We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York In Style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royalton New York Hotel
Ranked #247 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“New York In Style”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed at the Royalton NYC for 4 nights mid-October. The hotel is in an excellent location - easy walks to Times Square, Bryant Park, Grand Central and the surrounding mid-town areas. The staff were friendly, welcoming and understanding. The dark, stylish lobby and bar areas were just what I was looking for, and the lively atmosphere that one finds in the evenings makes it quite enjoyable.

The room and en-suite were decorated well - clean, classy and comfortable. No issues at all settling in. Once again the lighting provided that slightly dark, elegant atmosphere that I actually found appealing. A downside comes in the fact that some of the rooms facing 44th Street experience some noise in the way of passing traffic, but this wasn't an issue enough to cause disappointment. On the contrary, I enjoyed the feeling of being in the middle of busy midtown New York.

The Royalton would be my choice of hotel when I return to New York at some point in the future. It certainly helped make my visit to NYC amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dilen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of Royalton. You gave such a great description of our prime location in Manhattan. We are happy to hear that Royalton is now your choice hotel in New York and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,033
    697
    312
    94
    41
See reviews for
248
1,075
131
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My experience of staying at Royalton was good. Initially when we entered the hotel we found very noise and dark but then we started liking it as it was very lively hotel. Rooms were good and Washroom were very very good. plus Time Square was like two steps away so very much in heart of city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janki76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Your short and sweet review is greatly appreciated. I am thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Royalton. Our location is great for a quick walk to Times Square and our lobby is a great escape from busy Midtown Manhattan. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

It's hard to add anything new to the many compliments already on Trip Advisor.

Everyone is different, but we had little regret at staying here for 3 nights at the start of November. This was a birthday treat for me and didn't disappoint.

Great service, friendly and knowledgeable concierge, quiet room, great shower - especially after walking Manhattan all day - and a very welcome central location. Thermostat allowed us to easily alter the room temp.Taking advice from here, we asked to change our room away from the lift and this was done without any problem. On the 14th floor, no street or corridor or bar noise.

Thanks Halle!

2 small gripes - the lighting is dark, "minimalist". How about a dimmer switch in the room and also a light in the walk-in wardrobe? I had to use my phone to find clothes and to see the safe! The bar is very stylish but expensive. Excellent service, and selection,but 18% non-optional gratuity? Better to enjoy the hotel and eat out - great breakfast diner across the street and so many bars to choose.

On holiday. so we never saw or used the pool or spa, (do you need one for a short holiday in New York?), but scored these to make sure the overall rating didn't suffer.

Room Tip: Go higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macfromscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you very much for such a glowing review. I am thrilled to hear how our great guest service, comfortable room, and wonderful shower made your stay. I am sorry the lighting in your wardrobe was too low and was an inconvenience during your stay. I hope you’ll join us again soon for another special occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My partner and I stayed in the Royalton in Feb. this year, I have never written a review about any hotel before, but I have slowly become more and more annoyed that we put up with the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.Clearly the room had been divided into two , making it the smallest room I have ever stayed in , on top of this ever electric switch you touched gave you a short , sharp shock! There was one plug only under a table to plug in a hair dryer or phone , as long as you crawled under it!!! This hotel is not cool , just trying to be!!!!
The prices of drinks were extortionate , even my Newyork friends thought so, I have stayed in any 5 star hotels around the world and this definitely not .
Ps my partner emailed before we went to say it was my birthday and they could not even be bothered answering back, next time back to the Peninsula.

Room Tip: Make sure you see other rooms before accepting the first they give you !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
I am sorry to hear that your stay at Royalton was disappointing. We strive to continually provide great guest experiences and I am sorry you did not like yours. We realize our room sizes are smaller than those in other cities, but for Midtown New York they are spacious. I welcome you to check out other Morgans Hotel Group hotels in New York that may better fit your travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Got the Royalton on Priceline for 6 nights in October. Overall, the hotel is certainly good, but leaving it at that rather than excellent. The rooms are very clean, stylish, and bathrooms have great amenities. Service was friendly, except that at times there wasn't anyone at the front door. Location is in a quiet-ish mid-town street with plenty of hotels of the same category...

On the flip-side however, the following could be mentioned: any ancillaries, such as laundry, in-room dining, minibar, etc is very, very expensive compared to other 4.5 star hotels in the area. The lobby is like a nightclub (which I generally just passed through straight on to the lifts), and some of the rooms can feel very claustrophobic if they're not street facing (I actually changed mine to s street-facing one). Finally, the corridors can also feel very dark - stylish maybe, but they don't seem entirely functional / secure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quiet_Traveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our central location, stylish rooms, and wonderful bathroom amenities. I am sorry to hear you felt some of the services we provide are over-priced, however our prices are in line with other boutique hotels in New York. You also mentioned that our guest hallways are a little narrow, but there is some great history behind that. Royalton was built in 1898 and originally only had two apartments on each floor with the maid’s quarters in the center of the building. This creates a unique hallway design that adds to the charm of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife and I recently spent one "date" night at the Royalton. We only felt bad that our time was so short that we really didn't get to enjoy the hotel itself very much. The hotel was sexy as anything we have recently seen. The room with king bed and panoramic window was gorgeous. The decor was intriguing with pale gray walls and mahoghany furniture which was just so chic. The lobby was extremely cool and invitingly dim at night. The staff was very friendly and helpful. This place is a gem in midtown with fairly reasonable prices for what it offers. We look forward to another and perhaps longer stay in the near future.

Room Tip: Take the superior KING
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esmerldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Royalton is thrilled to have been a part of your “date” night. I am so happy you enjoyed our warm ambiance and friendly team, it sounds like you really had a magical stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for a longer visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Great Boutique Hotel, the staff was amazing the entire stay, friendly, accommodating. The room though on the smaller side (which seems typical for NYC) was clean and modern. The bathroom was very sleek with mirrors on every wall.
Can't say enough about the hotel staff.....we left on a holiday and the city had the entire street blocked off for a parade and taxi's couldn't get to the front of the hotel, the bellman carried our luggage down an entire city block to help us find a taxi upon checking out.
I would definitely stay at the Royalton again!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for such a great review. I am thrilled to hear the team at Royalton made your stay extra special. Parades can always be tricky in NYC and I’m glad our bellmen were able to help you upon departure. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
Midtown
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square...
#186 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Midtown
Morgans New York Hotel
Morgans New York Hotel
#195 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#222 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#65 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,336 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalton New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton New York Hotel

Property: Royalton New York Hotel
Address: 44 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6604
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#132 Business Hotel in New York City
#159 Family Hotel in New York City
#165 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royalton New York Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgans commissioned Roman Williams, to re-create Royalton's legendary lobby. The design - simultaneously sophisticated and complex - juxtaposes an icy cast-glass vestibule and brass furnishings with soft suede upholstery, thick leather walls and hide-covered chairs to create a dark, sexy and luxurious space. Design and architectural details include a mammoth floor-to-ceiling hand forged cast-bronze fireplace, a twenty-foot screen that was once part of the facade of a building in France and hand-upholstered leather walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royalton New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royalton New York Hotel New York City
Royalton New York City
New York City Royalton
Royalton Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing