We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A first class hotel in all respects”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royalton New York Hotel
Ranked #249 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A first class hotel in all respects”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Having stayed at the Royalton last month I would not hesitate to return there or recommend. I have no complaints and the service across the board was fantastic - a big thanks especially to Qiara and Clay who were outstanding.
Worthy of comment was that the music in the bar could not have been better!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBR_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for your recommendation! I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,033
    697
    312
    94
    41
See reviews for
248
1,075
131
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We enjoyed our four days and nights at the recently renovated Royalton. Our room was just what we needed: quiet, comfortable, functional. The hotel supplies an iPad for free use - a nice touch. The hotel's mid-town location turned out to be quite convenient for us. Also, all of the staff members that we spoke to were friendly, courteous and helpful.

There were a couple of things that we didn't like. The entry foyer, reception, and the first floor elevator areas are very poorly lit. It's hard for us to understand how anybody thought that this design choice was a good idea.

Also, for what it's worth: there is a depression in the top of the basin in our bathroom that is clearly intended for the soap, but it does drain into the sink in any logical way. Consequently, the top of the basin quickly accumulates soapy puddle of water on its surface.

Overall though, we had a very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
I am glad to hear you enjoyed our comfortable rooms, in-room iPads, and helpful staff. I’m sorry you felt there was a minor design flaw in our sinks, but I am happy to hear you still had an enjoyable stay. We hope you’ll join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I've been staying at the Royalton for over 6 years. Excellent service and hospitality - a stylish yet cozy retreat from the hustle and bustle from the city. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We pride ourselves in being your home away from home, and look forward to welcoming you back again and again. Until the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed three nights at the swanky Royalton in New York. Just as other reviews stated, the front door is very low key. Once inside, it transforms into a very cool, dimly lit club kind of atomsphere. The staff was very receptive and helpful (Halley) and more friendly than one might expect in NY. We stayed in a suite (430 sq. ft.). Very nice room with comfortable seating and a Great bed. The bathroom is tight with very limited counter space (almost none) but, the shower is awesome. Nice quiet rooms, very clean and again, really friendly and helpful staff.
Downstairs, the drinks are good, the food is very good. This is a great Ian Schrager hotel in New York at affordable rates.
We will stay here again. Cheers.

Room Tip: It is New York, so make sure you ask about size. Our suite was great for two and probably could acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thedris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
I am thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Royalton. It sounds like we hit the mark from the moment you walked in, and we look forward to doing that every time you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

PLACE: a temple entrance on a Starck experience
SERVECES: concierge can let you enter everywhere
PEOPLE: italian & stylish
CHERRY ON THE CAKE: good finger's food in the lobby

GO THERE FOR: to get an ally in New York

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wineonbody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
I am happy to hear you felt our concierges were in the know, and that our hotel has become your ally in New York City. Please come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed here for four nights in June. It's an excellent location. 2min walk from the heart of Times Square, close to empire state building, and no where to central park. I've heard so many bad stories about hotels in times square with regard to cleanliness. The royalton feels very clean and comfortable. Doesn't have the big box dirty hotel feel. The rooms are average size for NYC, plenty of room for myself and my wife. Yes the lobby is dark, but it's just the style they went with. We loved it. Quiet, luxurious hotel with great service. ANYONE that I know going to NYC I will be sending them to the Royalton!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
I am so happy to hear you enjoyed our location right next to time square and our stylish lobby. We look forward welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This is one of the best hotels in midtown. An oasis of calm and quality. There rooms are clean and the staff is accomodating. Went there for a long weekend recently and loved all the pampering they provided. The ipad in each room for your personal use ... isn't bad either. My husband and I love it here. Would highly recommend this place for a getaway weekend treat.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade. Larger room on top floor away from elevators. Careful about valet parking. Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveler8147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thank you for your recommendation. I am thrilled Royalton has become your Midtown oasis. We look forward to your next weekend getaway with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,531 reviews
Midtown
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square...
#185 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Midtown
Morgans New York Hotel
Morgans New York Hotel
#192 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#223 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#64 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,333 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalton New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton New York Hotel

Property: Royalton New York Hotel
Address: 44 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6604
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#132 Business Hotel in New York City
#159 Family Hotel in New York City
#166 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royalton New York Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgans commissioned Roman Williams, to re-create Royalton's legendary lobby. The design - simultaneously sophisticated and complex - juxtaposes an icy cast-glass vestibule and brass furnishings with soft suede upholstery, thick leather walls and hide-covered chairs to create a dark, sexy and luxurious space. Design and architectural details include a mammoth floor-to-ceiling hand forged cast-bronze fireplace, a twenty-foot screen that was once part of the facade of a building in France and hand-upholstered leather walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royalton New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royalton New York Hotel New York City
Royalton New York City
New York City Royalton
Royalton Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing