We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A total Has-been”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royalton New York Hotel
Ranked #249 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A total Has-been”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is NOT for everyone... it's for those who fear "brightness" - I have stayed in hundreds of hotels, I travel over 100,000 miles a year and stay in at least 30 hotels per year; the Royalton is by far one of my worst choices, especially based on price for value. I booked the room through "JETSETTER.COM" - That would be MISTAKE No. 1 - I had a bad experience last year, but decided to give them a chance again in 2014.... I should have known better. On the other hand, the hotel itself was dark, hallways so narrow you nearly have to walk single file or you'll feel the walls are caving in on you, and the service was very poor. The room we got was one of their larger rooms (thank goodness for that!) so inside the room the issue was not space, but rather poor lighting - We had a large window, but the street is narrow and the room does not get much direct sunlight, so one has to rely on room lighting which is very poor, especially in the bathroom and closest area. Breakfast was extremely overpriced for a simple continental breakfast style buffet ($65 plus 20% tip for two people) and the quality of the food was not all that. Location of the hotel is very good, but right on the same block there are at least 3 other great choices, including the Sofitel across the street. Hotel claim is "trendy" ..... that was years ago when it opened and Phillip Stark was making its mark; today the hotel is just a has been. Will not stay there again; would not recommend to anyone

Room Tip: Do not stay in any of the rooms with round soaking tubs - they face a wall! the rooms with windows t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeAlbasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us and I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay.

While we are extremely proud of our Unique and Iconic design we do appreciate that, as you mention, it is not for everyone.
It does seem that there were several aspects of the hotel that were not to your liking and our style and décor is not for you.

With a design that is completely original we do take a risk that we will not meet everyone’s taste and I am sorry that this was the case for you. Morgans Hotel Group does have other properties in New York which may be more to your liking, I hope you will consider giving one of them a try should you be traveling to the City again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,032
    695
    312
    94
    41
See reviews for
248
1,072
131
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The 5* Royalton Hotel is very well located very close to Times Square and 5th Avenue. Close by one can find other 5* hotels, theatres and good restaurants. The service was excellent, staff very friendly and helpful. Good sized rooms and clean. The lobby, which is quite dark, can be very noisy and crowded in the evenings when people gather for drinks, at other times it was quiet. Our room was on the 18th floor from where we could neither see the sky nor the street below because of the skyscraper opposite so we could not check the weather. The breakfast was too expensive and it was not good value for money. We complained at the reception and we were given a discount on the breakfast bill. Otherwise we were very satisfied and we would recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: If you are given a room facing an ugly wall, you can ask the reception to change it for you. If ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank picaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your great review!

We are, indeed, quite centrally located in Midtown Manhattan where you have great access To Times Square, Grand Central, the Theater District and great shopping.

I am glad our front desk agent was able to correct your experience with your breakfast.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Royalton in the near future.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel including our location, atmospheric lobby and good sized rooms during your stay. I am also pleased to note that you will recommend us for future stays. We look forward to welcoming you back at that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on 14th and 15th June 2014. Nice well located hotel. However they wrongly charged me on my credit card which caused me to go over my limit. The accounts department never answer the phone. You can only leave a message and no one calls back. Watch out if you stay there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am saddened to hear that you had some issues with your billing. I have shared your comments with our accounting department so we can prevent your experience from happening in the future.

If the billing issue has not been resolved, please feel free to reach out to me directly.

Despite your experience, I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Royalton soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Nice little hotel. Don't expect the plaza. I was a little disappointed there was no doorman. Very trendy bar. They do great cocktails. Rooms are ok. Very minimalist. We were only there for 1 night. Bathrooms are amazing. Round tubs are the way forward.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travelledTheWorld33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotel. While we do not have a doorman at the hotel we do have a Bell Team and I am sorry if there was no one there to greet you when you arrived. I was pleased to read that you had the opportunity to enjoy one of our best features – the 5ft round soaking tubs, and hope that you will come back next time you feel like taking another swim in one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas, tx
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed here a couple of years ago and loved it so I was really looking forward to this trip. Unfortunately, a lot has changed. Minimal room service during the week and none on the weekend. I nice continental breakfast on the weekend but where are my delicious lemon ricotta pancakes?! The room was spacious and the bed still cozy but all in all it's turned into a B&B. for the price I would have expected it to still be a full service hotel. On the plus side, however, you can't beat the location.

Room Tip: Stay on the upper floors for a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iloveitaly1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is always good to hear from one of our regular guests.

We have recently made some changes to our room service offering and now have a continental buffet in the restaurant at the weekends, rest assured if you are staying with us during the week the Lemon and Ricotta pancakes are still available.

I hope that you will stay with us again when you have the need to be in or around our fantastic Mid Town location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel was a great find! The location is great, close to pretty much anything but not right in the middle and too busy. The room was not the typical side step by the bed to get around (I was in a deluxe), everything was tasteful and welcoming. The main reason why I enjoyed it was the staff though. They were all so kind and helpful, never put off or too busy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeelyShea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
What a great review, thank you for taking the time to write it. I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed the hotel so much, and was particularly delighted to see that the staff were the reason! We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Tripadvisor prompted me to review this 18 months on so a short one.
From the outside the Royalton looks just like an ordinary building, once the doormen have opened the door, you enter another dimension akin to an upmarket stylish nightclub.
The Staff were all very nice, our room was well appointed with a nice bathroom and comfortable bed.
The location was ideal only a few minutes from Times Square, Grand Central Station, Park Ave.

My lasting impression is of the Bar and the wall of stock from counter-top to ceiling, and supping their Tequila Manhattans..................... If you want one specify the one made with Lillet.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John-Boy-Saint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review.

I am glad you enjoyed our hotel’s ambiance, comfortable rooms and prime location.

I am also glad you enjoyed our Bar 44. We have amazing bartenders who certainly do everything they can to ensure that you enjoy your beverage and your time at the bar is memorable.

We hope we can have the chance to welcome you back, the next time you are in New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#39 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,523 reviews
Midtown
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square...
#183 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Midtown
Morgans New York Hotel
Morgans New York Hotel
#194 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#224 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#65 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,327 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalton New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton New York Hotel

Property: Royalton New York Hotel
Address: 44 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6604
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#132 Business Hotel in New York City
#159 Family Hotel in New York City
#166 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royalton New York Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgans commissioned Roman Williams, to re-create Royalton's legendary lobby. The design - simultaneously sophisticated and complex - juxtaposes an icy cast-glass vestibule and brass furnishings with soft suede upholstery, thick leather walls and hide-covered chairs to create a dark, sexy and luxurious space. Design and architectural details include a mammoth floor-to-ceiling hand forged cast-bronze fireplace, a twenty-foot screen that was once part of the facade of a building in France and hand-upholstered leather walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royalton New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royalton New York Hotel New York City
Royalton New York City
New York City Royalton
Royalton Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing