We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Ranked #28 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“New York”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Booked by our travel agent, but very happy with the choice. The hotel room was spacious, modern and immaculate. Staff could not do enough for us, so helpful and nothing was any trouble. We were close to Central Park and a short walk to the subway.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 505Marg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review 505Marg and thank you for traveling all this way to see us! Even though your stay was booked by your travel agent, we hope we left enough of an impression on you for you to come and stay with us again when you are next in NYC! Safe travels until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,076
    216
    75
    33
    17
See reviews for
469
424
54
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

My friends and I had a great stay here at Loews Regency in NYC! It's conveniently located close to midtown shopping and Central Park. We originally had booked 2 rooms but Dave at the front desk upgraded us to a 2 bedroom suite! The suite is beautiful, clean, very spacious, and had an awesome view of Park Ave & 61st St.

We also made use of the Fiat. If you need a ride, the FIAT service is available to drive you anywhere in the city.

There's also a nice lounge just off the front entrance, we got free coffee there every morning because there is no coffee maker in the suite. Around the corner, there is a nice little cafe for morning pastries.

Special mentions to Marco, the FIAT organizer; Charles, the FIAT driver; Christian, the lounge manager; Chris, one of the hotel managers; and Barry, THE most awesome doorman!!!!

We will definitely be staying at this hotel again. Thanks everyone at Loews!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank caliprincess88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you caliprincess88 for the glowing review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much and our team members really left an impression on you! We look forward to welcoming you back when you're next in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 9 days.
Lovely Hotel good location room very clean and comfortable.
However, when I arrived I could not check into my room at 4pm by 4.30pm no one had come to see me in the lounge and update me on progress. Finally I went to the front desk and complained
to the front desk staff who eventually told me the room was finally ready.
Concierge and Front Desk hotel staff. Very condescending (matter of fact attitude) first impression for guests very disappointing.
Even though I enjoyed this hotel which was very good, this episode spoiled it for me.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PA5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you so much for your review Paul. We truly appreciate our guests taking the time to send us feedback. With that said, we are very disappointed to read about your experience and hope you will accept our sincere apologies for your first impression. Please do come back and give us another chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I've stayed in numerous NYC hotels over the years (and many hotels in other cities), and after my first stay at the Loews Regency Hotel, it is my top choice! I recommend staying in the hotel for the high quality of service and attention to detail that the staff offers; everyone is friendly, happy, and attentive. The food was outstanding and will certainly not disappoint, along with the chic decor in the lobby and guest rooms. I had breakfast, cocktails, or dinner at the lobby bar every day to try an item or two on the appetizing menu. The servers were attentive and remembered me. Luxurious Frette bed linens and unique bath products - Julien Farel. Complementary WiFi throughout the hotel - it was like having a Park Avenue apartment - the best location in the city, convenient to Central Park, incredible shopping, cultural attractions, and businesses. The hotel is ideal for both business and leisure travel, and I am looking forward to my next visit to NYC and staying at the Loews Regency Hotel and using many of the amenities I didn't have time to use including the gym and car service. And eating again at the Regency Bar and Grill. Complements to the management.

Room Tip: Depending upon preference ask for a Park Avenue or 61st Street view. Shades cancel light and noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica90028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you so much for the excellent review Monica90028! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay so much and were able to sample our delicious new menu in The Regency Bar & Grill. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and will be happy to take care of arranging the extra amenities for you so you can take full advantage next time. Safe travels until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
137 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

just a great hotel in an incredible location. central to EVERYTHING in NYC. this is my go to hotel in NYC. newly renovated. great service. amazing staff. superb concierge. love to gym. the rooms are spacious and clean. love the lobby bar. and this is THE power breakfast spot in NYC. highly recommend. you can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clayton j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you so much for the review Clayton J! We love to hear from guests what they enjoy most about their stay with us, and you have neatly summed it up in just a few sentences. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Although we had one of the smaller rooms, it was more than adequate with a desk, reading chair, comfortable bed, and well appointed bathroom. Recent renovation is done in a black/white Art Deco style that is perfect for New York. No street noise, which is a big plus for a Midtown location. Short walk to the 63rd and Lexington subway station. Excellent staff. Nothing to fault. Will give this place serious consideration on my next trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maimonChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you so much for the great feedback maimonChicago. We agree with you that we are a great choice for Midtown and our rooms are much larger than most. As part of the renovations that we completed in January 2014, we spent a considerable amount of money on new windows, hence the lack of street noise. We're happy to hear that you noticed! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel over a Friday and Saturday night in the middle of August. We had a wonderful stay. It was a great hotel, with outstanding customer service, and we felt it offered great value for money.

Before I get too far into the review, I think it is worth mentioning that my wife and I are active duty military and although many of the large hotel chains offer military discount I was not aware the Lowes chain did. We had never stayed in a Lowes hotel before and certainly not the Lowes Regency in NYC. There are some other big hotel chains in the area that offered military discounts but they were either not available or not as generous as the Lowes Regency. We were very much appreciative to the Lowes Regency.

The location is great if you are looking for nearby shopping options and want to spend a lot of time in Central Park. The hotel is located a little off the high tourist area, so it isn’t as loud or crazy as other locations. There are plenty of metro stops nearby as well. We walked one evening (we didn’t feel up to fighting for a taxi) from a Broadway show near Times Square back to the hotel but it was definitely a little bit too long to do more than once.

If you are driving, there are lots of parking options. You can do valet parking with the hotel or find a parking garage nearby.

Our room was on the 18th floor, and was a superior king room. For NYC standards, the room was pretty big. Large king bed, desk/chairs, sitting chair, dresser with very large flat screen TV and a very good size closet with robes. There was a night stand on each side of the bed with lamps that had the outlets built directly into the base of the lamp making charging cell phones and other electronics very easy. The bathroom was pretty small but manageable. Be forewarned that if you stay in one of the more economical rooms that a separate tub will not be included. Instead you will have a shower/tub combo. We really enjoyed the flat screen TV that was offered in the bathroom as well. Water was always hot with good water pressure. They have soap, shampoo, conditioner, body wash, and body lotion available for free form the Spa downstairs…it was pretty high quality. View was great per NYC as no buildings were immediately outside and we could see a glimpse of Central Park in the background. They have a set of 3 or 4 blinds/curtains for the windows so you can pretty much black it out if you want. Room temperature was no issues; you could change it to whatever you wanted with the thermostat in the room and it was very responsive. The bed was extremely comfortable (my wife said it was one of the best she had seen) and there were tons of extra blankets and pillows. There is a fridge in the room but it is stocked with items for you to buy so bring a cooler if you need to refrigerate items. We were surprised that the room was a bit noisy at night as you could hear your neighbors return and again heard noise in the morning as our room was next to the housekeeping closet, but for the price we were given we didn’t mind at all. Overall we were very happy with the room.

On the 2nd floor is the gym and spa. The gym is above average; they have some really nice equipment and a decent amount of room. Treadmills, stationary bikes, stride machines, and a bunch of static weight machines. They have a good set of dumbbells with a couple multi-use benches. They have some stability balls and some medicine balls as well. Cross-fit folks won’t like the gym. There are not “free” bars but they do have some free plates and one machine that can be used for pull-ups. There is also a women’s and men’s locker room as well with showers, towels, toiletries, etc.

We also took advantage of the Fiat car service offer. They will give you one ride to any location in Manhattan between 1-8pm. It is first come, first serve. We used it for one our trips downtown. We walked downstairs, waited about 3-4 minutes, and one of the hotel staff members walked us to the car, let us in, and drove us to our location. Our driver was extremely nice and we loved the service.

They also offered free evening turndown service and your choice of newspaper delivery every morning (USA Today, NYT and another that I can’t recall). We were super impressed that they delivered the full Sunday NYT to our room. We found the customer service/staff to be outstanding and every housekeeper we encountered was extremely friendly. We were always greeted upon entering and exiting the building and any issues we had were resolved quickly. We especially appreciated the letter notice that arrived under our door one morning about the “Summer Streets” event as we had been unaware of it upon arrival. My wife and I rented bikes and loved being able to ride down the middle of Park Avenue. It was a highlight.

My wife and I were extremely happy with our stay at the Lowes Regency on Park Avenue. We were impressed by the great service amenities and touches. It was probably one of our top hotel experiences. Thanks Lowes Regency!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback Jeffrey D! That is one truly comprehensive review. We really value for your time and your feedback and we're very happy to hear that you had a "WOW" experience. Thank you for all that you do for our country, and we're happy that we could look after you for a weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#7 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#63 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Regency New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Regency New York Hotel

Property: Loews Regency New York Hotel
Address: 540 Park Avenue, 61st Street, New York City, NY 10065-7366
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New York City
#8 Business Hotel in New York City
#10 Green Hotel in New York City
#25 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#39 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#51 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Loews Regency New York Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the benefits of Midtown Manhattan at your fingertips, with a Park Avenue address. The re-imagination of the new Loews Regency New York hotel sets a new standard in luxury and thoughtful design with the traveler's needs in mind. With thoughtful service genuinely delivered, our goal is to make sure you can focus on your plans while visiting New York City, whether it is for work or play. Let us take care of the little but all-important details, like complimentary pressing of two garments upon arrival. (Welcome to wrinkle-free travel.) Leave your hairdryer at home-here at Loews Regency New York, there is a Julien Farel professional hair dryer in every room. And if you're fed up of being charged for Internet access, take heart. Here, you'll find free Wi-Fi, for up to three devices, throughout the hotel, including in your room. Even better, you only have to log in once. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Regency New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency New York City
Regency Hotel New York
New York City Regency
Loews New York City
New York City Loews
Regency Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing