We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royalton New York Hotel
Ranked #268 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel last year as part of our wedding in Central Park.

We were so glad we chose this hotel. I have such snobby standards when it comes to hotels but I couldn't fault this hotel and it's staff at all. I've visited New York 4 times and stayed in various hotels but this was by far the best. The location was great for us plus with my parents and other relatives staying at the Sofitel hotel directly opposite it was an added bonus. The Sofitel by the way was also great!!!

Like I said the staff were great. They made us feel so welcome and were so helpful. We even got treated to a bottle of gorgeous champagne with chocolates and strawberries after we returned on the evening of the wedding.

I would say that the hotel has a type of a boutique hotel style to it. It's decorated quite quirky and it may seem dark in the reception and bar areas but I felt that this made for a different type of hotel experience as it has its own style. The rooms however, are not dark. They are modern and elegant. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was so big amd spacious with a huge walk in wet room type of shower.

Overall I loved this hotel and its staff. When I can afford to return to New York for my fifth visit I will definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hobster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you so much for your great review. I am delighted that you chose Royalton to be part of your special day! It is always especially wonderful to hear that our team did everything that they could to make your stay extra special.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

957 - 963 of 2,260 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

I had read in the past about this hotel and was curious. I have no major complaints, but the management of this hotel seems to be complicated. The physical plant is interesting, and rooms are very clever.

I had the same experience of several people on this site of finding charges on my my credit card bill after I was told at charge were incorrect and would be reversed. Attempting to get them reversed from Switzerland would cost more than the charges.

It is ok, but a better run 4 star hotel would probably be better for you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmeriSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am sorry to hear that you experienced some billing difficulties after your stay and would be happy to assist you personally if this has not yet been resolved. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our overall design and found it to be interesting and clever. I hope your experience with the billing will not deter you from staying with us, at that time please do not hesitate to contact me direct in order that I may personally oversee your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

When you pull up to this hotel, all you see is a big dark door up some steps, you can barely tell its a hotel at all. When the porter opens the doors though - wow! Modern, chic, warm, the lobby area is maybe a little dark, but they are going for a modern living room approach, with arty fireplaces with dancing flames and sunken sitting areas.

Rooms, as expected are tiny, but that's New York, and to be fair I think by New York standards they aren't that bad. A bit minimalist, but still chic and cool. We were 6-7 floors up, so we couldn't hear anything. No views of course, apart from another skyscraper opposite.

Cocktail bar is worth a mention! My friend and I were celebrating our 25ths together, and the barman definitely looked after us very well! Had them lined up all evening.

Location is unbeatable - walk right out of the hotel and in 30 seconds you're on 5th Avenue, walk left for 2 minutes and you're in Times Square! Around the area there are a couple of restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rastnim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review! I am glad you enjoyed our great entrance and lobby. I was delighted to read that our barman took such great care of you on your birthday, we are very proud of our exceptional bar team here and it is great to read that you enjoyed the experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in the City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Royalton Hotel in New York City has one of the best hotel staff I have ever encountered in my 50+ years of traveling. From the moment we approached the front door the staff made us feel welcomed and well-cared for. The halls reminded us of an elegant transatlantic cruise ship from a past generation. The rooms were beyond comfortable, dreamy, and romantic. The rooms are outfitted with anything and everything one might need. (This ranges from the luscious Malin + Goetz products to a well-supplied comfort box for the weary traveler. In fact, when I wanted to move the desk so I could work and watch the World Cup, we were pleasantly surprised to find that we even had an extension cord in our supply closest! Trust me, the hotel thinks of every detail! ) The bar (Bar 44) and lounge have a great energy, especially before and after the performances in the Time Square area. The Royalton is a true gem. We will return over and over again!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a friend, the Double, Double Superior is a great value. When we left we c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leonard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

What a great review! I am glad our fantastic staff was able to take such great care of you and you enjoyed our unique design and comfortable rooms.

I was overjoyed to read that you felt the staff at the hotel were some of the best you have encountered in your years of travelling and I and they look forward to seeing you again when you have the opportunity to return to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed at in NYC. And I have stayed at a lot.
They accommodated me an upgraded me to a suite.
The bathroom is gorgeous. The room - spacious for Ny. Every part of the hotel is luxurious, but extremely hip. One of the best experiences I have ever had. I will return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tineedancer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am so pleased you enjoyed our bathrooms. I particularly love the waterfall showers which are a great experience given our amazing water pressure! It is great to read that you enjoyed the size of the room as well as finding the hotel hip and luxurious.

We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is NOT for everyone... it's for those who fear "brightness" - I have stayed in hundreds of hotels, I travel over 100,000 miles a year and stay in at least 30 hotels per year; the Royalton is by far one of my worst choices, especially based on price for value. I booked the room through "JETSETTER.COM" - That would be MISTAKE No. 1 - I had a bad experience last year, but decided to give them a chance again in 2014.... I should have known better. On the other hand, the hotel itself was dark, hallways so narrow you nearly have to walk single file or you'll feel the walls are caving in on you, and the service was very poor. The room we got was one of their larger rooms (thank goodness for that!) so inside the room the issue was not space, but rather poor lighting - We had a large window, but the street is narrow and the room does not get much direct sunlight, so one has to rely on room lighting which is very poor, especially in the bathroom and closest area. Breakfast was extremely overpriced for a simple continental breakfast style buffet ($65 plus 20% tip for two people) and the quality of the food was not all that. Location of the hotel is very good, but right on the same block there are at least 3 other great choices, including the Sofitel across the street. Hotel claim is "trendy" ..... that was years ago when it opened and Phillip Stark was making its mark; today the hotel is just a has been. Will not stay there again; would not recommend to anyone

Room Tip: Do not stay in any of the rooms with round soaking tubs - they face a wall! the rooms with windows t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeAlbasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us and I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay.

While we are extremely proud of our Unique and Iconic design we do appreciate that, as you mention, it is not for everyone.
It does seem that there were several aspects of the hotel that were not to your liking and our style and décor is not for you.

With a design that is completely original we do take a risk that we will not meet everyone’s taste and I am sorry that this was the case for you. Morgans Hotel Group does have other properties in New York which may be more to your liking, I hope you will consider giving one of them a try should you be traveling to the City again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The 5* Royalton Hotel is very well located very close to Times Square and 5th Avenue. Close by one can find other 5* hotels, theatres and good restaurants. The service was excellent, staff very friendly and helpful. Good sized rooms and clean. The lobby, which is quite dark, can be very noisy and crowded in the evenings when people gather for drinks, at other times it was quiet. Our room was on the 18th floor from where we could neither see the sky nor the street below because of the skyscraper opposite so we could not check the weather. The breakfast was too expensive and it was not good value for money. We complained at the reception and we were given a discount on the breakfast bill. Otherwise we were very satisfied and we would recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: If you are given a room facing an ugly wall, you can ask the reception to change it for you. If ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your great review!

We are, indeed, quite centrally located in Midtown Manhattan where you have great access To Times Square, Grand Central, the Theater District and great shopping.

I am glad our front desk agent was able to correct your experience with your breakfast.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Royalton in the near future.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel including our location, atmospheric lobby and good sized rooms during your stay. I am also pleased to note that you will recommend us for future stays. We look forward to welcoming you back at that time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#46 of 469 in New York City
3,742 reviews
Midtown
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square...
#196 of 469 in New York City
1,994 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
#118 of 469 in New York City
2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#200 of 469 in New York City
1,514 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#63 of 469 in New York City
6,580 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalton New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton New York Hotel

Address: 44 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#129 Business Hotel in New York City
#155 Family Hotel in New York City
#177 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £174 - £430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royalton New York Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive from the very start, the Royalton began as upscale residences overlooking 43rd and 44th Streets before becoming the sophisticated boutique hotel it is today. A canvas showcasing the work of well-known design firm Roman and Williams, the Royalton plays with light and texture to create an intimate and urbane mood from the moment you walk through the door, while Charlotte Macau’s attention to detail in our luxury rooms offer a sleek and timeless style with maximum comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royalton New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royalton New York Hotel New York City
Royalton New York City
New York City Royalton
Royalton Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing