We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Service and Renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Ranked #28 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular Service and Renovation”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

This was our first time staying at the hotel since the renovation, and it is absolutely beautiful. The staff was excellent in all aspects of the hotel: the front desk, bellman, restaurant, housekeeping, and the FIAT driver. I could not have asked for a better experience. We stayed in the Grand Executive Suite. It is easily the nicest hotel room I have ever stayed in. The marble bathrooms are so pretty. I love the cool colors in the room. The bed was so comfortable. The three nights I was there are the best sleep I have had in months! The Regency made our one-year wedding anniversary very special. I would recommend staying here a thousand times over.

Room Tip: The hotel is only two blocks from Central Park and walking distance to Broadway shows. You can also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review Amanda R! Thank you for staying with us to celebrate your first wedding anniversary...we are so happy we could be part of your special day! We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,076
    216
    75
    33
    17
See reviews for
469
424
54
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2014

The hotel was excellent and it's recent makeover was completed to a very good standard. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the Fiat car service was very handy. If you're looking for a place near Central Park, this is a very good option and I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review James V! We are thrilled you decided to stay with us for your first ever stay in NYC, and are happy to hear that we delivered on everything you expected! Please let us know when you are coming back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I travel to New York 4-5 times a year to visit my children and get my city fix! I am so happy with the new Loews. Finally there is a wonderful luxury hotel in a great midtown location. Everything is fresh and clean. Bar was fun not stuffy. Staff goes out of their way to make sure you are happy and taken care of. Rooms are large with lots of closet space! I don't know where they got their beds but I had the best nights sleep in years! Water bottles from the doormen when you are heading out are a nice touch too.

  • Stayed September 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for the kind words Betsy396! It sounds like you know a fine hotel when you see one! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon when you're next in NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The Loews Regency is in a great location in a quiet area on Park Avenue within walking to tons of shopping, restaurants and Central Park. Staff is attentive and customer-focused. The rooms are big by New York-standards and everything is modern.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you so much Jamie F! We love to hear from our guests and we think you've summed it up all very nicely! Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Had an amazing experience at Loews Regency- Everyone working at the hotel was cheerful and extremely helpful. The room was enormous for New York City- bathroom was exquisite, king sized bed was extremely comfortable... great location!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review mkof! Our rooms are large for NYC, aren't they? Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Location excellent, rooms large & quiet, staff outstanding. I was here before the its renovation and now the hotel is even better. Staying on Park Ave. lets me walk to most all of mid town New York and walking in New York is part of the charm of being there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pionm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for your review Pionm. We are thrilled that you stayed with us pre-renovation and post-renovation and that you enjoy our new look and feel just as much, if not more so than before. As you mention, the hotel is in a perfect location to walk everywhere, and we agree that walking in NYC is all part of the charm of the city. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Have to echo what a number of other reviews say - nice, but not as nice as I thought it would be from the website. I got a good deal on this hotel via Expedia, and for the price I paid (£190 a night, inc tax), it was pretty good. However, if I'd have paid regular price, I'd have been a little disappointed. My review is based on the price I paid, rather than the regular price, and I'd actually give 3.5 stars if possible - good but not very good.

Firstly, the good: room was a decent size for New York, exceptionally comfy bed, big HD TV in the room, nice bathroom with a tub and shower, plenty of power outlets in the room, and great, friendly porters and door men.

The not so good: In common with a couple of other reviewers, my first impression wasn't great. I arrived at 11:30 and was attended to by a very terse receptionist. It was all 'answers of one syllable only', no eye contact and really gave the impression that I was an annoyance rather than a guest. I was told that my room would be ready at 16:00 (I arrived at 11:30), and that I'd be called when it was ready, so I headed downtown for some lunch. 16:00 came and went with no call, so I walked back to the hotel, and was told (by a different receptionist) that my room had been ready for a while, but nobody had called to tell me. A bit annoying after a long flight when all you want to do is check in and grab a shower...

Other grumbles? The gym was out of use for the first 2 days I was there (no idea after that, I didn't check), due to water leaks, apparently. If I'd paid full price, the chips out of the marble in the shower, and the discoloured, rusty plug would be disappointing, as would my view over the fire escapes and air con units of a neighbouring building. The (very noisy) air conditioning wasn't working particularly well - during a 3 day stay, the room temperature never dropped below 73 degrees, despite the air con being on its coldest setting throughout. My room was pretty close to the lifts, and every time they arrived on our floor, the double bell was clearly audible (day and night). The free Fiat service was fully booked for the entire 3 nights / 4 days I was there, and that was common for a lot of guests I overheard trying to book. I appreciate that they are a limited availability service, but much is made of the service on the Loews website, and it seems that you need to book weeks or months in advance to make use of these, which kind of takes the spontaneity out of your visit. When I checked out, there was a random $35 minibar charge on my bill (I'd not even opened the door on the minibar after I found the prices!). The charge was removed, but I'm glad I checked my bill carefully...

All the niggles may sound minor, and for a £190 a night hotel, they are. However, this is marketed as a luxury hotel, and is priced accordingly (how about $33 for breakfast, $13 for a small pack of M&Ms from the minibar, and $12 for a regular bottle of still water..?!), so I think you're justified in expecting better.

Would I stay here again? Maybe, but it wouldn't be my first choice. In the same luxury class, I've stayed at better - the London NYC and the (amazing) Library Hotel are way better in my opinion, and similarly priced.

Don't get me wrong, this is a pretty good hotel, but it's not as good as it thinks it is. My experience with the front of house meant that I didn't feel particularly welcome, so didn't feel the inclination to try the (expensive) restaurant or bars - there are plenty of alternatives in the area. First impressions really do count.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts - the arrival bell actually woke me up a couple of times on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, General Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
tredders_UK: Thank you for such a succinct review. I apologize for the issues you encountered and will definitely be reading your commentary in its entirety at my staff meetting this week. What sticks out in my mind is: 'this is a pretty good hotel, but it's not as good as it thinks it is'. It brings to mind my father admonishing me when I was in my first hotel job and being somewhat boastful - he said: 'Don't get too ahead of yourself there - all of this can turn on a dime'. You're critique brings to mind the need to truly sweat the small details every day and take nothing for granted. I do hope you will come see us again - and please reach out to me personally when you do. Your patronage is valued, as is your review.

Kindly,

Jim

jmcpartlin@loewshotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#7 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#63 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Regency New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Regency New York Hotel

Property: Loews Regency New York Hotel
Address: 540 Park Avenue, 61st Street, New York City, NY 10065-7366
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New York City
#8 Business Hotel in New York City
#10 Green Hotel in New York City
#25 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#39 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#51 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Loews Regency New York Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the benefits of Midtown Manhattan at your fingertips, with a Park Avenue address. The re-imagination of the new Loews Regency New York hotel sets a new standard in luxury and thoughtful design with the traveler's needs in mind. With thoughtful service genuinely delivered, our goal is to make sure you can focus on your plans while visiting New York City, whether it is for work or play. Let us take care of the little but all-important details, like complimentary pressing of two garments upon arrival. (Welcome to wrinkle-free travel.) Leave your hairdryer at home-here at Loews Regency New York, there is a Julien Farel professional hair dryer in every room. And if you're fed up of being charged for Internet access, take heart. Here, you'll find free Wi-Fi, for up to three devices, throughout the hotel, including in your room. Even better, you only have to log in once. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Regency New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency New York City
Regency Hotel New York
New York City Regency
Loews New York City
New York City Loews
Regency Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing