We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Yorks best kept secret !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royalton New York Hotel
Ranked #270 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This hotel is part of the Morgan group of designer hotels and is an experience in itself..
Even if you don't stay, pop in and have a look at the lobby, it's amazing !!
The interiors were designed by world leading designer Philip stark and it shows..
5 star all the way with little hidden extras and surprised everywhere..
A great feature we had in our room was a fire place and massive round bath that could fit a whole family if you wanted to!! The room was very well sized for New York and features an iPad for you to help arrange your days outings....
Location is perfect and close to all the New York mayhem while being in a slightly quieter tucked away location..
Can't wait to visit this property again !!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craiganddaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Thank you for such a great review! It sounds like you had the chance to enjoy one of our Alcove Suites with a fireplace and five foot round soaking tub. I’m thrilled to hear you enjoyed our hotels décor and overall ambiance; we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,386 - 1,392 of 2,279 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed at the Royalton for 5 nights with our teenage sons in June. The hotel was recommended to us by our wedding co-ordinatior as we were renewing our wedding vows in New York.
The staff were really friendly and made massive effort to help us out with lots of recommendations.
The hotel is very cool....in a stylish way.... My teenage sons thought it was like an Abercrombie And Fitch shop as is it cool, dark and has a great atmosphere.
The room was nice and we had two double beds. There is however very limited storage space. It was extremely difficult to hang and put away all our clothes in the space that was available. There is also limited shelf space in the bathroom for toiletries. I think they try very hard to be stylish and some things are slightly missing. It is still a highly recommended hotel. The staff over the entire stay were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble and they were really friendly.
There were a couple of things we were disappointed with. We were told wi-fi was an extra cost but as we were paying over $2,500 for our stay we thought this was unfair.
Also, as we were renewing our wedding vows, our friends had been in touch to organise champagne for us on the morning. We didn't receive this. It was only after the event that friends asked me if we had received it, which of course we hadn't. I went to speak to them at reception and after some deliberation and enquiry, I was informed that they had come to the room but we had do not disturb sign on the door (this was only on whilst I was getting ready as the maid kept knocking at the door to clean the room) so they didn't deliver it, no note was placed under the door as normally would happen. We were also not told about it afterwards and it was only when I enquiried that I knew about it, I was disappointed with this and we were then offered the champagne but as it was at the end of the day ( the day after our wesding) and we were leaving early in the morning it wasn't something we felt we could enjoy. It did spoil things for us slightly. It was a little bit disappointing for the hotel not to even acknowledge our celebration, not that it should be expected but a bit of effort would have been nice.. that's the main reason that we couldn't give higher stars for this hotel..
Otherwise great hotel, great location. Just missing on personal touch slightly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JayCeesNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

I am pleased to hear our staff was friendly and helpful throughout your stay. My apologies that we did not acknowledge the renewal of your vows. We strive to celebrate all of life’s milestones and make every guest’s stay special and it sounds like we fell short of that. I hope you’ll give us another chance to celebrate a future occasion with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights with my mum. The place is great. The hotel is in a great spot that is close to everything. It feels like a tiny hotel which is a nice change from huge hotels we have stayed at in the the past. Great hotel if you want an excellent, central spot to visit NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street as they have lots of big windows and are bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoelKelly1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

I am glad you enjoyed our central location in New York City. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This has been my hotel of choice in NYC for my last few visits. Previously I had stayed downtown at the Soho Grand, but made a decision to move to midtown for ease of access to my new offices. The hotel is cool with a trendy vibe without being too far up it's own bottom. The rooms are very modern with great added touches like the ipads. Bar staff are attractive and knowledgeable and mix a great mojito. All in all very good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexFamily55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

It is always good to hear that we have become someone’s hotel of choice. I am so happy you enjoyed the amenities in our rooms and our friendly staff. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Having stayed at the Royalton last month I would not hesitate to return there or recommend. I have no complaints and the service across the board was fantastic - a big thanks especially to Qiara and Clay who were outstanding.
Worthy of comment was that the music in the bar could not have been better!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisBR_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Thank you for your recommendation! I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We enjoyed our four days and nights at the recently renovated Royalton. Our room was just what we needed: quiet, comfortable, functional. The hotel supplies an iPad for free use - a nice touch. The hotel's mid-town location turned out to be quite convenient for us. Also, all of the staff members that we spoke to were friendly, courteous and helpful.

There were a couple of things that we didn't like. The entry foyer, reception, and the first floor elevator areas are very poorly lit. It's hard for us to understand how anybody thought that this design choice was a good idea.

Also, for what it's worth: there is a depression in the top of the basin in our bathroom that is clearly intended for the soap, but it does drain into the sink in any logical way. Consequently, the top of the basin quickly accumulates soapy puddle of water on its surface.

Overall though, we had a very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

I am glad to hear you enjoyed our comfortable rooms, in-room iPads, and helpful staff. I’m sorry you felt there was a minor design flaw in our sinks, but I am happy to hear you still had an enjoyable stay. We hope you’ll join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I've been staying at the Royalton for over 6 years. Excellent service and hospitality - a stylish yet cozy retreat from the hustle and bustle from the city. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jorge F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We pride ourselves in being your home away from home, and look forward to welcoming you back again and again. Until the next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#42 of 469 in New York City
3,799 reviews
Midtown
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square...
#205 of 469 in New York City
2,011 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#120 of 469 in New York City
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#69 of 469 in New York City
3,271 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,745 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#86 of 469 in New York City
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalton New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton New York Hotel

Address: 44 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#129 Business Hotel in New York City
#155 Family Hotel in New York City
#180 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £153 - £462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royalton New York Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive from the very start, the Royalton began as upscale residences overlooking 43rd and 44th Streets before becoming the sophisticated boutique hotel it is today. A canvas showcasing the work of well-known design firm Roman and Williams, the Royalton plays with light and texture to create an intimate and urbane mood from the moment you walk through the door, while Charlotte Macau’s attention to detail in our luxury rooms offer a sleek and timeless style with maximum comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Royalton New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royalton New York Hotel New York City
Royalton New York City
New York City Royalton
Royalton Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing