We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good boutique hotel in midtown Manhattan”
Review of Shoreham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shoreham
Ranked #322 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Bethel Park, PA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good boutique hotel in midtown Manhattan”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This hotel definitely fits the description of what a boutique hotel would be. Not exactly what I expected but it more than meet our needs. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable. Overall service well above average. The location in Midtown is within easy walking distance of Central Park, Rockefeller Center and Times Square. A subway stop is one block away and plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from including one in the hotel. Wifi is $15 a day :-( ...but free in the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhart396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Dhart396,

Thank you staying with us here at The Shoreham and for providing us feedback following your stay. I’m glad you found our rooms were cleaned to your satisfaction and our amenities were up to your standards. We pride ourselves in providing the best customer service experience possible. I’m very pleased that you loved the location of The Shoreham. It’s definitely one of the major features that makes our hotel so special. We look forward to welcoming you back!!

Regards,

Gissel Barriola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    691
    329
    153
    93
See reviews for
310
677
99
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Grand Cayman
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend in November 2013. We picked it for its location and a decent price. We got a deal that included breakfast and wifi, because even though we wanted to eat breakfast away from the hotel, the breakfast plus wifi rate was about $10 cheaper than the wifi only rate.

The hotel is tucked away on a relatively quiet street (55th) and is a short walk from the midtown attractions - Central Park, Fifth Avenue shops, etc. The room was a decent size and was clean, two things that are not always the case for midtown hotels. A small living area with a sofa and tv was partitioned from the bedroom, and the bathroom was a good size, incorporating both a full size bath and shower room. Often in city hotels the bathroom is where the space is saved, but not here. The shower was excellent - superb water pressure which is often something that even the better hotels struggle with.

The hotel was relatively quiet - we were not in a street facing room, and aside from the hum of heating fans in the light well, there was no noise to keep us awake.

In terms of minor improvements, we agreed on two. The mattress was definitely showing its age and had a pronounced "dip" towards the middle. The beds are not particularly large here (even though the room could have accommodated a larger one), and the effect of the dip was that over time we found ourselves pulled to the centre of the bed!

The only other improvement was that the bath plug didn't fit snugly in the hole, so the bath drained water slowly. It also had holes and a control panel for a jacuzzi-style tub, but the buttons didn't seem to do anything - it was either broken or we were missing an 'on' switch somewhere! Fortunately the bath was so large that neither of these particularly mattered.

The staff were excellent - attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaymanBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Cayman Badger,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our rooms were to your liking! We pride ourselves in making every guest stay as memorable as possible. We hope that you will choose to stay with us in your future stays in NYC. Please feel free to call me directly; If you decide to give us another try, please feel free to contact me and I will make sure your stay will be nothing short of perfect. Thanks you again for your time, and have a great day.

Regards,

Gissel Barriola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I stayed here with a dear girlfriend the weekend of the NYC Marathon (Nov 1 through the 3rd).

I have stayed at probably 100 or so places in NYC during my business travels so know quite a bit about accommodations in this city.

I prefer boutique hotels verus chain (or large) hotels so I picked Shoreham for this reason.

The best word to describe this hotel is sufficient. Not poor, not crappy, not great, not fabulous but... sufficient. As in serviceable.

Know these things about Shoreham:

It's small
Rooms are small (we saw three)
Smoking is allowed in some rooms apparently (two rooms we had were reeking of it)
Foyer area is very tiny and so is on-site bar/breakfast space
It's old

Moreover, it's a bit tired in terms of decor and cleanliness (room carpeting was in fair shape and the ceilings were kind of a mess in terms of cracked plaster and what not).

Best things?
It's a two-block walk to Central Park
It's near subway stations
It's by shopping
It's close to all the tourist attractions (Times Square, Rockefeller Center, 5th Ave shopping, etc).
Staff was really friendly and helpful

Again, I have traveled many places in NYC so I have a well-tuned barometer for hotels, especially boutiques, which are my preferred accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Jackiedechicago,

Thank you staying with us here at The Shoreham and for providing us feedback following your stay. I’m very pleased that you loved the location of The Shoreham . It’s definitely one of the major features that makes our hotel so special. Our staff always aims to provide great service with a smile. We hope you will return during your next NYC visit so that we may top your last stay.

Best,

Gissel Barriola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I travel a lot and see all kinds of hotel staff, from polite to "going through the motions", but the staff at the Shoreham are the best I've ever encountered. These people are amazing, genuine and bent over backwards to meet our needs, which were a bit out of the ordinary. The location is superb for both my business needs AND for the downtime afterwards. Also, the shower in our room had 4 side jets (if you can get one of these rooms, book it!). Truly an amazing experience and I look forward to staying with them again. A+ :)

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the jets in the shower stall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Shawn M,

Thank you for taking your time and posting your review of The Shoreham on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by the hotel were to your satisfaction. Our front desk team is truly unique! I can't wait to tell them how much you appreciated your stay. We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Sincerely,

Gissel Barriola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destin
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed at the Shoreham NY, NY last week for the first time. From the time we entered it was a wonderful visit. The staff was extremely friendly & helpful. Great location and hotel is very nice. The hotel is on a smaller scale which I feel allows the staff more time for each guest. We had a room on the PH level with a "huge" balcony overlooking the street. It was spectacular! Not your normal balcony at a hotel in NY, if you can even find one. The PH rooms are larger than the other rooms BUT who goes to New York to spend time in their room! We were in and out of the hotel all hours of the day/night and someone was always available if we needed anything. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to New York. It is a great location and close to everything!

Room Tip: We stayed in PH9- we actually stayed in a guest room on another floor for first 2 nights. We upgrad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Destin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Desting G,

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your recent visit to The Shoreham Hotel . I have just finished reading your review and cannot wait to forward it on to our amazing staff. We all get so much pleasure and inspiration from guests like you. We truly do feel every stay in New York should be Fabulous! Our spacious suite and balcony are truly unique to our location.Thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best,

Gissel Barriola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
292 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We expected tired and dated; we got clean, friendly, and serviceable, great value for this optimal location. Somebody explain to me how every single person working there spontaneously lights up with a smile when making eye contact with a visitor; it was uncanny and set a marvelous tone. Hats off to the well-trained staff. The rooms are clean. We did not have breakfast in the hotel but afterwards regretted it as the menu was perfect and well-priced. I needed a charger for my iPhone at night and found one at the bar where I enjoyed a glass of French ginger brandy that I discovered for the first time; the bartender was friendly and I thought he had misplaced the drink (i.e., it was so inexpensive). We immediately made reservations for the following week.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Landmarkfinder A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Landmarkfinder A,

Thank you for staying with us here at The Shoreham and for providing us with feedback following your stay. I am glad to know you took pleasure in our central location and found our rooms to be cleaned to your satisfaction.We pride ourselves in making every guest stay as memorable as possible. Please feel free to call me directly with any questions; we look forward to your next stay!

Warm Regards,

Gissel Barriola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed for the first time at the Shoreham in October while in NYC for business. Didn't get off to a good start when i was directed into the wrong elevator (not both elevators go to all floors).
When i did get to my room (PH7 on the top floor) it was so noisy that i immediately went back to the front desk to complain. An engineer visited the room shortly afterwards and agreed that the loud mechanical noise from the roof above the room was unacceptable and that he would investigate. A few hours later the noise abated, but didn't entirely go away; and the volume was to vary randomly for the next 10 nights. As for most of the time i was either at the office or being a tourist and only really slept in the room i put up with the noise; mainly because the room itself was great, and had a balcony (which is unusual in NYC hotels).
Despite the above issues i would stay at the Shoreham again - it has a unbeatable location; and the cost for the location is a bargain (as much as bargains are available in that part of Manhattan); the room was spotlessly clean on arrival and kept that way by the very pleasant cleaning staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Ross B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. I'm disappointed to hear that you experienced some service issues, and I assure you this is not typical of the customer service we provide. Our team has been made aware of the key issues we can improve on. We wish you will reconsider staying with us in the future for all of your New York City stays. If you decide to give us another chance please feel free to reach out to me directly for your future booking needs.

Regards,

Gissel Barriola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#135 of 468 in New York City
629 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#266 of 468 in New York City
1,377 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#90 of 468 in New York City
4,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#212 of 468 in New York City
435 reviews
Midtown
Dream Midtown
Dream Midtown
#275 of 468 in New York City
33 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#106 of 468 in New York City
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreham

Property: Shoreham
Address: 33 W 55th St, Just off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-4999
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#200 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shoreham 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SHOREHAM is a fashionable retreat dedicated to the experience of design. Flat-screen monitors throughout the property feature an array of video and interactive art with vibrant images of nature in motion. The hotel offers a variety of accommodations ranging from superior to specialty suites available with king, queen or two queen-sized beds. Signature amenities include invigorating five-head hydro-massage showers in junior suites and select rooms, iJoy massage chairs, Bose Wave(R) radio CD players, Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. Guest room baths are appointed with high-gloss white marble tile, gray slate vanity tops, brushed stainless steel sinks with satin nickel fixtures and bath amenities. SHOREHAM is perfectly positioned just steps away from the top shops of Fifth Avenue, Central Park, Broadway and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shoreham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shoreham Hotel New York City
Shoreham New York City
Shoreham Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing