the quietest room I've stayed at in New York City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larnerdarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you so much for the glowing review larnerdarren. It certainly sounds like you had an excellent stay and were able to take advantage of most, if not all, of our additional services that we offer on property. Duly noted about the coffee machine in the room - please note that while we do not have these in-room, we do offer them through Star Service upon request. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#8 of 468 in New York City
687 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 468 in New York City
2,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#36 of 468 in New York City
701 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#73 of 468 in New York City
1,831 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#16 of 468 in New York City
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Regency New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Regency New York Hotel

Property: Loews Regency New York Hotel
Address: 540 Park Avenue, 61st Street, New York City, NY 10065-7366
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New York City
#8 Business Hotel in New York City
#9 Green Hotel in New York City
#26 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#39 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#51 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Loews Regency New York Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the benefits of Midtown Manhattan at your fingertips, with a Park Avenue address. The re-imagination of the new Loews Regency New York hotel sets a new standard in luxury and thoughtful design with the traveler's needs in mind. With thoughtful service genuinely delivered, our goal is to make sure you can focus on your plans while visiting New York City, whether it is for work or play. Let us take care of the little but all-important details, like complimentary pressing of two garments upon arrival. (Welcome to wrinkle-free travel.) Leave your hairdryer at home-here at Loews Regency New York, there is a Julien Farel professional hair dryer in every room. And if you're fed up of being charged for Internet access, take heart. Here, you'll find free Wi-Fi, for up to three devices, throughout the hotel, including in your room. Even better, you only have to log in once. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Regency New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency New York City
Regency Hotel New York
New York City Regency
Loews New York City
New York City Loews
Regency Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing