We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Midtown gem”
Review of Shoreham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shoreham
Ranked #311 of 466 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful Midtown gem”
Reviewed 1 November 2010

My husband and I stayed at The Shoreham for our first ever visit to New York and we'll definitely tstay there again.

The location was perfect. It was near great restaurants, close to the major art galleries, concert halls, Central Park and the subway yet it was surprisingly quiet, especially in the evenings, given its proximity to major thoroughfares. It was also only a couple of blocks away from the subway for the D train which is the line that takes you straight out to the new Yankees baseball stadium within about 25 minutes.

And all the staff, from those on the main desk to the porters, the cleaning staff, the bartenders and waiters were simply fantastic. All were genuinely friendly, helpful and polite.

We arrived at the hotel considerably later than planned due to delays at the airport and were concerned that perhaps the hotel might have given our rooms away. And because of traffic our taxi couldn’t park right outside the hotel. But as soon as we got our luggage out of the taxi the hotel porter came straight up to greet us in the street and took our luggage into the lobby and then straight up into the room while we checked-in.

At the check-in desk we were immediately offered complimentary cold drinks which were life savers as we hadn't had a drink for a few hours and we were very hot and tired by the time we arrived.

We stayed in their Junior Spa suite and when we got into the room it was lovely and cool as the air conditioner had been left on in advance of our arrival.

The bedroom area was comfortable and the shower room was quite large with great water pressure and super clean with lots of towels. The only thing I missed was one of those extending wall mirrors that has a magnifying lens on one side because I don't have great eyesight and because of the sink I couldn’t get close enough to the main mirror. But there was lots of lighting in the bathroom which was helpful.

The air conditioner unit was easy to operate and relatively quiet for an air conditioner – there was a slight hum but it didn’t keep us awake. Before arriving we'd read some reviews which said the decor was a bit tired. And it was as there were a few scuff marks here and there on the skirting boards and the furniture in the lounge area did look a bit worn in places but that didn't bother us. There was plenty of room and it was spotlessly clean. The bed was reasonably firm with nice linen and there was lots of good lighting by the bed. There was no wonderful view as the room but again that wasn't a priority for us. The elevator was big enough for 2 adults and 2 suitcases but no more. The room was also quiet and we didn't hear our neighbours except when they were outside in the corridor.

We ate dinner at the hotel a couple of times, on our first and last night, and both times we were impressed with the standard of the cooking and the quality of the food. The bar and waiting staff were great and mixed great cocktails - my husband said his Manhattan was one of the best he'd every had. And as one of bar tenders had just recently finished his doctoral thesis in American history he was very interesting to talk to and a really nice chap.

Before arriving we were concerned about tipping especially as we'd heard stories from friends who'd stayed elsewhere who said they always had to have their hands in their pockets ready to tip everyone. But at this hotel the policy is to automatically add on a service charge to say the food or drink bills, which is what we're used to in the UK, which meant we didn't feel obliged to be constantly tipping within the hotel because we knew staff weren't relying on tips to survive.

On the ground floor of the hotel there is a lounge area behind the bar/dining area which, when we were there, had a great display featuring all the best 'on trend' clothes, bags and jewellery as picked from Harpers Bazaar magazine. It was closed when we came across it and I only wished I'd discovered it earlier as it would have been nice to have gone in to have a closer look at all everything before hitting the shops. Although I’m not sure if that’s possible but the window display was still pretty slick so you could see lots of very nice things which really wetted the appetite.

Security was very good in the hotel - visible but low-key - the staff on the main door remembered us from Day One so we came and went as we liked and we felt very safe all the time we were in the hotel. In fact security in general was pretty high in the whole area because while we were there the UN General Assembly was taking place which meant large numbers of diplomats were in town and staying at nearby hotels. There were teams of police practically on every street corner and police cars were constantly patrolling the area. The only downside was that we couldn't get in to visit the UN at any time during our stay. So if the UN is somewhere you want to see don't visit New York during the last two weeks in September when the UN General Assembly are in session.

Another tip is that the hotel has very good complimentary maps and also stocks complimentary copies of Time Out New York magazine. And their 24 hour coffee/tea area is a great amenity too. They have two internet screens in the downstairs lobby which you can use whenever you want and there's a printer which is also free to use. And once you get a password from the main desk you can also access WiFi. We never got to try out their gym but we had a look 'round and the equipment was what we were used to back in the UK and it looked very clean and well lit with lots of mirrors.

The hotel also arranged our airport transfers to and from JFK. The cars we both clean and spacious. However, when we arrived we took ages getting through immigration and consequently the driver charged us more than we'd been quoted because of the extra waiting time so bear that in mind if you pre-arrange a taxi pick-up. There seemed to be plenty of taxis at the airport but it was nice to hop into a large air-conditioned car on a hot day.

Lastly, like other trip advisors we found that booking direct via the hotel’s website was more expensive than booking via a specialist travel website. We used a site called newyorkcityluxuryhotels.com who were excellent and able to get us the Junior Spa suite for the same price as a standard room at the hotel.

All in all we had a great time in New York which was due, in no small part, to staying at The Shoreham. If it were a publicly quoted stock we'd be buyers! My husband is already planning our stay there next year. We hope you find the above information useful. Please bear in mind it was our first stay in New York so we don't have any other New York hotel experience to compare it to but even still we really enjoyed our stay at The Shoreham and hope you do too - the staff really are pretty special here.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 186338Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    719
    336
    155
    94
See reviews for
327
694
101
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Great service at this hotel and within a few minutes of time square, just incredibly an small room (which was on the 2nd floor so the view was dreadful!).

Very clean, modern and trendy place to stay and a great little bar!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We stayed a week at this hotel and we found it very satisfactory as our home away from home. After a busy day of museums and shopping, we always looked forward to returning to the hotel for a little rest before the evening's activities. There's a wonderful self-service coffee and tea station near the lobby. The room's decor is soothing and serene. The location in midtown is fantastic. The front desk staff is friendly, helpful and efficient. When we plan a trip to NY, this is always our hotel of choice and we've stayed here many times now.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramar Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

My husband and I met my in-laws in NYC for a few days and stayed at The Shoreham. It's a contemporary style boutique hotel within walking distance to many of the wonderful things the city has to offer - shopping, restaurants, theater, and museums.

The staff at the Front Desk were very warm and friendly and always available to help with information. The Night Manager in the Bar/Restaurant was also very nice and helped create a fun atmosphere with great service. This is a very adult hotel and would not be a place to bring a family with children or teenagers.

The room itself was very small but updated and had a newer bathroom. We liked that they offered free Wi-Fi. We didn't spend too much time in the room so it worked for us.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

I stayed at the Shoreham during a long weekend with a friend. The hotel is well located for shopping and Central Park but not great for going out in the evening.
The rooms were good size (compared to NYC standards) and the beds super comfortable. Bathroom was very small but functional.

We used the room service for breakfast one morning and other times for ice and cutlery and it was always really quick and friendly.

The front desk staff was a bit self important but perfectly efficient.

I can't fault this hotel, it's good value for money, perfect for shopping and sightseeing and the rooms are functinal and comfortable. By far the best mid range hotel in NYC I've stayed in. Not luxurious by any means but perfectly comfortable and adequate.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Speklova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

My wife and I just returned from NYC, stayed 4 nights, had a great time in the City and The Shoreham. Here are some notes about our stay:
---very modern looking futuristic furniture inside lobby with a large t.v. monitor built into the wall; very low ceilings throughout lobby and lounge: I could touch the ceiling easily and I am 5'9".
---service was good, albeit very business-like; we were able to check in 2 hours early and were offered champagne or Voss sparkling water upon arrival. We chose water because it was so hot and humid.
---The hotel building has two facades: an older one on the East side of the building, a newer one on the West. I had read on Oyster.com that the rooms on the East, older side had higher ceilings and since we chose a basic Superior Queen room anyway, I figured to just request a room on the East side. However, the lady after checking her computer said that those rooms were all booked (even though the hotel inside did not seem to be very busy with a lot of patrons) so instead we were assigned a room on the newer West side of the building--room 911. Of course, I immediately noted the irony when she casually informed us of this, so in response, I said playfully, "oh thats a little disconcerting". She then reassured us that it will be fine, so off we went with our luggage as we declined an offer for the bellhop to bring them up for us.
---The good thing about the West building is that the 2 elevators are much roomier; enough to fit 2 people, 3 carry-ons, and 1 large suitcase. The other elevator on the East side is a phone booth sized lift, which we never needed anyway since we were on the newer West side of the building.
---the elevator ride was pleasant; dimly lit with small colorful club lighting near the ceiling of elevator and good dance music playing, but very quietly;
---the hallways to the rooms are very cramped but its normal for a boutique hotel
---The room itself was surprisingly roomy and very clean! It had a low ceiling mainly due to the design of the room, as the bed's headboard extended across the ceiling, but very modern looking and sleek and new!
---There was in fact, a large window with ample light coming through and a view of the tops of buildings next door and further away, views of much taller buildings which appeared to have housed businesses inside. You could see easily through the window so not much privacy, but there was a shade to pull down plus a curtain so no worries there.
---The bathroom was pleasantly large for a boutique hotel room! A regular sized bathtub with a huge mirror on the wall of the bathtub. Tiny sink but ample vanity space for toiletries around the sink and above the toilet.
---we noticed right when we walked in to the room, the toilet was making flushing noises, so I walked over to it and saw that it kept flushing itself every 3 or 4 seconds. This turned out to be only a minor problem as we quickly called front desk and they sent up a maintenance worker who resolved the issue in 10 minutes.
---In the room, there was some very ingeniously placed lighting, terrific shade of light green color, a good sized closet with a mini safe, a little bar inside the dresser with some snacks for sale, which we never needed, as well as an LCD 32" LG television which had poor reception on a few channels. Again, this didn't bother us since we didn't come to NYC to watch t.v.
---Sleep quality was good although the bed is smaller than a standard queen size bed, the pillows and mattress were terrific. The AC worked most of the time but there was a constant humming of the AC during the night whether it was on or off and we couldn't tell if it was coming from the room or the building next door. Wife had a problem with the noise as she slept with pillows covering her ears, but it didn't bother me much.
---there was a bench at the end of the bed which I promptly moved off to the side to create more space and placed our 1 large suitcase on top. I put one carry-on in the closet on top of the fold-out suitcase holder. I put the other carry-on on top of the window sill and scooted the little circular glassy bedside table over a few inches to give the carry-on more surface area and I still had enough room to place a bottled water on top.
---Curiously, there was no alarm clock and no bath robes in the room although if you were to request bath robes, it would be available. You can just use your cell phone for an alarm as we did or call front desk for a wake-up call.
---the location was great for us! Since we are in our early 30's, we were able to traverse the streets of Manhattan easily and willingly to see many of the exciting attractions the City had to offer. The hotel's block (W. 55th between 5th and 6th) was very busy with your typical hustle and bustle of NYC. There were a few restaurants and bars that were crowded in the evenings. There was a Dunkin Donuts and a Five Guys burger place right next door. The Shoreham's own low-ceilinged lobby bar was crowded only 1 night we were there; a great speaker system throughout lobby and the bar but the volume was kept at a minimum the whole time. They have a great breakfast menu, their Eggs Benedict was delicious albeit around $15. Their continental b-fast was $17
which included cereals, pastries, multi-grain toast and juice. They have a wonderful FREE selection of tea packets, a coffee, espresso, cappuccino machine in a little room off the lobby in which you can take with you on the go which we did each morning even in the searing heat and humidity.
---by the 2 elevators at the end of the lobby, there was on-going construction of a room that was to house "The Willow Club" a private membership club in which The Shoreham as well as other hotels in Manhattan are involved; Luckily however, this construction did not interfere with our stay at all as far as dust and noise level was concerned.
--Overall, I would recommend the Shoreham on 3 counts: 1) If you like the positives I stated above and don't mind the negatives (of which there were not many), 2) If you are a young energetic couple who like walking anywhere from 10 to 30 minutes or more to see the major attractions including museums and Harbor cruises (the MoMA was only 2 short blocks away, conversely, the Circle Line cruises were many many blocks away, a half-hour walk at least) 3) Lastly, if you can get a great deal online from an outside company and not from the Shoreham website; do your research and book in advance! For example, try Easyclicktravel.com. We bought through their website a few months in advance and paid up front in full. In the end we spent a total of $609 for 4 nights, which comes to about $152/night and this was Wednesday through Sunday. It was a great deal considering how difficult it can be to get a quality hotel at this price during tourist season with a decent location (Central Park only 4 short blocks away, Rockefeller Center 5 blocks away, Times Square 10 blocks away). If I can get 4 nights at this price again, I would definitely stay at the Shoreham.
---Last note, if its your first time in NYC, get the Citypass. You can see 6 major sights for $79 including the Statue of Liberty, Circle Line cruise, Top of the Rock at Rockefeller Center and some museums like MoMA and the Met. Have fun!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuckyMe78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

This hotel is a great bargain for a NYC midtown location. It's just between Fifth Avenue and Sixth Avenue on 55th Street, so it's walking distance to everything you could imagine in Midtown. However, because it's in the middle of the block, some of the rooms only have windows looking in to a dim lightwell. If you are out and about all day, this doesn't bother you too much because you just want to collapse in the bed, which is very comfortable. The only complaint that I have about our room which was quite spacious with its two queen sized beds is that the bathroom is about half the size of what it should be. The architect could have taken a few extra feet from the bedroom to expand the bathroom. As it is, only a very, very small person would find this airplane-like restroom adequate. We spent a total of $532 for two nights including all the sales and room taxes, so the price is something I definitely cannot complain about.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGC94102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#145 of 466 in New York City
640 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#271 of 466 in New York City
1,406 reviews
Midtown
The Mansfield
The Mansfield
#345 of 466 in New York City
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#220 of 466 in New York City
441 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#104 of 466 in New York City
1,821 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#388 of 466 in New York City
6,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreham

Property: Shoreham
Address: 33 W 55th St, Just off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-4999
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#196 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shoreham 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet, tucked away oasis near Rockefeller Center in Midtown NYC, The Shoreham Hotel offers a variety of 100% smoke-free, pet-friendly, well-appointed accommodations ranging from our standard rooms to specialty suite rooms with one King, one Queen, or two double beds with deluxe Belgian linens. Signature amenities include invigorating five-head hydro-massage showers available in select rooms, access to wireless Internet and rooms offer flat-screen LG TVs. Guest bathrooms are appointed with high-gloss white marble tile and fixtures, grey slate vanity tops and brushed stainless sinks with satin nickel fixtures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Shoreham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shoreham Hotel New York City
Shoreham New York City
Shoreham Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing