We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Ranked #42 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 August 2014

just a great hotel in an incredible location. central to EVERYTHING in NYC. this is my go to hotel in NYC. newly renovated. great service. amazing staff. superb concierge. love to gym. the rooms are spacious and clean. love the lobby bar. and this is THE power breakfast spot in NYC. highly recommend. you can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank clayton j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you so much for the review Clayton J! We love to hear from guests what they enjoy most about their stay with us, and you have neatly summed it up in just a few sentences. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,394 - 1,400 of 1,731 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

Although we had one of the smaller rooms, it was more than adequate with a desk, reading chair, comfortable bed, and well appointed bathroom. Recent renovation is done in a black/white Art Deco style that is perfect for New York. No street noise, which is a big plus for a Midtown location. Short walk to the 63rd and Lexington subway station. Excellent staff. Nothing to fault. Will give this place serious consideration on my next trip.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank maimonChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you so much for the great feedback maimonChicago. We agree with you that we are a great choice for Midtown and our rooms are much larger than most. As part of the renovations that we completed in January 2014, we spent a considerable amount of money on new windows, hence the lack of street noise. We're happy to hear that you noticed! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel over a Friday and Saturday night in the middle of August. We had a wonderful stay. It was a great hotel, with outstanding customer service, and we felt it offered great value for money.

Before I get too far into the review, I think it is worth mentioning that my wife and I are active duty military and although many of the large hotel chains offer military discount I was not aware the Lowes chain did. We had never stayed in a Lowes hotel before and certainly not the Lowes Regency in NYC. There are some other big hotel chains in the area that offered military discounts but they were either not available or not as generous as the Lowes Regency. We were very much appreciative to the Lowes Regency.

The location is great if you are looking for nearby shopping options and want to spend a lot of time in Central Park. The hotel is located a little off the high tourist area, so it isn’t as loud or crazy as other locations. There are plenty of metro stops nearby as well. We walked one evening (we didn’t feel up to fighting for a taxi) from a Broadway show near Times Square back to the hotel but it was definitely a little bit too long to do more than once.

If you are driving, there are lots of parking options. You can do valet parking with the hotel or find a parking garage nearby.

Our room was on the 18th floor, and was a superior king room. For NYC standards, the room was pretty big. Large king bed, desk/chairs, sitting chair, dresser with very large flat screen TV and a very good size closet with robes. There was a night stand on each side of the bed with lamps that had the outlets built directly into the base of the lamp making charging cell phones and other electronics very easy. The bathroom was pretty small but manageable. Be forewarned that if you stay in one of the more economical rooms that a separate tub will not be included. Instead you will have a shower/tub combo. We really enjoyed the flat screen TV that was offered in the bathroom as well. Water was always hot with good water pressure. They have soap, shampoo, conditioner, body wash, and body lotion available for free form the Spa downstairs…it was pretty high quality. View was great per NYC as no buildings were immediately outside and we could see a glimpse of Central Park in the background. They have a set of 3 or 4 blinds/curtains for the windows so you can pretty much black it out if you want. Room temperature was no issues; you could change it to whatever you wanted with the thermostat in the room and it was very responsive. The bed was extremely comfortable (my wife said it was one of the best she had seen) and there were tons of extra blankets and pillows. There is a fridge in the room but it is stocked with items for you to buy so bring a cooler if you need to refrigerate items. We were surprised that the room was a bit noisy at night as you could hear your neighbors return and again heard noise in the morning as our room was next to the housekeeping closet, but for the price we were given we didn’t mind at all. Overall we were very happy with the room.

On the 2nd floor is the gym and spa. The gym is above average; they have some really nice equipment and a decent amount of room. Treadmills, stationary bikes, stride machines, and a bunch of static weight machines. They have a good set of dumbbells with a couple multi-use benches. They have some stability balls and some medicine balls as well. Cross-fit folks won’t like the gym. There are not “free” bars but they do have some free plates and one machine that can be used for pull-ups. There is also a women’s and men’s locker room as well with showers, towels, toiletries, etc.

We also took advantage of the Fiat car service offer. They will give you one ride to any location in Manhattan between 1-8pm. It is first come, first serve. We used it for one our trips downtown. We walked downstairs, waited about 3-4 minutes, and one of the hotel staff members walked us to the car, let us in, and drove us to our location. Our driver was extremely nice and we loved the service.

They also offered free evening turndown service and your choice of newspaper delivery every morning (USA Today, NYT and another that I can’t recall). We were super impressed that they delivered the full Sunday NYT to our room. We found the customer service/staff to be outstanding and every housekeeper we encountered was extremely friendly. We were always greeted upon entering and exiting the building and any issues we had were resolved quickly. We especially appreciated the letter notice that arrived under our door one morning about the “Summer Streets” event as we had been unaware of it upon arrival. My wife and I rented bikes and loved being able to ride down the middle of Park Avenue. It was a highlight.

My wife and I were extremely happy with our stay at the Lowes Regency on Park Avenue. We were impressed by the great service amenities and touches. It was probably one of our top hotel experiences. Thanks Lowes Regency!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback Jeffrey D! That is one truly comprehensive review. We really value for your time and your feedback and we're very happy to hear that you had a "WOW" experience. Thank you for all that you do for our country, and we're happy that we could look after you for a weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed at Loews Regency while on business in NYC. WOW. There is nothing to fault in this outstanding hotel. From the moment Barry Smith greeted us at the door (and remembered our names throughout our stay), we were made to feel like we were the most important guests that Loews had ever hosted. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, immaculate, and incredibly well-appointed. There were power points all over the room and for once, plenty of lighting. The free wifi worked well. To a person, the staff were outstanding. The concierge and front desk staff are to be commended along with Barry. The only - and this is very minor/picky - thing we can say is that the bathroom was a bit small. There would have been plenty of room left in the room if some of it had been used to increase the size of the bathroom. Having said that, the TV embedded in the bathroom mirror was a hoot and it was nice to have an extra dressing table outside of the bathroom! The location is walkable to mid-town for shows and shopping, if you don't mind a pleasant walk of perhaps a dozen blocks. Thanks for a great stay and we will certainly stay again when we come to NY.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MooseMom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you so much for the kind words MooseMom10 and for visiting all the way from New Zealand. We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us and were well looked after by our team members. Barry is always a hit with our guests and really is one of our star performers. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in NYC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just took a quick trip to the city this past weekend and decided to stay at The Loews Regency. Two reason I selected this hotel: We have one in New Orleans, where I live, that is top notch, so I expected the same experience and also because the reviews I had read on tripadvisor were consistently excellent. The experience we had at this hotel was just that, EXCELLENT! The staff was incredibly friendly and very helpful. In particular, our bartender, EMILY, and the doorman, BARRY! We loved those two! Emily quickly became our friend and made great recommendations for places to go after dinner and after the shows and Barry was always ready to jump in and help us with whatever we needed in getting places! The room was beautiful and comfortable! I loved being able to walk down and get my complimentary coffee each morning and also loved the crowd of locals that would stop by the bar each day. Very friendly people! The only thing that was inconvenient was that we needed to print last minute tickets to Aladdin (which was spectacular, might I add!) and JUST to get online for 2 minutes to log in to our email and print, we had to pay $7.50 for using the computer plus the expense to print our show tickets. My recommendation would be that each room maybe get 4 free print outs (for a typical family of 4) while staying JUST in case they are in the same boat and honestly either forgot to print their tickets before arriving or bought them last minute. For the price of the room, I feel that its reasonable. Other than that, we LOVED our stay at The Loews Regency and would delightfully return! THANK YOU for taking our NYC weekend up several notches! -Crystal from New Orleans

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you so much for the feedback Crystal C from New Orleans. We love to hear from our guests about their experiences, and it sounds like you had a wonderful weekend in NYC. We are happy to be a part of it! Thank you for the feedback regarding the print outs....we will definitely flag this and see what we can do in the future. Come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We simply loved it. I was there from August 14 till Aug 21st, myself and my daughters and Loews made our staying the best we could have. Superbe room amd furniture, excellent welcome presents and complimentary drinks, room very silent, excellent quality of all Staff, from doorbell to Concierge ( great helps from them) the beds were very confortable and great quality of linen, room always clean, bathroom was always tidy. when back in the evening from dinner or theatre everything was perfect for the sleep. Nice smiling doormen, and above all the location: Park Avenue at 61st!! Gorgeous hotel, everytime I will be back, that will be MY PLACE. M.Gloria Giani

Room Tip: all are great choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaGloria37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you so much for the kind words GloriaMaria37. That's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you will be back. We look forward to it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Staff is great!! Berry the bellman, Anne the hostess. Christian the restaurant manager.. Very attentive and upbeat. Charming staff who made us feel at home. On our last day we missed out on breakfast because we woke up late. Fortunately Anne and Chris pulled some strings with chefs and next thing you know. Breakfast was being served.. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gzzzzzzzxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for the great feedback Gzzzzzzzxxxxx about our amazing team members. We will be sure that Barry, Anne and Christian all receive the recognition they deserve. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Langham New York Fifth Avenue
Upper East Side
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Hotel Plaza Athenee
#204 of 473 in New York City
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#100 of 473 in New York City
1,933 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 473 in New York City
3,047 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#27 of 473 in New York City
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Regency New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Regency New York Hotel

Address: 540 Park Avenue, 61st Street, New York City, NY 10065-7366
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in New York City
#8 Business Hotel in New York City
#10 Green Hotel in New York City
#33 Family Hotel in New York City
#38 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#39 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £239 - £546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Loews Regency New York Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the benefits of Midtown Manhattan at your fingertips, with a Park Avenue address. The re-imagination of the new Loews Regency New York hotel sets a new standard in luxury and thoughtful design with the traveler's needs in mind. With thoughtful service genuinely delivered, our goal is to make sure you can focus on your plans while visiting New York City, whether it is for work or play. Let us take care of the little but all-important details, like complimentary pressing of two garments upon arrival. (Welcome to wrinkle-free travel.) Leave your hairdryer at home-here at Loews Regency New York, there is a Julien Farel professional hair dryer in every room. And if you're fed up of being charged for Internet access, take heart. Here, you'll find free Wi-Fi, for up to three devices, throughout the hotel, including in your room. Even better, you only have to log in once. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelbag, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Regency New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency New York City
Regency Hotel New York
New York City Regency
Loews New York City
New York City Loews
Regency Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing