We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Ranked #37 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The new Regency is one of the best hotels in the world. The remodeling has made the hotel even more elegant. The new lobby is beautiful and comfortable. The elevators are state of the art. The furnishings in the rooms are superb. One of us is a TV junky, and the suite contained four sets. The remodeled bathrooms are wonderful. No longer are there problems with the internet.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank larryderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for the wonderful comments larryderm! We are thrilled to hear you think we are "one of the best hotels in the world" and will continue to strive to live up to these expectations every day! We hope the TV junky in the family enjoyed the tv's in the mirrors in the bathroom (we get many comments about these), and I hope everyone enjoyed the complimentary WIFI offered in both the guest rooms and the public areas. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,313 - 1,319 of 1,597 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Love Loews!!! Third time (1st & 2nd too) is a charm!!! Best of everything!!! King Suite is sweet for a family!!! French doors separating two rooms/two full bathrooms .... Best full sofa bed (anerican leather) .... LOVE!!!
Location is perfect too ... Blocks from everything & complimentary Fiat car too ... Will drive you to anyplace within Manhattan (reserve & tip of course)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lovedelishfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for the wonderful feedback lovedelishfood! We love to hear from our guests and we sincerely thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. It sounds like you enjoy staying with us and we hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Having stayed at most of the 5 star hotels in NYC, we have now discovered the Lowe's Regency at 61st and Park Ave. Without a doubt, the finest hotel experience we've ever had. The location is wonderful, the rooms extremely comfortable, the decor is beautiful, and the most welcoming staff we've ever encountered. Can't recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mollie933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you so much for the glowing review Mollie933. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us and that it was "the best hotel experience you've ever had". That's a big call, and one that we are extremely proud of. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back when you're next in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I'm a Loews First upper-level member. We have stayed at many, many Loews properties on both coasts. This Loews property does not live up to the Loews name and what we are accustomed to from our favorite hotel chain. Granted, the property is lovely, but that is where the positives end for me.

The service could not have been worse. Every member of the staff we encountered was rude, condescending and incredibly pretentious. Each encounter was worse than the next, leaving us actually avoiding interaction with the staff at all costs. Regency staff are clearly devoted to a certain level of clientele and show their allegiance openly. All others are treated like second class citizens. Save your $20 tips, they are not good enough for these people. They expect much more and their attitude shifts immediately when they realize they aren't getting it from you. I should not have to throw more money at these people from drivers, to door staff to one very rude female bartender, to get an ounce of respect.

I have travelled all over the world and stayed at countless luxury hotels. This is the first time I have ever felt this way, enough to write a review about it. If you are a family, staying for leisure, clad in shorts and sandals you are not welcome here. If you are in town on business in a Armani suit, you'll be just fine. And if you look like you walked off the set of Real Housewives of wherever... You will feel right at home.

I will be writing a letter to Loews First customer service. This is not how a loyal customer should be treated.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
14  Thank Disneygal17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, General Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Disneygal17: Please accept my most sincere apology if you and your family were left feeling anything less than special at the Loews Regency. I assure you that we take customer service seriously and make a concerted effort at making everyone feel at home. Not only am I from upstate NY, but I did my training at the Walt Disney Company in Florida. The one thing that is imprinted upon me is that 'everyone is a VIP'. Please contact me directly so we might discuss your observations further. Your patronage is valued and I want to get this turned around. (jmcpartlin@loewshotels.com)

Warm regards -

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Ideal place for business. Spacious room, classic furniture. Close to firth avenue and Madison. Breakfast at restaurant is the place to be to begin the day. Numerous business meeting take place here. Try the homemade granola and pancakes!!!!

Stayed: September 2013
Thank 282fabriceg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback Fabrice G. As you mention, we have one of the best locations in town, and we are also home of the Power Breakfast, where much of the wheeling and dealing in the city is done. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I chose this hotel after much research; we were seeking a hotel to replace a huge conference hotel in a louder, more chaotic part of the city; we sought top marks in cleanliness, walking distance to Central Park and museums, relative quiet, enough space for a family of four, and a mini-fridge and some counter space to prepare gluten-free meals for our daughter with celiac. It was challenging to meet these criteria without utterly breaking our budget, but we succeeded by reserving a room at this hotel of understated elegance. We we greatly appreciated the view from a corner room on the 19th floor and were thrilled to have a kitchenette for preparing gluten-free food. The location is wonderful for walking, particularly for enjoying Central Park and museums, and yes, our high standards for thorough cleanliness were met. in addition, many staff members--the doormen, bellhops, maids,bartender pointing out complimentary coffee in the morning, and the driver Joe-- were proficient and friendly. [This was a one-third business trip and two-thirds family trip.]

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors will have better views, of course, but my guess is all the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cstle-Wstctt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us Cstle-Wstctt. We are thrilled you had such a wonderful experience, and we were able to meet your high expectations. The kitchenettes in the rooms are fabulous, aren't they? We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Just had an overnight visit and stayed at the Loews Regency. The room was spacious and luxurious. Although we did not take advantage of the dining choices at the hotel, we did enjoy the complimentary coffee offered in the morning--great that it was available with choice of newspaper off the lobby area. We had valet for our car and needed to leave the hotel earlier than usual drop off(before 7 AM). The hotel staff took care of our request and our car was delivered more quickly than expected.This is a beautiful hotel in a wonderful location. I highly recommend and will absolutely return.

Room Tip: The hotel asked our preference and honored our request for a room on a lower floor. We were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhiladelphiaCamelot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for the feedback PhiladelphiaCamelot! It sounds like you had a great stay with us. We are happy to hear our team members were very accommodating and looked after all your requests in a timely manner. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#7 of 469 in New York City
711 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 469 in New York City
2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#30 of 469 in New York City
742 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#90 of 469 in New York City
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Regency New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Regency New York Hotel

Address: 540 Park Avenue, 61st Street, New York City, NY 10065-7366
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in New York City
#8 Business Hotel in New York City
#10 Green Hotel in New York City
#35 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#39 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#51 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £224 - £736 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Loews Regency New York Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the benefits of Midtown Manhattan at your fingertips, with a Park Avenue address. The re-imagination of the new Loews Regency New York hotel sets a new standard in luxury and thoughtful design with the traveler's needs in mind. With thoughtful service genuinely delivered, our goal is to make sure you can focus on your plans while visiting New York City, whether it is for work or play. Let us take care of the little but all-important details, like complimentary pressing of two garments upon arrival. (Welcome to wrinkle-free travel.) Leave your hairdryer at home-here at Loews Regency New York, there is a Julien Farel professional hair dryer in every room. And if you're fed up of being charged for Internet access, take heart. Here, you'll find free Wi-Fi, for up to three devices, throughout the hotel, including in your room. Even better, you only have to log in once. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Prestigia, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Regency New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency New York City
Regency Hotel New York
New York City Regency
Loews New York City
New York City Loews
Regency Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing