We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royalton New York Hotel
Ranked #248 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Outstanding Customer Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

My wife and I went her for her Birthday. Have been to NYC once a year for shopping, shows, games, etc. Have stayed at the Hilton, and Marriott and other 4-5 star hotels. The customer service everyday, from checking in, the the bell hops were outstanding. Very friendly and helpful group. The hotel is in a good location and the rooms where very good. On par with the top hotels. Would def stay again - based on the service!!
Great staff! Bar area crazy at night, very cool place. Even gave us free drinks for my wifes birthday.

Room Tip: As for an upgrade - they did for us was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CVKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
I am so delighted that you and your wife had such a great time at the hotel. It is always great to read when we help to make a special occasion memorable. I look forward to the time you have cause to celebrate in the City, I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,022
    690
    310
    90
    41
See reviews for
246
1,060
130
446
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

The Royalton is in the perfect location. Right in the center of New York City. It is only steps away from Times Square and Broadway.
It's a very nice boutique hotel. The lobby decor is dark, but that is the intimate setting of the hotel. We did notice that the leather furniture in lobby was a little worn and even had a few tears. Rooms are very plain. It seems unfinished due to lack of artwork or any wall hangings, but that didn't take away from our stay.
We stayed in a decent sized room with a fireplace and an awesome bathroom. The room was very clean, but lacking a coffee maker which was a very big disappointment for us.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Over all we had a great 6 day stay here and was very satisfied.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6isenoughforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. I am pleased that you enjoyed our location and the intimate style of the hotel. It is also great to read that you found the staff friendly and helpful. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next stay in the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed at tea Royalton on New Year's Day. It was a last minute decision and last minute reservation booked just the day prior. The front desk staff was very polite and helpful. Walking into the hotel is like walking into a swanky club. The room was on the small side but appropriate for NYC. The bathroom with the mirror ball tile circular tub/shower was awesome and the kids didn't want to get out. Perfect location for shopping and visiting Times Square. Although we did not eat in the hotel restaurant, we did enjoy a great French Cafe right across the street.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay so much and that you enjoyed our central location for shopping and seeing the sights. We look forward to welcoming you back next time the children want to take a swim in one of our 5ft tubs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

I have to start off by saying that this hotel is located in the heart of New York City. There are many activities and places to see close by and it is convenient to the subway to get around the city also. According to the pictures of the Royalton the lobby looks like it would be very big but in reality it is long but very narrow. They make good use of space though. The elevators are tiny and when we got out on our floor the hallways were so narrow it made me think of being on a cruise ship. Our room was pretty nice but FYI there are 3 levers in the shower and the middle one controls the temperature, the upper is for the shower head and the lower is for a separate hand held sprayer. It was actually confusing when we first got there trying to figure the shower out. We had problems in our room with the temperature control even at the sink. We either had very little water pressure or if we had more water pressure then it was scalding hot. That was very hard to deal with. The bed was pretty comfortable and we had a room with a sofa so that was used as an extra bed. It was an upgrade from the standard room but one that you will need to get if you have 3 people like we did. The location of this hotel is wonderful so we dealt with the other things since all of the hotels in Manhattan are quite expensive.

Room Tip: We did have a room on the 10th floor and had issues with water temperature/pressure control. When m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank cfreilich972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you so much for your detailed review of the hotel . I am glad that you liked your room and that we were able to give you an upgrade to accommodate 3 people in your party. I am also pleased that you enjoyed our location so much and hope you will return to us next time you are in the City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Had the pleasure of staying here during the week while in town on business. Perfect location just of Times Square. The hotel itself is stylish and tastefull. The bar area is a hive of activity in the evenings, great crowd but not too busy. The food is devine, the breakfast coffee is amazing!! My one issue was the WiFi speed as it was temperamental and cut out sporadically which is not ideal when in town on business. However this was my only concern and I would not call it a complaint considering it was free. One last thing...........the staff are amazing. From carrying my bags, to allowing me to use the business centre to change out of wet clothes after I had checked out to the very attentive bar/restaurant staff. they were a joy to deal with. Looking forward to my next stay............

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanb1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
What a wonderful review, I am delighted that you had such a great stay with us. I am sorry that you found the Wifi to be temperamental, we are about to undergo a project to upgrade this and increase our connectivity so you should find it much improved when you stay with us in the future. I am delighted that the you found the staff to be amazing and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

This hotel is superbly located just off Times Square. Our room was well equipped, very clean and quiet. The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and eager to assist. The only downside is that the bar is busy with all tables being reserved and one evening at around 6 pm there was no space so I suggest booking a table for a drink before dinner.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
Thank MikeC100562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel’s location as well as our friendly staff. I hope that you will stay with us again next time you are in the City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Just spent a few days at the Royalton on 44th street. The hotel was perfectly located for all the top sights in New York.
The hotel staff were all very helpful and polite, nothing was to much trouble.
Our room was a good size, the bathroom had a massive round bath which was fun. It was also quiet, though no view from the window, not an issue.
The cocktail bar was lively. Breakfast was excellent.
The decor was very modern and comfortable.
Would return again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPackham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed everything that the hotel has to offer, from our central location to the friendly helpful staff and our modern décor. I am also pleased to read that you plan to return to us in the future. We look forward to welcoming you at that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,491 reviews
Midtown
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square...
#175 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
Midtown
Morgans New York Hotel
Morgans New York Hotel
#188 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#227 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#65 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,267 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalton New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton New York Hotel

Property: Royalton New York Hotel
Address: 44 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6604
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#132 Business Hotel in New York City
#159 Family Hotel in New York City
#165 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royalton New York Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgans commissioned Roman Williams, to re-create Royalton's legendary lobby. The design - simultaneously sophisticated and complex - juxtaposes an icy cast-glass vestibule and brass furnishings with soft suede upholstery, thick leather walls and hide-covered chairs to create a dark, sexy and luxurious space. Design and architectural details include a mammoth floor-to-ceiling hand forged cast-bronze fireplace, a twenty-foot screen that was once part of the facade of a building in France and hand-upholstered leather walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royalton New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royalton New York Hotel New York City
Royalton New York City
New York City Royalton
Royalton Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing