We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend in NYC!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Ranked #34 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic weekend in NYC!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just took a quick trip to the city this past weekend and decided to stay at The Loews Regency. Two reason I selected this hotel: We have one in New Orleans, where I live, that is top notch, so I expected the same experience and also because the reviews I had read on tripadvisor were consistently excellent. The experience we had at this hotel was just that, EXCELLENT! The staff was incredibly friendly and very helpful. In particular, our bartender, EMILY, and the doorman, BARRY! We loved those two! Emily quickly became our friend and made great recommendations for places to go after dinner and after the shows and Barry was always ready to jump in and help us with whatever we needed in getting places! The room was beautiful and comfortable! I loved being able to walk down and get my complimentary coffee each morning and also loved the crowd of locals that would stop by the bar each day. Very friendly people! The only thing that was inconvenient was that we needed to print last minute tickets to Aladdin (which was spectacular, might I add!) and JUST to get online for 2 minutes to log in to our email and print, we had to pay $7.50 for using the computer plus the expense to print our show tickets. My recommendation would be that each room maybe get 4 free print outs (for a typical family of 4) while staying JUST in case they are in the same boat and honestly either forgot to print their tickets before arriving or bought them last minute. For the price of the room, I feel that its reasonable. Other than that, we LOVED our stay at The Loews Regency and would delightfully return! THANK YOU for taking our NYC weekend up several notches! -Crystal from New Orleans

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you so much for the feedback Crystal C from New Orleans. We love to hear from our guests about their experiences, and it sounds like you had a wonderful weekend in NYC. We are happy to be a part of it! Thank you for the feedback regarding the print outs....we will definitely flag this and see what we can do in the future. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,167
    234
    84
    35
    22
See reviews for
521
460
59
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livorno, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We simply loved it. I was there from August 14 till Aug 21st, myself and my daughters and Loews made our staying the best we could have. Superbe room amd furniture, excellent welcome presents and complimentary drinks, room very silent, excellent quality of all Staff, from doorbell to Concierge ( great helps from them) the beds were very confortable and great quality of linen, room always clean, bathroom was always tidy. when back in the evening from dinner or theatre everything was perfect for the sleep. Nice smiling doormen, and above all the location: Park Avenue at 61st!! Gorgeous hotel, everytime I will be back, that will be MY PLACE. M.Gloria Giani

Room Tip: all are great choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaGloria37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words GloriaMaria37. That's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you will be back. We look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Staff is great!! Berry the bellman, Anne the hostess. Christian the restaurant manager.. Very attentive and upbeat. Charming staff who made us feel at home. On our last day we missed out on breakfast because we woke up late. Fortunately Anne and Chris pulled some strings with chefs and next thing you know. Breakfast was being served.. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gzzzzzzzxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for the great feedback Gzzzzzzzxxxxx about our amazing team members. We will be sure that Barry, Anne and Christian all receive the recognition they deserve. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roslyn, NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is newly renovated in 2014. The rooms facing Park Ave are a little larger. In all we had a terrific stay. For Manhattan the room was quite spacious with a very nice bathroom. The FIAT drop off service is great. Saves a significant amount on taxis if you book your rides ahead of time. I would stay again next time I am in Manhattan.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for the comments Edward R! You are correct that our town car and FIAT service saves time and money and we are happy to provide them to our valued guests. Booking ahead is a wise decision as they do tend to be very busy! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

From the moment we pulled up, we knew this was going to be a great hotel. The doorman, Barry, was awesome and so helpful in getting our luggage unloaded and car valet parked. He was very personable and friendly as well, taking time to make our infant son smile.

The hotel itself was great - extremely easy check-in and fabulous room. Our Superior King room with clean, spacious, and very comfortable. Great modern touches, including a flat-screen TV built into the bathroom mirror, really accented our wonderful experience. We only stayed one night, but I wish we could have stayed a week. The hotel is very conveniently located to some fun family places, like Central Park (near the zoo), Sprinkles Cupcakes, Serendipity 3, and Dylan's Candy Bar. It was about a 25 minute walk to Times Square, but the area also plenty of subway stations nearby and the hotel has a great Fiat car service till 8pm that will take you (one-way) anywhere in a 5-mile radius for free!

Checkout was a breeze from the in-room TV. Let me just say I LOVE being able to check out at noon. They also held our luggage while we lingered in the park for an extra couple hours.

Overall, an excellent hotel. If I had to pick any negative, it's that room service, the hotel restaurant, and the mini-bar drink and snacks were EXTREMELY expensive - like whoa! 12 dollars for a small pack of M&Ms. But I also realize that the business clientele this hotel attracts probably just expense stuff like that. Don't let that dissuade you for staying here, though. Just pay attention to the kids and make sure they do not grab the drinks and snacks unless you're okay with the price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachFan060708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review BeachFan060708! Barry our Doorman is certainly a hit with our guests and we will be sure to pass your comments on. Thank you for writing such a comprehensive review - we love to hear feedback directly from our guests on what they thought about their experience. We will definitely take note of your comments regarding the pricing of F&B and see what we can do. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Upon recommendation from our travel agent we spent 5 days here in June. It was lovely, very pricey, but lovely. I feel like, although the location was great, a few blocks from Central Park, in a quiet neighborhood, it may have been too far out of the way for our first visit. It was a trek to get anywhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for the feedback Eric L. We are thrilled that you decided to try us for the first time and on your first stay in NYC. We think we have the best location in the city - a Midtown Manhattan location with all the benefits of a Park Avenue address. We hope you didn't have too many issues navigating around the city and were able to use some of our transportation options from the hotel. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This hotel is in a perfect location. It is newly renovated and is quite beautiful. The rooms are luxurious and are very comfortable with a terrific staff. Don't miss Barry at the front door, he is amazing!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for the great comments Mary M! Barry is truly one of our stars and is very popular with our guests. We will certainly pass on your wonderful feedback on him! Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#9 of 466 in New York City
698 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 466 in New York City
2,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#25 of 466 in New York City
1,287 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#29 of 466 in New York City
728 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#78 of 466 in New York City
1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Regency New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Regency New York Hotel

Property: Loews Regency New York Hotel
Address: 540 Park Avenue, 61st Street, New York City, NY 10065-7366
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in New York City
#8 Business Hotel in New York City
#10 Green Hotel in New York City
#32 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#39 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#51 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Loews Regency New York Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the benefits of Midtown Manhattan at your fingertips, with a Park Avenue address. The re-imagination of the new Loews Regency New York hotel sets a new standard in luxury and thoughtful design with the traveler's needs in mind. With thoughtful service genuinely delivered, our goal is to make sure you can focus on your plans while visiting New York City, whether it is for work or play. Let us take care of the little but all-important details, like complimentary pressing of two garments upon arrival. (Welcome to wrinkle-free travel.) Leave your hairdryer at home-here at Loews Regency New York, there is a Julien Farel professional hair dryer in every room. And if you're fed up of being charged for Internet access, take heart. Here, you'll find free Wi-Fi, for up to three devices, throughout the hotel, including in your room. Even better, you only have to log in once. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Loews Regency New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency New York City
Regency Hotel New York
New York City Regency
Loews New York City
New York City Loews
Regency Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing